We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 41 hotels in Positano
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The best view and location! The hotel staff is very friendly and very accommodating. They gave us Villa #1 which is the best room in the hotel. Room has the largest terrace with outside shower, quiet and away from street level noise. We enjoyed the pool with its breathtaking views.

Room Tip: ask for Villa #1, quiet, biggest terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    562
    121
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
92
490
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My Husband and I spent 3 nights at this property. Upon arriving we were greeted by Enza, who provided exceptional check in service. She was a pleasurable first impression of the property.

Having spent the previous days exploring Amalfi and Ravello, we were content with just taking advantage of the wonderful pool and sunning deck, and aside from dinner or a late afternoon stroll we really didn't do much. It was perfect. The pool is small, but not often crowded and the view is unbelievable. Also, the location of this hotel allows for maximum sun exposure in the late afternoon. Much of the rest of Positano loses sun about an hour earlier than the Marincanto.

Our room was very very spacious, with a massive bathroom, but the terrace was immediately adjacent to the sun deck which meant that we had very little privacy. We had to keep the sheers closed, leaving the room very dark. I suppose we were not in the room much, but that would be my only complaint. Although I paid for a terrace, it was not one I wanted to use.

I very much appreciated that the drinks and pool bar menu were extremely reasonably priced. It didn't make you feel bad about indulging. The club sandwich was a favorite.

We ate at the hotel restaurant one night, and it was good but the service was extremely slow. We didn't really mind, because we were enjoying the spectacular view. Otherwise, we ate at recommendations by the concierge. All good.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent 3 days at this beautiful place last month. The location is amazing with fantastic views from our balcony, the terrace and the swimming pool. We immediately felt at home because of the warm welcome by Antonella at reception. She and Enza were so friendly and helpful. Gianni at the pool was also ever cheerful and accommodating. In fact I have never stayed at a hotel before where the entire staff seems happy in their work. Everyone smiles and greets you. So many hotels around the world are devoid of personality; our stay here was such a welcome change. Will definitely be returning to Positano and the Hotel Marincanto in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A one night stay here on our tour of the Amalfi coast was just not enough...

This hotel is further from the beach than many which means a ten minute walk but gusts are rewarded with spectacular views from the rooms, pool, sun terrace and restaurant making that walk worthwhile.

We only stayed one night and chose to eat in the hotel, which I can also very much recommend. The food was delicious though the service a little slow on a particularly busy night. Try the seared tuna coated in pistachio nuts which is delicious.

The staff also went hugely out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed and even managed to look after our car for a couple of days at short notice when we changed our onward plans.

We are already planning a return trip, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of having my wedding a this hotel, and I also stayed here during my trip to Positano. This hotel is not only beautiful, but the staff is super amazing! I had the pleasure in meeting Enza, who made sure to take care of our every need. She and the rest of the staff were professional and very accommodating. The rooms were very clean and nicely set up and had wonderful views, and the food was also very good. I would def suggest this hotel to anyone who is interested in visiting Positano.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is one of most spectacular hotel. We had a nice room with dreaming view! Every evening we spent some time on our beautiful terrace with a glass of limoncello, just wondering if it is real!
The hotel is very clean, new refurbished, quite close to downtown.
Absolutely great the breakfast (thank you Rita for cappuccino).
The infinity swimming pool is great too!
The staff is nice and helpful.
Thank you again Mrs. Antonela! We will come back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon in a beautiful room with a terrace. We had a full view of the harbor and the cliffside and it didn't hurt that it was a full moon the whole time we were there! The staff was wonderful, especially Gioni at the pool! The infinity pool was picture perfect and the food was delicous. We had lunch on the terrace when we arrived and dinner one evening when they had a live piano player under the stars. One of the best parts was the private stairwell that went to the beach below, we loved being able to jump between the pool and the ocean and then go back to our beautiful sunfilled terrace. Prices are reasonable for a stay in the Amalif coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.