We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel; the views were incredible, and every room has a balcony that overlooks the sea. The hotel staff at the desk, in the restaurant and at the pool were fabulous, helpful and patient! This was my second trip to Positano and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    143
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
107
574
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I wanted to give this property a Very Good rating for two reasons. One, they upgraded us to the honeymoon suite and two, they shipped the clothes I left there back to the states! Most hotels would say they never saw anything and pocket the leave behinds. It's nice to be reminded that there are still good people out there.
That being said, even the Honeymoon Suite wasn't that impressive. It was just a bigger room with an uncomfortable bed and couch. The strangest part about the room was the bathroom and the open window next to the jacuzzi. Let me rephrase that--it wasn't an open window as there was no window there, just a square where a window should go. So we had to keep the bathroom door shut at all times as the humidity and heat coming from outside into the bathroom would infiltrate into our room making it almost unbearable. For the life of me I couldn't figure out why on earth they didn't just have a window with the option to open, but instead chose to have a hole in the wall open to the natural elements at all times. What's even more bizarre is that the opening was out to the balcony and not even out towards the ocean--so the view was of the balcony furniture! Poor design. We never could figure out how to work the jacuzzi.
In addition, the pool is small and if there are kids there then you can forget getting in as they take up the whole thing especially when they bring their rafts (should not be allowed).
Then there's the service at the beach. After walking a cajillion steps down to the beach, it would make sense to have service to your chairs considering there is a bar/restaurant right there. Instead if you want something, you will have to go get it yourself, unless you want to wait an eternity for someone to finally come by and then be rude to you.
The front desk staff was very friendly and completely oblivious to what was going on 500 steps below them. There just wasn't anything great about the property that really stood out other than the private beach (with bad service).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementMARINCANTO, Proprietario at Hotel Marincanto, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Marincanto for your recent stay in Positano and for taking time to write your review. I am pleased you had a nice stay with us and found our staff to be helpful and pleasant. It is with great regret anyway we read that neither the room nor the hotel pool have fully answered to your expectations. But believe us, referring to the pool, it is always difficult to combine all of our guests’ needs whether they are at Il Marincanto for a romantic getaway or a relaxing holiday with family. We will do our best to improve that too. What we want to emphasize, however, is that hotel Marincanto cannot be held responsible for the bad service received at the beach below us because we only private descent to it but it is a completely different management form us.
I really hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again in a near future
Kind regards

the Management
Vespoli family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Marincanto in early May. We drove past it the first time as all you see from the street is a parking deck and a small building! That's because the hotel is built into the side of the hill and the elevator takes you down to the lobby below. The desk staff were welcoming and helpful at all times. The lobby is an elegant large room with a hand made terra cotta tile floor. Many French doors open onto the terrace which overlooks the town and beach below. The terrace, with its potted lemon trees, has tables where we were served breakfast ( breakfast buffet included with room) and ate dinner under the stars. Our room was elegant, spacious and sparkling clean. French doors opened out onto a small balcony and by leaving them open, we heard the sound of the waves hitting the beach all night long. Dinner was excellent with the food prepared with care and nuance. The pool overlooked the beach and Giani was attentive with towels, wine and snacks. It was with great sadness that I left Positano and the Marincanto. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just returned from a 12 day stay at Marincanto having spent the previous 3 days at the Hotel Vesuvio in Naples.

We simply love the Maricanto Hotel - it is simply stunning and above all has the staff to make the biggest difference of all - excellent customer service and care.

So , in no order of importance , a big , big thank you to ; Enza , Antonella , Franco , Monica , Gianni , Carmine (not Carmen !) , Rita , Lisa and all the others that work there too.

Tahnk you and we will see you again next year , God willing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Marincanto has a quirky, yet charming ambience. The hotel exists as a kind of complex across a few separate buildings that cling to the slope just above the eastern end of the beach. The buildings are surrounded by beautiful gardens and terraces, with stairs leading down to the beach below.

We booked a Junior Suite and it was quite enormous, especially for Italy, with three separate rooms, a hot tub, and balcony directly above the sea. We went to sleep to the sound of waves lapping at the shore every night and woke to one of the world's truly iconic views across Positano.

However, the real highlight of the hotel is the staff. The Concierge, Ensa, recommended a fabulous restaurant for my wife's birthday, ensuring we received VIP treatment when we arrived, and in the morning, Rita brought out cake and champagne with our breakfast on the terrace and led a rousing rendition of Happy Birthday. They are genuinely lovely people, which absolutely makes a stay for us, particularly in such a beautiful, but ultimately expensive and touristy part of the world.

Go for the views, but stay for the service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel marincanto was a lovely hotel in a stunning location and definitely worth a visit. The rates for the rooms are expensive but you are paying for the location and for the privilege of staying in the beautiful town of Positano. The staff we all really friendly, the rooms were big and clean and the sun deck and pool area were spacious with sun loungers always available which isn't always the case in Italy! We stayed in room villa 1 and we would definitely recommend it as it had a huge terrace with two sun loungers, a table and chairs and an amazing view of the ocean and the town so we will asking for this room when we re-visit which we will be doing!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Bit of a mixed review here ... Room comfort, view, pool and food were all very good and the service was generally great. However, for the price this felt like it was the least we could ask for and so as a result we were left feeling a bit disappointed when things fell below standards at times (room service, car parking and the pool being a bit of a party zone for friends of guests being 3 examples). Overall a great hotel but for the price it needs to be even better and you're paying a tax for the view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.