We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a gem with a perfect view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 hotels in Positano
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Still a gem with a perfect view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Marincanto and since our last visit (2008), there has been some additional facilities, such as the ability to dine in the restaurant in the evenings and the addition of a small pool.

We have stayed in room 232 and 230 (this visit), they are both in a block away from the main building, which means you have to traverse some steepish steps -both offer a lovely view. The view from the sun bathing terrace is breathtaking and Gianni works very hard to look after everyone.

Breakfast on the Lemon Terrace is a joy and so are the lovely staff who look after you, especially Lisa. In fact we couldnt fault any of the staff, they are courteous, helpful and professional. To be recommended in reception is Enza - always cheery and helpful. We shall definitely return.

If you are planning to visit Positano then you have to be prepared for lots of steep hills and steps to climb - so take comfortable shoes. Would also recommend a trip across to Capri - and of course the hotel staff will help you organise it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    108
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
80
435
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

One night in Positano, can't forget its beauty in my mind.
The receptionist upgraded our room as a special treatment for our honeymoon, which is just so sweet! Thanks again.
Breakfast is fantastic. i asked for twice the cappucino with the heart-shape cocoa powder on it. Love it.
The view is great. Day, night, down, the different colors of the sea...
I should have brought my swimming suit! Gosh!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel has spectacular views from the rooms, sun deck, pool and dining area. Looking over Positano, one is totally taken care of by the staff who are courteous, helpful, charming and friendly. The food is extraordinary and when combined with the stunning views and music....And to fall asleep to the gentle sound of waves on the sea is a treat. You could not ask for more --- except perhaps more time in this bit of paradise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Marincanto - we feel special just by staying there. The hotel, staff, facilities, view, location, food were excellent. Service was so attentive - you felt genuinely welcome wherever you were in the hotel - whether in the lobby lounge, the terrace dining, or the pool. The 100-200 steps from reception to the room/suite/beach were actually no problem for us, whenever we paused for rest, the view and landscaping was magnificent. We wish we could have stayed longer - we certainly will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Marincanto is unquestionably the most spectacular location in Positano. The views from our room and balcony, from the breakfast area, pool, sun deck, and everywhere else on the property were unimaginable. In addition, the attentive service from the front desk, breakfast servers, and Gianni at the pool was top notch. Finally, the hotel is well situated for easy access to the center of town, but far enough up the hill to be quiet and have spectacular views. It is also conveniently just steps away from the La Sponda bus stop.

I would have to agree with other reviewers, however, that the hotel is in need of some upgrades and maintenance. The hallways and stairways look outdated and a little shabby. Although we reserved a junior suite, the quality of furniture, bedding, and fixtures were low given the room prices. The floors looked old (and not in good way) and the grout did not seem clean, although it may have been. It's hard to imagine what the lower-priced rooms might have been like.

I would recommend the hotel to others despite the quality of the rooms, given the spectacular amenities, location, and service. I might also return to the hotel, but hope that the hotel invests in some upgrades before then.

Room Tip: I would inquire about whether there are any upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My new wife and I stayed for 2 nights following our wedding in Positano in September.

The staff were truly wonderful and there was a woman (sorry forgot your name which is annoying) who worked at reception who did everything to make sure our stay was memorable.

On the day of our wedding the weather changed and it rained like I have never seen before. It changed some of our plans, however she did everything to arrange taxi's and be our point of contact so that family got to the town hall on time. She was wonderful.

We had booked a junior suite which had and amazing view with a balcony. We loved our room. The Hotel has fantastic views with a pool and sun terrace. The breakfast was more than adequate again situated on the terrace with the views.

Positano is a fantastic place. It is a place we will always return to and of course we shall return to the marincanto

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#7 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.