We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We got married on the terrace of Hotel Marincanto (Aug 12). We had such a great experinece, the staff was impeccable with their service, they all knew we were the honeymooners and treated us so special. The location in town was perfect, easy walk to everything. The stairs are crazy steep, but do able and gives the hotel such great appeal. The pool is in such a great place with breath taking views, we could have sat at the pool all day. Would definitely go back!!!

Room Tip: if you go in the summer, the rooms in main building was the coolest. Our honeymoon suite was awfully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    135
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
97
544
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Firstly, if you are going from Sorrento to Positano by Sita bus the bus leaves from the outside the Sorrento station and costs 3.80 euro each. Be prepared to line up for a while and you may also have to stand if you are one of the last on the bus. When arriving at Positano DON'T get off at the first stop, if you do you will need to get the local bus and it will drop you off basically where the second stop is for the Sita bus, from there it is about 100 metres down the hill to the Marincanto. ( I wish we had this information before we left).
On arrival you get the lift down to reception. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was 205 which from the lift's perspective is on the 1st floor. The room was large as was the bathroom with a huge balcony, great! The down side was there was this roof that took up 60% of the view, disappointing!
The room however was great, after spending a week in Italy and staying in typical Italian small hotel rooms this was a breath of fresh air and gave us plenty of room to move. Too bad about the view. When I questioned as to why we had the worst room in the hotel I was reassured that it wasn't the worst room, some rooms had virtually no view and in fact our room was an upgrade.
The view from the dining deck was amazing, at breakfast it doesn't get any better than this especially with bougainvillea's in flower.
The breakfast's were probably the best we had in Italy and the ladies at breakfast were a delight to see everyday. We dined for dinner once and although the restaurant has received rave reviews, we weren't overly impressed. In general the staff were very good and friendly and helped us with all our queries.
To get to the "beach" there are 299 steps (we counted them to the sand). Good going down, not so good going up. The pool was good and Gianni was delightful, maybe we will see him again in Melbourne!
Another word of advice, if you are taking a Sita bus down the coast be aware that particularly on days when the ferries are not running due to bad weather they may not stop for you. then there is another 30 minute wait for another (if they stop). They also tend to be overcrowded and inconsistent with their times.

Room Tip: The higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Marincanto and it was lovely. The room was beautiful with a great view over the most beautiful town of Positano. The reception staff were very welcoming however it took a long time to check in for some reason. Room were kept exceptionally clean with fresh towels twice per day - loved the turn down service when we retired for the evening. The reason it didn't receive five stars was the service at breakfast and dinner which was painfully slow. Although the staff were very friendly and accommodating, their previous jobs must have been looking after camels in the zoo as it took that long to get a cup of coffee at breakfast! Breakfast selection was ok but a hot selection would have been nice and it was the same selection each day - a variation would have been good. We ate once in the restaurant and again waited nearly an hour for our starter - it was a beautiful setting without doubt but an hour wait is excessive. We were were given complimentary coffee and liqueurs, however they should address this issue. I must say however that the pool service was exceptional, fab spritz and beers - the chap worked his socks off and all done with a smile - other staff should take note! Would we return to this hotel - without doubt as long as the service improved. Location wise it was ideal as the walk back from town burnt off the calories.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel Marincanto is a charming hotel with tons of character. We started our honeymoon here and stayed 5 nights. We enjoyed every moment of our stay! We had a Superior Double Room with a balcony, which had the most incredible views you could ever dream of. The reception desk was super helpful.They booked two tours for us (Capri and Pompeii) and organized our car service/taxis to and from Naples. On the property is a sundeck and pool, so you don't even have to leave! Breakfast is amazing, you don't want to miss that. My husband still talks about the breakfast :) The shower stall in our bathroom was small, but its to be expected while traveling in Italy. There is also a hotel cat, Pashmina who is super friendly. We wanted to steal her!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Marincanto in September for our honeymoon and could not have been happier! The hotel was gorgeous and the views--breathtaking- as are many views in Positano! The staff at the Marincanto is top notch. Enza at the front desk was incredibly helpful and so very pleasant to greet us each day! Gianni by the pool was also wonderful ! The pool and sundeck were amazing for some relaxation we were looking for during our trip. The breakfast each day was delicious as was dinner the one night we ate at the hotel restaurant ! Overall we would definitely stay here again- hope to make it back to beautiful Positano sooner rather than later! ciao !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Although we only stayed one night, and wished we could have stayed longer, our room was absolutely beutiful, with lovely tilework, a beautiful private balcony, huge bathroom, and fabulous views. The service and friendliness were also marvelous and the breakfast buffet was very good.

Room Tip: The villa has lovely private areas and beautiful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for four nights in a junior suite as part of out Italian honeymoon and it surpassed all our expectations. The staff were so friendly in all areas of the hotel, and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was HUGE with a bedroom, living room (both with balconies) a large shower room, and a dressing room with full size jacuzzi! The pool was a true infinity pool with magnificent views of Positano and the ocean. The beach was a few (180!!!!) steps down the Cliff but wel worth the effort as it was quiet and had great swimming in the bay. Breakfast had different home made delicacies every day - we didn't try dinner as the town was only a few minutes away and the restaurants in Positano were all marvellous. Overall, a marvellous stay and we will be back!

Room Tip: The Junior suite was marvellous, but we sneaked a look at a superior room and the balcony and views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.