We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Positano
maine
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Spectacular location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Marincanto is unquestionably the most spectacular location in Positano. The views from our room and balcony, from the breakfast area, pool, sun deck, and everywhere else on the property were unimaginable. In addition, the attentive service from the front desk, breakfast servers, and Gianni at the pool was top notch. Finally, the hotel is well situated for easy access to the center of town, but far enough up the hill to be quiet and have spectacular views. It is also conveniently just steps away from the La Sponda bus stop.

I would have to agree with other reviewers, however, that the hotel is in need of some upgrades and maintenance. The hallways and stairways look outdated and a little shabby. Although we reserved a junior suite, the quality of furniture, bedding, and fixtures were low given the room prices. The floors looked old (and not in good way) and the grout did not seem clean, although it may have been. It's hard to imagine what the lower-priced rooms might have been like.

I would recommend the hotel to others despite the quality of the rooms, given the spectacular amenities, location, and service. I might also return to the hotel, but hope that the hotel invests in some upgrades before then.

Room Tip: I would inquire about whether there are any upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    136
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
100
551
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My new wife and I stayed for 2 nights following our wedding in Positano in September.

The staff were truly wonderful and there was a woman (sorry forgot your name which is annoying) who worked at reception who did everything to make sure our stay was memorable.

On the day of our wedding the weather changed and it rained like I have never seen before. It changed some of our plans, however she did everything to arrange taxi's and be our point of contact so that family got to the town hall on time. She was wonderful.

We had booked a junior suite which had and amazing view with a balcony. We loved our room. The Hotel has fantastic views with a pool and sun terrace. The breakfast was more than adequate again situated on the terrace with the views.

Positano is a fantastic place. It is a place we will always return to and of course we shall return to the marincanto

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Hotel Merincanto sits on the cliffs of Positano, Italy overlooking the beach, moored fishing boats and most of the town! I don't think their is a bad room in the entire hotel. The views are extraordinary. It was fun watching other guests check in and immediately run to take dozens of photos from all over the property. We stayed here for our 25th anniversary and in retrospect could not think of a more romantic locale to celebrate this special occasion! The morning breakfast buffet was extraordinary. We also liked the infinity pool nestled into the cliffs with a view of the city. The hotel also has it's own private stairway to the beach below where we swam in the Mediterranean Sea! What great memories of our romantic Italian getaway!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be fantastic! I would have loved to see them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Everything about this hotel is p-e-r-f-e-c-t. From the beautiful ocean views (everywhere you look!), to the spacious rooms and friendly people working there - we were super impressed! The sad part of the story is it was our honeymoon and we were only there for one night. (We did a whirlwind tour through all of Italy.) So... we certainly have a place that we desire to go back to!

Our only advice.. stay for at least three nights! It is worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and i spent 5 nights in june 2012.The hotel exceeded our expectations.The staff was very helpfull and friendly.The hotel was clean and very quiet. the view to the ocean was breathtaking.The hotel serves an excellent breakfast each morning that was absolutely out of this world.The hotel is located only a few metres from the center of town and the beach.I would strongly recommend this hotel to anybody that is willing to vacation in positano.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night (Oct 7th 2012) at Marincanto and had a perfect experience. When we checked in, Antonella upgraded us to a room with picture perfect view overlooking the Mediterranean with excellent views of the charming town of Positano. The room had a jacuzzi with a window with the same exquisite view (see photo). The room was romantic, clean, roomy and modern. The bathroom facilities were top quality, as well. But the view...the view...was like heaven. My husband told me that we paid less than what we paid for a recent stay at the DuPont Hotel in Wilmington, Delaware a couple of months ago. We're talking Wilmington, Delware versus Positano, Italy! Mama mia what a deal! Further, the breakfast was very nice with a spread that included meats, fresh vegetables, breads, juices, etc. The entire staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, particularly Antonella and Rafaella. We were only in Italy 5 days, and this experience was by far and away the most pleasant. There is absolutely nothing I can tell you that is negative, and quite frankly, I can be rather critical if things aren't right. I highly recommend anyone to stay at the Marincanto. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: There is an elevator at the street level that will take you down to the front desk. No need to go d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a lovely family owned hotel with a loyal staff most of whom have worked there for many years. They did everything they could to make our stay the perfect short break.
Antonella was very helpful booking taxis, a concert and advising on boat timetables. Rita and Lisa were hugely friendly and nothing was too much trouble and Gianni who looked after the sun loungers and pool was always there to provide fresh towels and a little snack of fresh fruit salad and to make sure the sun loungers were perfectly positioned.
The room was lovely, large and bright with a balcony and wonderful view over the bay. The terrace is to die for with its lemon and olive trees. We ate breakfast and lunch there in October and also one dinner. There could be nowhere lovelier or more peaceful to dine on the Amalfi coast.
It is a five minute walk down the road to the centre of the town and all the restaurants and shops and an alternative route is down the steps to the beach for a swim in the sea.
There are lots of lovely places to visit nearby. We caught the boat to Amalfi and had the most delicious lemon pasta in a tiny beach restaurant. We travelled on up to Ravello in a local bus and attended a lovely concert at the Villa Ruffolo and we visited Ischia and William Walton's beautiful garden designed to cover a hillside.
I think it would have been nice to have had a little more fresh fruit at breakfast as some of what was on offer was not really ripe but there was a huge breakfast buffet to choose from and nice light Italian food on offer at lunchtime.
We will certainly be returning next year and look forward to a warm welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.