We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Maricanto-Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Herzlia, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Maricanto-Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great hotel and excelent location.
Very friendly and co-operative staff-making every efort to help.
Beautiful and unique pool with breathtaking veiw.
Car parking-very important in positano.
Would love to come again.

Room Tip: Every room has the veiw of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    133
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
97
540
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I stay here for 3 nights in late September. The hotel itself is very beautiful but when we got to our room (in the villa portion of the hotel), we were a bit surprised by how bare bones it felt, with inexpensive looking furniture and stuff. However, the view from our balcony more than made up for the slight disappointment. We had breakfast delivered to the room one morning and ate on the balcony overlooking the ocean; it was awesome. The location was good, close enough to the stores and restaurants, though walking up there from the ferry with our luggage did give us quite a workout. The breakfast buffet was over-the-top good! The one real complaint I had was that the wifi did not really work in our room, perhaps because it was in the villa part of the hotel. Maybe it works better in the main building? Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Positano was a place we had longed to visit. It was everything, and more. Marincanto was a perfect choice, a distinctive lemon hotel of many levels with a wet edge pool that has you feeling that you are swimming in the Mediterranean. We swam many times in its balmy water in October. The public spaces of this hotel are immaculate and stylish, with white columns, terracotta tiles, wrought iron furniture, comfy white lounges and flowers everywhere. We had an amazing room, right down the bottom, closest to the water. It had a huge balcony with tables, sun beds and more flowers. And THAT view. Stunning by day, magical by night. The restaurant was fantastic. Nice breakfasts and we had a delicious, romantic, candle-lit dinner. Positano is breathtaking. We WILL return, as will our family and friends who can't believe our photos and stories of this beautiful place.

Room Tip: We had 258, loved it. Ask for that amazing sea view. It seems many rooms have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A perfect way to start our honeymoon in Italy. Location-wise it's got to be among the best, with its own winding staircase down to the beach and unobstructed sea views (nothing between hotel and shore). We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite (Room 58) which was too much room for a honeymoon couple, but had a fantastic large private terrace/balcony overlooking the sea. The dining terrace (breakfast, lunch, dinner) is absolutely beautiful with amazing views and great free breakfast (I can't imagine a better view for a dining terrace in all of Positano). Didn't have enough nights to actually have dinner there, but I've heard it's great. The hotel is full of plenty of other terraces for lounging: one with an infinity pool and tables/chairs, one sun deck with lots of lawn chairs, one with a patio couch and coffee table, etc, so you don't even need to go to the beach and pay the €12 for a beach chair. The location was just great. Highly-recommend grabbing a bottle of reasonably-priced wine in town and making sure you take in the sunset view each night before dinner out.

Cons: Our shower (Room 58) was kind of cheap/plasticy/tiny and the drain didn't work at all, even when we asked to have it fixed. They also didn't have the bottle of champagne waiting for us like I had requested, which resulted in an awkward second-request. Other than that, it was great.

Room Tip: Get a sea-view, no question! Room 58 is enormous (2 bedroom, 2 bathroom) and has an AMAZING large p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARLBOROUGH WILTSHIRE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went to Positano on our honeymoon and it didn't disappoint. Everything I had dreamed it would be and more! The staff were so friendly, the room was lovely and the views were spectacular! We had a junior suite as it was such a special occasion and we had twin balconies overlooking the sea, the beach and Positano to the right hand side. The food was lovely, we didn't eat in the restaurant at night, but it was always full even though we went in September which was slightly off season! The breakfast was good and the views were stunning! Good location on the east side of the village as the sun sets behind the mountain and that is lovely. Lots of steps to the beach though, so not for the frail or not too fit! Positano is built on the side of a steep valley so beware, lovely little cobbled pedestrian alleys leading to the beach with little boutiques, art galleries and gift shops! Lovely restaurants. A little pricey but worth it! You have to pay around 12 euros for a beach lounger, but again worth it as the water is lovely!! Not great for little children but with supervision it is safe enough. Driving on the Amalfi Coast is interesting, the driving is a little hectic! Don't go out on a weekend, Amalfi was full and we couldn't park Ravello was also very busy but we did manage to park at the new Oscar Neidermeyer car park. Ravello is a lovely place to visit and we will return to stay overnight when the crowds have gone! It wasn't too bad in September when we went, but the summer months would be busy! Just don't venture out on the roads when the Italians are out and about too! We will go back and get airport transfers and then take boat trips which are easier to access the inlets and bays along this beautiful coastline! Also Naples isn't easy to navigate in a car and we got very lost trying to find the airport, so take a good map!! However, I can't recommend Hotel Marincanto and Positano enough, it is a lovely hotel in a beautiful place! Romantic, friendly, well decorated, clean, good food. We shall definitely return to this little jewel on the Amalfi Coast!

Room Tip: We had the junior suite overlooking the sea because it was our honeymoon, it was expensive but worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Everything about Hotel Marincanto was perfect for us! Sharing our experience: the kind, smiling, patient staff (each and every one of them); the beautiful, spacious room with gorgeous sea and town views; excellent service at every turn, including various itinerary suggestions/reservations, twice daily room cleaning/tidying with fresh towels, prompt laundry service(albeit a bit pricey, but what hotel laundry service isn't); excellent, large breakfast buffet with many choices-(none hot, but we didn't want or need) from delicious high quality prosciutto & other meats/cheeses to in season vegetables and fruits to many delicious breads, pastries, cakes, in addition to other fare, along with the breakfast ladies Rita and Lisa (and all the others) making your cappucini perfectly or addressing any other need with a warm smile; close easy walking proximity (taking the slightly slower slope by the road vs faster steps) to center of Positano(for numerous restaurants, coffee/wine bars, shopping, bus stops, and the sea below with enough elevation on the cliff to make views fabulous, while being far enough away from crowds and noise to hear the sea gently slapping the shore and seagulls call; lovely medium sized infinity pool with its fantastic views which was conscientiously well-kept by Gianni, who also provided delicious drinks, nibbles and large, fluffy towels; and well, I could go on, but suffice it to say we left deliciously and luxuriously well-spoiled.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite in the original property with requested beautiful sea views and a terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent my 40th birthday here last week. Upon arrival we were thrilled to be upgraded to the honeymoon suite. Never have we had the pleasure of staying somewhere as beautiful. The staff were amazingly friendly, the view from our terrace to die for, a pool where you felt like you could float into the ocean and a very special hotel. Thankyou so much for making our stay so memorable. Even the young man giving out towels to people at the pool, had the enthusiasm of someone on their first day at a new job, nothing was too much trouble and he was as charming and friendly as the most seasoned of hospitatality professionals, this was very much the way we found all the staff at this excellent establishment.

Room Tip: Stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.