We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel - Great Location - Great Staff !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel - Albergo California Positano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel - Albergo California Positano to your Saves list
Hotel - Albergo California Positano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via C Colombo, 141, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb hotel - Great Location - Great Staff !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel fr 6 nights and loved every moment - and will definitely return there ! Our room was large, with a terrace overlooking the Amalfi coast - it was living in a dream !! All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful - and the bar was open at any time !! Just a wonderful place to stay - highly recommend to anyone who wants a boutique hotel, within walking distance of everything in Positano !

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground level, with our own large terrace - it was perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    99
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
68
249
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Positano for 4 nights and was the first stop of our 2 week honeymoon. We booked a room at Albergo California and we are so happy we did. We loved everything about this place! The staff was so helpful and nice and assisted us with luggage upon arrival and when again we left. This place felt like home. The breakfast is basic but good to start the day. The location is perfect and close to everything especially the beach. We had a balcony room overlooking the water and it was amazing. Wine is priced the best at this hotel and very good. If I were to ever come back to Positano I would 100% stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Loved staying here. Great location, amazing views, above and beyond service in a warm family run atmosphere. Gianni is a wonderful person. Patient, helpful, always ready with suggestions on what to do and places to eat. Upon arrival we were shown to our room by his niece Maria and just after checking in we were warmly greeted by the other Maria. This is a hotel that is run a by happy, warm and friendly clan who make you feel welcome at every turn. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed exceptional. You can get a better price if you are willing to sacrifice the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had 8 wonderful nights at Hotel California. There was nothing that we asked for that was too much beginning with Gianni welcoming us as we arrived at 2am to check us in and carry our bags to recommending restaurants, assisting us with train and bus timetables and finally getting up at 4am to check out and help us with our luggage down to the car! Maria at reception was extremely helpful, lovely and friendly.

Our room on the second level was awesome with two balconies overlooking what must be one of the most picturesque views in the world. The room was large and spotlessly clean every day. We had a wonderful cooked breakfast each morning on the terrace where we were always warmly welcomed by the staff.

We slept with the balcony doors open every night and we hardly noticed the street noise and were woken each morning to the sound of the sea on the pebbly beach.

We have been back but 3 days and I am wishing we were still there! I will definitely go back to Albergo California if I was to return to Positano! It was truly delightful.

Room Tip: We had room 58 and would highly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We drove there and as soon as we stopped we were greeted and asked if they wanted them to park the car. They did and brought our luggage directly to the room. Check in was fast and friendly. While we were there any questions we had on the area were answered with much information. All of the staff was quite friendly. The room was spotless and the view amazing. WE spent four days there and wished it could have been two weeks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrara
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I had a picture in my mind of what I wanted Positano to be and our stay at California Hotel was everything I had dreamed of. Maria in reception was so lovely and helpful and everything ( including restaurant bookings, shuttles, transfers) was organised without a hitch. If you are unsure about where to stay in Positano, this hotel was perfect - not too high up as some of the others may be - it's about mid way up the main part. The view was so good we kept looking out and laughing in disbelief and joy!

Room Tip: Room 52 worked well for us but it is the first room on the main terrace so could be noisy with guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We returned to Positano with friends to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary and this time stayed at Albergo California.
The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely taken outside on the terrace overlooking the sea. The only downside was that, probably due to all floors being tiled and no carpets to deaden the noise, the hotel was very noisy when people moved around, closed doors etc.
We'd definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#17 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#24 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#1 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#2 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#14 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel - Albergo California Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel - Albergo California Positano

Address: Via C Colombo, 141, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Positano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel - Albergo California Positano 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel - Albergo California Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo California Positano
Hotel California Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel - Albergo California Positano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.