We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel - Albergo California Positano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel - Albergo California Positano to your Saves list
Hotel - Albergo California Positano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via C Colombo, 141, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

we spent 7 great days in positano. at the end of may 2014 a wonderful family run hotel ,we were a bit worried about noise as we were on the ground floor,but we needed not have worried sea views are terrific ,lovely room ,great having breakfast looking over positana and the ocean.would not hesitate to recommend ,fantastic place and family. love to come again,robert and carole salomons

Room Tip: we loved our ground floor room, no stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    80
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
57
195
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful family run hotel for 5 nights and I cannot say enough good things about it! When our stay was up we were sad to leave. The family that runs the hotel is very nice and helpful. Maria was wonderful checking us in, Giuseppe helped with a dinner reservation at La Terra( a must .. Great views and food) and John ( the 5th) was always pleasant and took time to see if we were happy and if we needed anything. Our room was immaculately clean and the AC worked great.. We had a lovely balcony with fabulous views that we enjoyed sitting on in the evening. Breakfast was perfect for getting us started plus you could order off a menu if you desired more but what they offered as a continental breakfast was fine for us. We used their beach towels .. Very nice touch to have those. We spent a day at Fornillo beach .. Cheap chairs and umbrella there plus great little beach places to eat.. It's a smaller local beach and a little farther from hotel but we are in our 60s and handled the walk just fine. We loved Bruno's , Tre Sorelle, da Vincenzo , and chez black ...loved Positano and Hotel California ! This is a great location and we cannot wait to return!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

What a great experience! Positano in general was our favorite location (we stayed in Sorrento and Capri) and this hotel just added to our wonderful experience. We stayed here 4 nights and wished it was longer! Maria was incredibly helpful with sightseeing, restaurant recommendations and directions. Our room was HUGE and we had the most amazing view. It got a little loud with the doors open at night but we didn't mind the noise because the view made up for it! The breakfast was decent and you can order off a menu and pay for eggs. They also make a really good cappuccino! The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location was perfect as it was an easy walk down to the beach. A truly wonderful experience, highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for four nights in May - the rooms are lovely and large, and waking up to the view from our balcony (room 59) each morning was simply stunning. Highly recommend a sea view room as the view is priceless. The shutters do an amazing job of blocking out light and sound if needed but I was reluctant to close as I loved waking up to the sea. Maria and John were wonderful hosts, extremely professional and very friendly, they helped us book dinner reservations each night as well as a cruise out to Capri. The view from the lovely patio for breakfast was gorgeous too. For a warm and welcoming stay with amazing views, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and sea view- you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel California for 6 nights and had a wonderful experience. In terms of location, it is hard to fault. Sweeping views across the water and the buildings in the town centre, right near a flight of stairs that takes you down to the centre of the town and also near to a bus stop. Every night, a band would play at the restaurant below and so we could just sit on our terrace and listen and watch the passing parade of people. Our room was huge! High ceilings and plenty of space to spread out. We even had our own roped off terrace that i am sure was the envy of other guests!
The staff were ever so helpful, giving us maps and ferry and bus time tables. They also explained how to get to places, booked our capri tour for us and even took our laundry to be done and delivered the same day (for 20 euro, but the convenience and efficiency was worth it).
The only negatives, if any, were the wi-fi - it was sporadic at best and very slow. The water in the shower and out of the tabs wasn't very hot - luke warm at best and the breakfast was only very basic (only unripe fruit and cakes/meat/cheese/stale cereal) - we just got fruit from the local store and supplemented with the yoghurt provided.- but we overlooked that for the many positives of this beautiful hotel.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Very friendly staff at the hotel the views from the balcony are fantastic.
The breakfast is lovely and plenty of it. The rooms are very spacious and cleaned daily.
I would definitely return ! There is a lot of steps so probably not suitable for elderly.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this very nice hotel. We particularly enjoyed the comfortable terrace with views of the ocean and the town where you could relax, enjoy a drink and/or look out over the meandering tourists. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet was good, not great. The room was spacious, with tall ceilings and very clean. The location is very close to the beach/center. In all it seemed a good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel - Albergo California Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel - Albergo California Positano

Address: Via C Colombo, 141, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Positano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel - Albergo California Positano 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel - Albergo California Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo California Positano
Hotel California Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel - Albergo California Positano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.