We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Positano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just back from a weekend stay at the Marincanto. Everything about the hotel, it's location, atmosphere and staff was faultless. We opted for the standard room but even this was more adequate with a very comfy bed, great bathroom and of course that amazing view. Breakfast was a great choice of dishes, all very fresh and beautifully presented. Although we didn't have dinner at the hotel, the menu was delicious. What made our stay however was the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were so friendly. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    123
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
92
502
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great staff. So nice. Gorgeous hotel and setting. Beach was really nice and the whole hotel is very clean. Gianni at the pool makes for a great experience. Great location in town. Great restaurant with reasonable prices. Will stay here again and my wife and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The staff is great. Everyone is so nice. Views are the best in the world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in the middle of July in the Gli Galli suite for 5 nights. It was amazing, the decor, space and quality of the room was superb. The towels were change twice daily and the staff were always friendly and helpful.
The views are fantastic with uninterrupted views over the sea and to the side Positano.

Breakfast on the terrace was a nice way to start the day and we had lunch on one occasion and it was very good.

A short 10 minute walk into town. I suggest the road and not the stairs as they were more tiring,especially after dinner.

Would thoroughly recommend this luxury hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Lounging in the infinity pool (with great pool menu) overlooking the bay, enjoying peace and quiet in the centre of town but built vertically against the cliffs for ultimate relaxation, this hotel will be enjoyed by everyone, young, old, couples, families. Beach can be reached by simply walking down steps from hotel (the hotel provides towels and discounts on the beach chairs waiting for you). Great atmosphere and absence of loud guests. Great spacious rooms (we had suite with our two teen kids), with powerful A/C, a must this summer with most days exceeding 40C/100F. As others commented, excellent service and staff. Parking on site (something ver coveted in this congested town). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I arrived at Hotel Marincanto, only to realize that we had left our passports in Sorrento. Antonella solved this problem quickly for us, by arranging to have them delivered by a car service. She was so kind and helpful, as was Giani at the pool. Great customer service!

The views from the hotel are surreal. We spent our days alternating from lounging on the sundeck to floating in the pool, and just kept saying, "Wow," as we looked out at the ocean, the town of Positano, and the brightly coloured flowers and foliage.

Our room was huge, with a separate family room, walk in closet, and huge bathroom. It stayed nice and cool, offering a break from the intense August heat. Our only complaint would be that it smelled like mothballs for some reason.

You're in a great location at this hotel. It is very close to the main shopping areas, but not right in the heart of things, making it feel very private, and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our experience at Hotel Marincanto was wonderful. The hotel's view was amazing; it was clean and very comfortable, the food was delicious starting with a wonderful breakfast (included) and we ate dinner there twice during our stay (my favorite place to eat in Positano). But what topped off this hotel was it's staff. Enza is as helpful as she is beautiful and the wait staff were so hospitable. Hard working people who were happy to do anything asked. I hope someday I will find myself back in this paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel Marincanto was absolute paradise. It is hard to find the words to describe how much we enjoyed this place. Situated high on the cliffs above Positano, this hotel has a view that is simply magnificent from just about anywhere. There are multiple terraces from which to enjoy the view, and none better than the terrace of the family suite where we stayed. The family suite had two bedrooms, a living room area, two bathrooms, and the terrace where we spent most of our time just basking in the views. Downtown Positano to our right, the deep blue ocean filled with sailboats and yachts to our left, and the beach directly below us.

It is an easy and pleasant walk to the main part of Positano and yet isolated enough to where it is peaceful and not crowded. Be warned, if you stay in Positano be prepared to walk A LOT of stairs. we had to walk stairs to and from our suite and down to the beach. It was nice that we had direct stair to beach access though. You can get to the main part of Positano via the beach or the street level--fun walk either way.

The infinity pool at Marincanto was outstanding. Warm, but cool, and with unparalleled views of the ocean. It was absolutely gorgeous. No hot tub, but the poolside food/drink/towel service was a real plus. Everyone at the hotel bent over backwards for us. Service was outstanding. Al Marincanto, the hotel restaurant had an outstanding breakfast buffet which was included and the best dinner we had in Italy was at this restaurant.

The thing that sent us over the edge was the firework show (apparently this happens every time someone gets married). We have seen a lot of fireworks, but this was just mind blowing because the fireworks were fired from a boat out at sea directly in front of us. Well, we're hundreds of feet above sea level on the cliffs so when the fireworks launched the fireworks were practically at eye level. The explosions reverberated off the hills behind Positano and echoed back at us. Spectacular doesn't even begin to describe it. It was like we were in a warzone of explosions. The kids freaked out with joy...which is pretty much how I felt the whole time we were there. Best hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.