We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 41 hotels in Positano
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of having my wedding a this hotel, and I also stayed here during my trip to Positano. This hotel is not only beautiful, but the staff is super amazing! I had the pleasure in meeting Enza, who made sure to take care of our every need. She and the rest of the staff were professional and very accommodating. The rooms were very clean and nicely set up and had wonderful views, and the food was also very good. I would def suggest this hotel to anyone who is interested in visiting Positano.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    561
    120
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
92
488
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is one of most spectacular hotel. We had a nice room with dreaming view! Every evening we spent some time on our beautiful terrace with a glass of limoncello, just wondering if it is real!
The hotel is very clean, new refurbished, quite close to downtown.
Absolutely great the breakfast (thank you Rita for cappuccino).
The infinity swimming pool is great too!
The staff is nice and helpful.
Thank you again Mrs. Antonela! We will come back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon in a beautiful room with a terrace. We had a full view of the harbor and the cliffside and it didn't hurt that it was a full moon the whole time we were there! The staff was wonderful, especially Gioni at the pool! The infinity pool was picture perfect and the food was delicous. We had lunch on the terrace when we arrived and dinner one evening when they had a live piano player under the stars. One of the best parts was the private stairwell that went to the beach below, we loved being able to jump between the pool and the ocean and then go back to our beautiful sunfilled terrace. Prices are reasonable for a stay in the Amalif coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Travelling as a family of 5 we checked into room 255 which is ample in size as my wife and i had one large room to ourselves and three single beds in the adjacent room. Each bedroom had its own small balcony with direct ocean and positano town views.

The hotel organized a private boat charter and whilst it was not cheap at 1200 euro for a day we did have a 42 ft boat from M luxury boat charter at our disposal which was excellent. This boat could easily accomodate 8 to 10 people. I have found that with wanting to travel off the beaten track personal tours work better for us.

Enza at reception organized the itinery for us including lunch at a locals restaraunt with boat only access. The restaraunt Santa Croce Da Teresa is a shack that looks like it has been built over time so do not be put off by what might seem a bit ramshackle. The meal was great once we navigated the language barrier, the owner got one of the young locals at an adjacent table to come and translate as we have been advised to get the octopus and potatoes which did not let down. This was followed by the seafood pasta which was just fresh local mussels, clams and prawns in a light oil that was delicious.

Washed down with white wine that had peaches sliced into it which is a local custom for italans during summer as i understand it. All this for 113 euro.

We were the only non italians there and once they realised they were more than helpful.

Whilst we waited the kids stayed in the water until our food was served.

In closing this hotel has the whole package being a great property in a great location with service and advice to match.

The weather has turned nasty today so Enza has arranged a cooking course for the family. Our 7 year old is adamant she wants to make gnocchi so there is plenty to do even if the weather is not sunny.

The hotel caters equally well for families and couples as we have noisy kids which were accepted alongside couples on their honeymoons. I know that sounds crazy but the hotel atmosphere seems to accomodate.

This is a great place to base yourself in at a very reasonable price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Marincanto from August 18-22nd. The staff is absolutely fantastic; they go above and beyond and make your stay a true pleasure! Gianni by the pool was on it! Then there's the view from our room: breathtaking! Oh, and the food at the hotel restaurant was delicious. Lastly, they knew we were departing especially early on the 22nd and actually packed us breakfasts to take with us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We chose Hotel Marincanto as a luxury hotel for our honeymoon, and we were amazed that our expectations were surpassed. The room was beautifully furnished in a simple style and the view from the balcony was picture-perfect. The infinity pool was incredible, with the breathtaking views across the bay. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and did their job with a smile, always looking to go the extra mile. Of particular note were Rita at breakfast, Gianni at the pool, and Antonella and Enza at reception.The breakfast buffet changed daily and was always excellent. We dined at the hotel restaurant twice and the food was wonderful, with a view from the terrace to match. Thanks so much for making our honeymoon so memorable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We just came back from a one month tour of Italy and Greece. Positano was our first stop in Italy starting our honeymoon. Hotel Marincanto met and exceeded our expectations starting with the location and the unbelievable views from the hotel terrace and continued with the staff and our room accommodations. The staff were very informative regarding our outings and the best way to go places. The breakfast was a beautiful spread of italian and continental delights and cappuccino with foam designs delivered to our table!! The view from our room was just as spectacular and the rooms were spacious with very comfortable baths.
The hotel was conveniently located for a trip to Capri from the dock down the beach and a multitude of restaurants were available at the beach front down about 250 the steps from the hotel. At first we hesitated but after one day we thought nothing of it.
It was a great place to start feeling pampered in Italy!!
We made trips to Pompei, Capri, Amalfi and Ravello with the hotel as our base. Great location for trips like that!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.