We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay and wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel - Albergo California Positano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel - Albergo California Positano to your Saves list
Hotel - Albergo California Positano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via C Colombo, 141, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Positano
East Berne, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay and wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel California very much! Due to a mix-up with our preference request, we ended up staying in three different rooms. The hotel staff tried their best to make up for the mix-up and were successful! All three of the rooms were delightful. They were all very spacious with wonderful views from each of the balconies. Johnny, Maria, Antonio, Renato and the ladies at breakfast were wonderfully attentive to our needs. We very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to other travelers to Positano.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd Floor rooms offer better view, more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    84
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
60
208
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Albergo California during our 10 day trip to Italy. We loved the setting of this hotel. Our room on the second floor was decorated simple in pastel colors. We had a great view and the staff was very accommodating during our stay. We enjoyed Bruno's restaurant that was only several steps away for dinner. We definately plan to return to Positano and this is where we plan to stay! Ciao!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor for the best view and less noise from the cars driving b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We loved our stay at Albergo California! The staff are all very helpful and kind, and I can't say enough about the views! The location is truly perfect...if you are going to stay in Positano, I would highly recommend staying here!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 65, which was a quadruple room and all that was available when we booked. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had the staff were amazing and the hotel was spotless we felt like we were the only guests staying there. nothing was ever too much trouble they were always there on hand to help with any questions that we had. you will look hard and long to find a hotel like this in such a beautiful setting. well worth looking at the website and if you are heading to positano this is a must stay for sure.

We also stayed in rome at a sheraton and were sadly unimpressed but thats another review.

Room Tip: we had room 67 was huge and the best view with not too many steps to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Room was spacious and spotless, as was the bathroom.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful. We even met the owner who came and introduced herself at breakfast.
Spectacular views.
Good restaurant just next door and handy to the bus stops.
Town centre is only a short walk away, but plenty of stairs.
We were on the ground floor and found it very noisy. Between the road and the inconsiderate guests who have to talk at the top of their voices regardless of the time of day as they pass by the rooms. We barely slept whilst there.

Room Tip: Ground floor is noisy, but you can get the free WiFi there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Family run establishment in a great location, not cheap but what is in Positano. This was our second visit, rooms are pleasant all with breathtaking views. But you don't stay there for the breakfast best to seek other options in that regard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Located almost in the middle of everything in Positano, the views are incredible .
The rooms are spacious and spotless, with all basic amenities including AC. They also provide parking (provided) that you request it at the time of reservation, this is important since is impossible to get a parking spot in this town.
Included breakfast is basic, but nice ( bread, pastries, fruit, coffee).
The hotel is run by a very nice family, who are always willing to help.
Absolutely recommended

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel - Albergo California Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel - Albergo California Positano

Address: Via C Colombo, 141, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Positano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel - Albergo California Positano 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel - Albergo California Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo California Positano
Hotel California Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel - Albergo California Positano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.