We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel just a couple of issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Liverpool
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel just a couple of issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Marincanto and it was lovely. The room was beautiful with a great view over the most beautiful town of Positano. The reception staff were very welcoming however it took a long time to check in for some reason. Room were kept exceptionally clean with fresh towels twice per day - loved the turn down service when we retired for the evening. The reason it didn't receive five stars was the service at breakfast and dinner which was painfully slow. Although the staff were very friendly and accommodating, their previous jobs must have been looking after camels in the zoo as it took that long to get a cup of coffee at breakfast! Breakfast selection was ok but a hot selection would have been nice and it was the same selection each day - a variation would have been good. We ate once in the restaurant and again waited nearly an hour for our starter - it was a beautiful setting without doubt but an hour wait is excessive. We were were given complimentary coffee and liqueurs, however they should address this issue. I must say however that the pool service was exceptional, fab spritz and beers - the chap worked his socks off and all done with a smile - other staff should take note! Would we return to this hotel - without doubt as long as the service improved. Location wise it was ideal as the walk back from town burnt off the calories.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    147
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
107
590
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel Marincanto is a charming hotel with tons of character. We started our honeymoon here and stayed 5 nights. We enjoyed every moment of our stay! We had a Superior Double Room with a balcony, which had the most incredible views you could ever dream of. The reception desk was super helpful.They booked two tours for us (Capri and Pompeii) and organized our car service/taxis to and from Naples. On the property is a sundeck and pool, so you don't even have to leave! Breakfast is amazing, you don't want to miss that. My husband still talks about the breakfast :) The shower stall in our bathroom was small, but its to be expected while traveling in Italy. There is also a hotel cat, Pashmina who is super friendly. We wanted to steal her!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Marincanto in September for our honeymoon and could not have been happier! The hotel was gorgeous and the views--breathtaking- as are many views in Positano! The staff at the Marincanto is top notch. Enza at the front desk was incredibly helpful and so very pleasant to greet us each day! Gianni by the pool was also wonderful ! The pool and sundeck were amazing for some relaxation we were looking for during our trip. The breakfast each day was delicious as was dinner the one night we ate at the hotel restaurant ! Overall we would definitely stay here again- hope to make it back to beautiful Positano sooner rather than later! ciao !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Although we only stayed one night, and wished we could have stayed longer, our room was absolutely beutiful, with lovely tilework, a beautiful private balcony, huge bathroom, and fabulous views. The service and friendliness were also marvelous and the breakfast buffet was very good.

Room Tip: The villa has lovely private areas and beautiful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for four nights in a junior suite as part of out Italian honeymoon and it surpassed all our expectations. The staff were so friendly in all areas of the hotel, and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was HUGE with a bedroom, living room (both with balconies) a large shower room, and a dressing room with full size jacuzzi! The pool was a true infinity pool with magnificent views of Positano and the ocean. The beach was a few (180!!!!) steps down the Cliff but wel worth the effort as it was quiet and had great swimming in the bay. Breakfast had different home made delicacies every day - we didn't try dinner as the town was only a few minutes away and the restaurants in Positano were all marvellous. Overall, a marvellous stay and we will be back!

Room Tip: The Junior suite was marvellous, but we sneaked a look at a superior room and the balcony and views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovaScotia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We just loved this place. We stayed in a Jr Suite that had a breathtaking view of Positano and the sea. Although we stayed in a number of great places on our almost 3 week trip, this was my favourite. The staff were extremely helpful, the food was great, the room was very comfortable and the pool (and view from it) was amazing. We were in a room (258) at the bottom of alot of stairs - we didn't mind this at all....we were in Positano, after all. Can't wait to go back and would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Room 258 was amazing. Wow....great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great hotel and excelent location.
Very friendly and co-operative staff-making every efort to help.
Beautiful and unique pool with breathtaking veiw.
Car parking-very important in positano.
Would love to come again.

Room Tip: Every room has the veiw of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.