We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but Sparse Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vittoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vittoria to your Saves list
Vittoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fornillo 19, 84017, Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Positano
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location but Sparse Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the end of our three week Europe vacation. The room was smallish, little decor, but cool. Our balcony was big and the view was great. The only problem is you need to walk down approximately 74 steps to get to the hotel and 274 steps down to the beach (bring water shoes). Location is great as you can walk to the center of town and if you wish take a bus back. Daniella (front desk) was fantastic. She recommended restaurants and a unbelievable tour guide (Charmlimos). Breakfast was not so good as the variety of items was extremely limited.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
w.p.bch. fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in early July '14. This was not our first choice but Vittoria was great. Positano is built on the side of a mountain and for the most part all views are great. Here they where fabulous. It is quiet and has it's own semi private beach. (254 steps down!!). Our room (74) was large with a nice scenic balcony. Breakfast was continental and acceptable. The real find was the receptionist Daniella. This young lady is a saint. Her knowledge and disposition are immeasurable. What a gem. If she wanted to come to the US I would hire her.
In close proximity to the hotel are a number of excellent dining options, not requiring long walks or a bus ride. One evening we chanced upon our first hotel choice and are we glad we were unable to be booked there. Vittoria is a solid choice for any type of traveler or length of stay. Caio..

Room Tip: We were on floor three. I believe room prices may vary on location and size. We booked through an on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plantmanW_p_bch_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is such a sweet, beautiful, and unpretentious hotel in the stunning town of Positano. It's a white stucco building perched on a cliff overlooking the Mediterranean. .The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. The ac worked well and the showers are large and never wanting in water pressure. We spent 5 nights and had a partial sea view which was perfect. From our private terrace we had an ideal view of both the sea and the charming town. The continental breakfast included fresh fruit, a generous assortment of breads and pastries, cheese, salami and the best cappuccinos ever. Breakfast is served on a patio with magnificent views draped with bouganvillas. Salvatore quickly got to know my obsession with his double expressos and would have it ready for me without asking. Daniella's smile lit up the room and she was always happy to help with restaurant and travel suggestions. In fact, all the staff without exception were welcoming and helpful.

The smaller semi private beach is infinitely better than the overcrowded primary beach on the other side of town. But be prepared to walk - a lot: 250 steep steps down and up to get to the beach. There is also an slightly easier walk along the beach to the public beach and then through town. Walking ALOT is the Positano way of life and is unavoidable so don't hold it against Hotel Vittoria. And although it is tucked away on a little perch, it was not difficult to find as all the locals know of it and are very willing to help you find it. The porter can help you lug all your suitcases. Do avail yourself of his help so you don't wear yourself out before your stay has begun.

I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. We will be back for sure

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights while sightseeing through Italy. Positano and the entire Amalfi coast is simply amazing.

First the location: there is a main road going along the coast and a single (one-way) road which goes through town off of this main road. First winding down as close to the beach as cars can get and then winding back up. This sort of divides Positano into two "sides". By choosing Hotel Vittoria you are choosing to stay on the quieter side of Positano, away from the larger restaurants, larger beach, concentration of shops etc., BUT you are by no means far away (it is a small town), and some of the best parts of Positano are right by the hotel. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is directly on a walking path down to the smaller, less crowded, second beach in town. It is also just a short stroll (past many great restaurants and shops) to the downtown area (less than 10 min). In our minds the location is perfect.

The Hotel: Very well kept, beautiful hotel which looks down on part of Positano (you're up away from downtown remember) and the Mediterranean. We booked a Superior room with a terrace for two nights and a room with only a balcony for two nights. Both were amazing (HUGE compared to rooms in Florence, Milan, and Rome), beautifully tiled, and with spectacular views. Breakfast also has a spectacular view from a dining area that opens up onto a large terrace. I cannot emphasize enough that none of the pictures of the hotel views, Positano, or the Amalfi in general are tricks. The scenery is absolutely stunning. Breakfast was as nice in content as atmosphere. The gentleman who serves the coffee is truly hospitable.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and neither should you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewtd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Where to even begin!
I can hands down say Hotel Vittoria is my new favorite hotel ever!
Taking everything into account, the staff, the views, the private beach club. It was beyond any and all expectations! Upon arrival, they will set up a porter for you. These men are amazing! They can carry hundreds of pounds luggage as if it's nothing at all!

We walked in and were greeted by Daniella (The most amazing, hospitable, helpful hotel staffer I've ever encountered!) She showed us to our room, which was SO spacious! Lovely sea view balcony. It said partial, but it was pretty much the entire ocean!

After this, we walked down to Pupetto Beach Bar, which is a little heaven away from the insanely crowded main beach of Positano! It seemed like a lot of the Italian locals come and stay on this side of town, to get away from the crazy tourists! Not to mention, if you are a guest of Vittoria, you get 10% off of everything! BEST MOJITOS I've ever had! It's only a short 7 min walk into town (We timed it) and there you can find all the italian shops, gelato, ect!

The Hotel has very many good restaurants near it as well if you don't feel like walking into town! Daniella helped us with all of our reservations! She even booked us a scooter to enjoy the Amalfi Coast on! All in all our experience was nothing short of magic!

I will miss wine on the upper deck, and our amazing rain shower with a view! My boyfriend and I both agreed it;s our favorite place we've ever been, and want to get back to Positano as soon as possible, and there is no doubt we will stay at Hotel Vittoria again! Thank you Daniella and staff for making this stay the best part of our three week trip!

Till Next Time!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadanHuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Upon arrival we were welcomed by a young woman who was so friendly and kind! We had a bit of difficulty finding the place (it's not obvious when you get off the boat), and I definitely recommend getting a porter to bring your luggage there, unless you're fine bringing it up hills and stairs.

The front desk woman (I wish I could remember her name, she was wonderful!) explained how to get to the beach, where the restaurant is, how to get to the main town, etc., and even gave us a map. She then took us to the room which she had upgraded for us for our honeymoon. It was stunning! The room was huge, open, and airy, the bathroom was beautifully tiled, and the best part was our private patio with lounge chairs, overlooking the town and the ocean. Gorgeous!

The stairs down to the beach and restaurant were lengthy if you're not used to stairs, but otherwise a fun adventure! I do believe the hotel used to have a lift to the beach, but it's either out of service or inoperable at this time (I noticed they crossed it out on their brochures). No big deal for us, but maybe a concern if you have mobility challenges or difficulty with stairs (there's over 200). The restaurant was amazing! We ate there every night because the service and food were so good! We also ate there quite late, and were the only patrons dining there at the time, but the staff made no actions to rush us out or hurry our dining experience. The beach owned by the hotel is much nicer than the main beach in Positano! For 10 Euro (a good deal on the Amalfi coast!) you can rent a towel, chair, and umbrella, and for another 10 or so they will bring you a litre of wine to enjoy at your chair. The swimming was wonderful!

Upon checkout, the woman at the front desk had called porters for us to take our luggage, as well as checked on our car service to make sure they were on time. A very special touch of service! While we were in the lobby, I overheard her greeting guests in Italian, French, English, and German! She's so service driven, welcoming, and kind! She's a real gem, and she made our stay very pleasant!

I wouldn't hesitate to go back to Vittoria at all!

Room Tip: From what we could see, most had an ocean view or partial ocean view. Ask if you're not sure. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v_island_gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Vittoria is a lovely hotel and we would return without hesitation. The rooms were extremely spacious, very clean and the view from the large balcony was second to none (we were very excited when we arrived and were shown the view by the hotel staff!). Breakfast each day was a lovely experience, so relaxed and once again you get to enjoy a continental breakfast with a spectacular view from the terrace.
The staff were helpful and friendly.

The only one negative that we found was that it was very expensive to extend our room on the last day (check out was 11am and we needed to leave at 5pm), the charge was 95 euros (half of the room rate) which to us was a bit too expensive for a couple of showers before catching our flight. In the end we had to change in a very small and hot toilet room with no shower facilities. It would be good if they could find a way to offer better facilities or some how reduce the rate of a late check out in the future.

The 250 plus steps to the beach were fun, and kept us fit during our stay. Didn't feel too guilty eating all of the pizza and pasta!

All in all we had an amazing time, the hotel is so close to the best restaurants in the area but is still in a beautiful, quiet and relaxing location. Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#15 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Bougainville
Hotel La Bougainville
#20 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#24 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pupetto
Hotel Pupetto
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vittoria

Address: Via Fornillo 19, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Vittoria 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittoria Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing