We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 hotels in Positano
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon. This hotel is modern and clean. It is perched above the sea and our room featured a balcony with amazing views. The hotel is multilevel and has a sundeck as well as an infinity edge pool. It also has a staircase that leads directly down to the beach. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    498
    108
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
79
433
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Perched on a cliff facing the Tyrrhenian Sea, this hotel with private access to the beach, offers breathtaking views of Positano's seascape. This was the trade off for choosing Marincanto over another hotel located in the city center. It's a good 15-min downhill and uphill climb between hotel and Centro with shops along the way and postcard perfect photo ops. With all the pasta and pizza you'll be having, you definitely need the walk. We stayed in the villa (thank you Marincanto for the upgrade!) and it was fantastic! Our huge private balcony was a regular spot to enjoy some aperitivo with an awesome view. The hotel is clean and well furnished. Breakfast daily was a decent spread. Staff and service were superb. Enza, the front desk staff/concierge, was very nice and helpful. We did great in choosing Hotel Marincanto as our home base for our 10-day visit to Positano/Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: Villa 1 has the best view. The private balcony is likely bigger than the hotel's standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
757 helpful votes 757 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated high above the sea. Our room had a fourposter king bed and was a good sized room. The bathtub was in a separate section giving you a private balcony type space giving you a spectacular view. Give yourself time to take the steps down the steep hill to the beach, Well worth it even the climb back up. The buffet breakfast is served on the balcony overlooking the sea. I recommend taking boats to the various islands towns, and busses to the inland towns. One of my favorites was Ravello. Walk down the hill and eat dinner by the sea. Enjoy it all.
Jeremy T

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

After 25 years of dreaming of a visit to Positano I was finally able to make it there last summer. We could not get a reservation at San Pietro so I booked 4 nights at the Hotel Miramare and 2 at the Marincanto. Thank goodness we did because it saved our trip. The Marincanto is clean and modern. The rooms are large and well appointed. It has an elevator that takes you and your bags up the hill. The pool is simply spectacular. Enza at the front desk took special care to make certain that our visit was perfect. The location and view are wonderful. It is truly one of the most wonderful hotels in the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Pros - View of Positano was great, room was big and clean, breakfast was a decent spread, property is well furnished. Hotel staff were polite, well informed and made great recommendations for dinners.

Cons - it's a 20 mins walk uphill if you arrive with luggage by boat but most hotels are located on the hilltop anyway. There is direct beach access by a very very steep staircase which takes 5 mins - it's not really a bad thing but just in case you have elderly or kids with you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This may be one of my favorite hotels in the world because it is so beautiful. Be sure to ask for assistance with your luggage upon arrival and departure as they are happy to assist with the stairs. Breakfast was traditional European style on a beautiful veranda overlooking the ocean. Free Wifi in rooms was a great added feature. Staff was fantastic prior to and after arrival. A wonderful stay. If I could I would move there and live at the hotel in a heartbeat! Pool is so relaxing overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

A very nice Hotel with spectacular views from your room balcony. A very attentive and courteous staff. Excellent choice to view the Amalfi coast. The hotel is very conveniently located to get around the city. The breakfast is also very good with a lot of choices. We would go back without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#7 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.