We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Honeymoon Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 hotels in Positano
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Outstanding Honeymoon Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel was incredible. The staff and service are incredibly friendly and helpful. Conveniently across the street from the bus stop. Worth noting that the beach is very close, but it takes 200-something very steep steps to get down to it.

Room Tip: The sea views are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    550
    116
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
88
473
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Marincanto for 3 nights during an 11 day trip to Italy celebrating our 25th anniversary. We were very pleased with our stay here. We were upgraded to the Villa and had a beautiful room on the lower level with a large, gorgeous patio with amazing views of the Mediterranean. The room was spotless and the staff was very attentive. The breakfast was one of the best of our stay in Italy. I highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay there again if I am lucky enough to return to Positano.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Whilst this hotel is certainly not 5 star in terms of rooms, fittings and furnishing - it makes up for it by pure location and spectacular views. We stayed for 4 nights in September and had a room overlooking the terrace and sea for the first night and then a room (the one pictured on their website) overlooking the beach and town with a good sized balcony for the following three nights. We had specifically booked this room many months in advance and had confirmation but on arrival were told it was 'always in demand' and we could not have until the following day. We were fine with that and didn't make a fuss. They then moved our things to other room the next day. Another night we specifically requested and pre-booked a table for two (a romantic dinner) on the terrace with the pianist playing etc. - it was lovely! But on arrival the table we had booked was occupied and we were shown to another which did not have the view we were after. We had seen the receptionist write down the table number we requested - table 3, but on the restaurant booking sheet another number had been written...they were unapologetic, but did find us another table. On the whole a good stay - great exercise down the many stairs to the beach but a wonderful plus as not many other hotels have this kind of private access. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely each morning and a swim in the pool (not heated) with a plastic glass of champagne was rather nice too!

Room Tip: Not overlooking the terrace on the first floor as you can hear everything said by restaurant patrons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We chose Marincanto hotel based on reviews in Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is situated on the cliff with beautiful views to the sea and town. Pay attention when you book your room some of the rooms offer only partial views but that is stated beforehand and reflected in the room's price. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The breakfast is good though cold, there was never a hot dish. The staff was very helpful always and the service impeccable. Certainly if I'm ever in Positano again I'll stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Went to the Amalfi Coast for my 50th birthday and we stayed at the Marincanto Hotel for 5 nights. The premier service began the moment we arrived. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Our room had a gorgeous balcony and view of the ocean - not to mention iconic scene of the hills of Positano. Breakfast on the terrace each morning was delightful. The pool and deck chairs so relaxing. The stairs right to the beach was perfectly convenient. A special shout out to Enza and Antonella for their phenomenal assistance and making our stay so enjoyable. This is truly a 5 star hotel - I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely perfect! We would stay there again in a heartbeat! The location is drop dead gorgeous and close to the center of town, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Also the breakfast was delicious.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I recently visited Hotel Marincanto for the third time, with my group of 20. The hotel just
keeps getting better now with a cliff side pool, on site restaurant, and the even more
beautiful terrace. The daily breakfast buffet is extensive and borders on being a work
of art.
The hotel is an easy walk downhill to the shops, restaurants and ferry
stop. The Vespoli family and the staff like Antonella, Enza, Gianni, the gentleman
who handled our luggage transfers, and the personable and hard working Rafaella
made for another outstanding visit. If you are considering staying in Positano look
no further.

Room Tip: Rooms with a clear direct ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.