We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Fresh + Impeccable Service, Stunning views = 5 Star Impressions!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Destin, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean & Fresh + Impeccable Service, Stunning views = 5 Star Impressions!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I just got back from a 1-week holiday in Positano to celebrate my sister's 50th birthday, and we were so lucky to have been able to enjoy this milestone at the Hotel Marincanto.

From the moment one drives into the hotel driveway, one is captivated by the stunning postcard-perfect classic view of Positano. With the sea dropping down below and the golden dome of the Santa Maria Assunta Church to the right against a vista of rugged cliffs and hills, one feels like the having arrived in heaven.

Upon entering the lobby which had clean white linen sofas against a backdrop of ceramic Italian tile floors, one is imbued in the ethereal lemony-vanilla scent that permeates the air. This unique, addicting scent was later discovered to be a trigger of pleasant memories as I again had the pleasure of whiffing it when I unpacked my luggage upon my return to Florida-- I felt as if I had packed Hotel Marincanto in a bottle, and for a moment I was transported back in time and space to the one of closest places I have to been to heaven on earth.

Service was impressively warm and personal, yet professional and efficient. The hotel created a suprise Positanean birthday cake for my sister and delivered it to her suite on the morning of her birthday, much to her delight!

The beautiful breakfast buffet to be consumed at the hotel patio overlooking the quintessential Positano panorama was a sight and experience to behold every morning. It was a sumptuous choice of prosciutto, parma hams, eggs, cheeses, patries, fruits, breads, fresh juices, etc... and of course your choice of coffee, of which I had the authentic Italian capuccino every morning.

Many thanks to its management and staff without whom this would not have been the spectacular holiday that it was. Grazie Antonella, Enza, Rafaella, Rita, Rosa, Lisa, Gianni, and Carmine. Amore!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    135
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
97
544
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel was incredible. The staff and service are incredibly friendly and helpful. Conveniently across the street from the bus stop. Worth noting that the beach is very close, but it takes 200-something very steep steps to get down to it.

Room Tip: The sea views are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Marincanto for 3 nights during an 11 day trip to Italy celebrating our 25th anniversary. We were very pleased with our stay here. We were upgraded to the Villa and had a beautiful room on the lower level with a large, gorgeous patio with amazing views of the Mediterranean. The room was spotless and the staff was very attentive. The breakfast was one of the best of our stay in Italy. I highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay there again if I am lucky enough to return to Positano.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Whilst this hotel is certainly not 5 star in terms of rooms, fittings and furnishing - it makes up for it by pure location and spectacular views. We stayed for 4 nights in September and had a room overlooking the terrace and sea for the first night and then a room (the one pictured on their website) overlooking the beach and town with a good sized balcony for the following three nights. We had specifically booked this room many months in advance and had confirmation but on arrival were told it was 'always in demand' and we could not have until the following day. We were fine with that and didn't make a fuss. They then moved our things to other room the next day. Another night we specifically requested and pre-booked a table for two (a romantic dinner) on the terrace with the pianist playing etc. - it was lovely! But on arrival the table we had booked was occupied and we were shown to another which did not have the view we were after. We had seen the receptionist write down the table number we requested - table 3, but on the restaurant booking sheet another number had been written...they were unapologetic, but did find us another table. On the whole a good stay - great exercise down the many stairs to the beach but a wonderful plus as not many other hotels have this kind of private access. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely each morning and a swim in the pool (not heated) with a plastic glass of champagne was rather nice too!

Room Tip: Not overlooking the terrace on the first floor as you can hear everything said by restaurant patrons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We chose Marincanto hotel based on reviews in Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is situated on the cliff with beautiful views to the sea and town. Pay attention when you book your room some of the rooms offer only partial views but that is stated beforehand and reflected in the room's price. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The breakfast is good though cold, there was never a hot dish. The staff was very helpful always and the service impeccable. Certainly if I'm ever in Positano again I'll stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Went to the Amalfi Coast for my 50th birthday and we stayed at the Marincanto Hotel for 5 nights. The premier service began the moment we arrived. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Our room had a gorgeous balcony and view of the ocean - not to mention iconic scene of the hills of Positano. Breakfast on the terrace each morning was delightful. The pool and deck chairs so relaxing. The stairs right to the beach was perfectly convenient. A special shout out to Enza and Antonella for their phenomenal assistance and making our stay so enjoyable. This is truly a 5 star hotel - I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely perfect! We would stay there again in a heartbeat! The location is drop dead gorgeous and close to the center of town, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Also the breakfast was delicious.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.