We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Philadelphia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Even better than the pictures. The scenery and views are breathtaking, as well as the beauty of this hotel, inside and out, And most importantly, the room was immaculately clean :)
Staff was very pleasant, helpful, prompt and friendly. We loved our room so much that we cancelled our dinner reservations our last night and ordered room service that we enjoyed on the balcony. Our favorite, most memorable and romantic evening. You will love it too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Li Galli suite. If you want to splurge on a room somewhere during your trip, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    135
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
97
544
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hotel Marincanto is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Absolutely unbeatable views and service. Was upgraded upon arrival and the room was well appointed and had a stunning jacuzzi and balcony with lovely views of the village. You could really sit there the whole day admiring the beauty of Positano. Breakfast was good and the hotel is a 10-15 mins walk to the main shopping street. Be prepared for a good workout in Positano. Plenty of stairs!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We took the train from Naples to Sorrento and got lost along the way, had to change trains at Pompei station which delayed our arrival by 3 hours. Ouch! We were tired sweaty and not in the greatest mood. Arriving late afternoon at Hotel Marincanto we were warmly welcomed and checking in was fast and easy. Our room had white crisp linen on the bed and the most beautiful view and we were a couples of steps down from the beach. The balcony was awesome as we had one morning breakfast there and the staff brought the whole buffet breakfast to us. The view took my breath away and still to this day I just fall in love with this hotel whenever I look through our photographs. We had supper at Bruno's the first night which is just a couple of steps from Hotel Marincanto and might I ad that the fish, calamari and prawn combo was amazing. The second night we had supper at the Marincanto. Wow wow wow! The service was excellent. They had a pianist playing and it just added so much more to the overall experience, sitting on the terrace having this fabulous food overlooking the most beautiful view in the world. The hotel was nice and central and just a short walk from the main shopping street. The breakfast buffet had a nice variety. Also another plus is the pool, if you decide to spend the afternoon at the hotel, the pool has a nice area you can relax and also over looks the ocean. We had a lovely lunch alongside the pool and the service was very good, we even had a bottle of bubbly recommended by the pool waiter which did not disappoint. I will definitely be back and the only place I will stay in Positano is at Hotel Marincanto.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed three nights in Positano and before booking a room at Hotel Marincanto, I did my research on places to stay and Hotel Marincanto appeared to be a great fit for us. We were not disappointed. I booked our stay well in advance and booked a junior suite with a view of the city and the sea. When we arrived at Hotel Marincanto, we received a very warm welcome from Antonella. Antonella informed us that we were had been upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite. I, of course, was concerned that I would not have the view of both the city and the sea that I had been anticipating for so long. I was not disappointed. Room 254, the Honeymoon Suite as they called it, was indeed a beautiful room. Upon entry, there is a room with a minibar, couch and desk with a door to the terrace that stretches the length of the living room and the bedroom. In the bedroom is a king size bed, table and another desk area as well as a second door to the terrace area. The terrace had two loungers on the living room side and a table and two chairs on the bedroom side. The view to the sea is unobstructed. To the right is the beautiful view of the beach and the town of Positano. The bed was a real king sized bed and not the usual two twins pushed together. I am not sure whether it was particularly comfortable or whether I slept like a log from all of the walking and steps! There is also a large walk-in closet with a safe and robes. The bathroom is beautiful with a large walk-in shower and a good sized plunge pool with Jacuzzi jets. There is a large arched shaped window that opens a few inches and looks out at the sea. We could not have asked for more! The breakfast buffet is an assortment of cold cuts, bagels, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, juices, cheeses and other items and the ladies that served coffee were so friendly. There was also a gentlemen who appeared to take care of the pool area that was always friendly to us when we passed by. I never learned his name, but he would always acknowledge us and ask about our day. Both Enza and Antonella at the front desk were so welcoming and friendly. We wanted to go to Ravello one day and they gave us suggestions for the best way to do that. They also arranged our car from the train station in Naples. Hotel Marincanto is built into the hillside of Positano. When you enter at the street level, it is four elevator flights down to the lobby. From the lobby, it was approx. 120 steps down to our room and from our room, approximately another 167 steps down to the beach. With beauty comes a bit of effort! You will work off all those wonderful meals you will be eating in Italy. If you do not want to do the steps down to the beach, the road will take you there as well. It is a 10-12 minute walk. There are lots of little shops to distract you along the way. The Amalfi coast and most of Italy, from what I could see, is not accessible for those with walking disabilities. Positano is beautiful and The Hotel Marincanto was an excellent choice for our stay! My only regret is that we didn't stay longer! I hope some day we can return to Positano and to Hotel Marincanto.

Room Tip: Splurge! There are some rooms with very little view or an obstructed view. Spend the extra money a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband Gordon and I recently got back from an
amazing trip to Positano. We stayed at the lovely Marincanto and after looking at a number of hotels in the area felt that we had made the perfect choice! We loved everything about the
hotel. Our room was tastefully decorated, spacious and clean . There was a generous sized bathroom and balcony. The staff was wonderful and always there to meet your needs and answer any questions. Enza at the front desk and Gianni at the pool were especially helpful! The food was excellent and the
breakfast which was included had a variety of choices. The lovely pool is the perfect
temperature and only two years old. There were always plenty
of lounge chairs available and a number of appealing places to Sunbathe including shaded areas and umbrellas for those who need them. We ordered lunch around the pool and number of times which was a wonderful option! The Marincanto is the only hotel in positano with its own private beach. At all of the other hotels you have to pay for the
use of lounge chairs on the beach. We definitely plan to go back to positano and will rebook the Marincanto . Karen and Gordon ( Canada)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I got married at the church in Positano and chose to stay in a Junior Suite (#227) at Hotel Marincanto. We couldn't have had a more perfect stay! I had emailed the hotel several times before we arrived and everyone was quick to answer my questions. We had a beautiful, light and airy junior suite with a daybed, sitting area, desk and terrace. The terrace had two chairs and a table, as well as two lounge chairs, for enjoying the view. Our terrace looked out over the hotel's sun terrace, and to the right was a view of Positano and the beach. Waking up to that sight every morning was amazing! We had a large bathroom with slippers, robes and a sea view from our shower.

The pool was heated, but still a bit brisk in late May. The infinity edge allowed us to enjoy an uninterrupted view of the sea. There's private access to the beach directly below the hotel where you receive a discount. Just be prepared to walk down a lot of stairs to get there (helps you burn off all that pasta you'll be enjoying!). The hotel also has a small fitness room, which we didn't have a chance to check out in person, as well as parking (big plus in Positano if you have a car!).

The breakfast buffet was one of the best we've had in Italy. There was a huge selection of pastries, yogurts, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, eggs and juices daily. We had wonderful weather, so we got to eat outside on the breakfast terrace overlooking the ocean every day. What a view! The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the main center and beach area of Positano where the majority of the shops and restaurants are located. Because the hotel is a bit higher up the hill, you get great views and a more quiet, relaxing atmosphere.

What really made our stay so incredible, though, was the staff. Every single person we met was so kind, welcoming and helpful--especially Enza! Nothing was too much trouble. They treated us to a bottle of prosecco when we checked in, knowing we were there for our wedding. Every evening when we returned from dinner to collect our room key, whoever was at the reception desk already knew our room number without us having to say a word. They genuinely cared about our stay and made us feel right at home. We truly had a hard time leaving! We can't wait to return one year for an anniversary trip. Positano is stunning, and staying at Hotel Marincanto is the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: Book a room with a view--it's absolutely worth it! Junior Suites are spacious with a nice terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Positano is one of the most beautiful places I have seen and the terraces at Marincanto have picture-perfect views. The staff is extremely friendly and the hotel has several very handy benefits - parking (Amalfi coast is notoriously difficult as streets are very narrow) as well as direct access to the beach! The hotel also has a large sun deck with stunning views of the harbour and the west side of town. Rooms are large and the entire hotel is in the sun for the whole day (as opposed to some hotels in Amalfi which are in the shade after about 2:30pm). It is not a cheap option but I would say its well worth the money!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.