We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vittoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vittoria to your Saves list
Vittoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fornillo 19, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Houston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ok, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very basic, not romantic at all. The many pictures of the view are from the lobby/restaurant. Our room had no view, at all. It was very small. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean enough. The wi-fi worked in the lobby, but not the room. Every time you leave the hotel you have to walk down 15 flights, and every time you go back to the hotel you have to walk back up those 15 flights. We went for our honeymoon, I wish we would have picked a nicer place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    42
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Beautiful, clean hotel in a great location! High enough to be out of the crowd, and have a lovely view ! Great breakfast included, in a dining room with a panoramic vista ! Staff is charming and sweet , and very helpful !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Vittoria for 3 nights. The steps up to this place are unreal! I read about how many steps there was before & just ignored it thinking it was some out of shape people complaining. Also figured the elevator would be fixed by time we got there. Just the steps from the restaurant & hotel below was over 240. This didn't include the other steps, walking up the hill, around the corner & down in the tunnel. My husband is super fit & even he was singing a new version of a Killers song- "Breaking my back cuz I booked a room, 240 steps & I had it with this game". We really started to dread coming back, then we found out about the road up above. So then it made it a lot better. So we walked up maybe a few flights of stairs to the road above. Then we walked down to town that way. Which was very lovely with cute stores & cafes along the road. Then we took the bus back & dropped us off right at the top of the stairs. After finding this out we really enjoyed it.

We did enjoyed our stay here. We feel that this place has a lot more potential. We realize that there are a lot of expenses that come with owning a hotel & lots of work. It is easy for someone from the outside to say what should be done but this is what we thought. If they did a few things we think that they could charge a lot more per night. It really is a pretty hotel. It has a lot going for it. The room are a nice size and clean. The bathroom is very attractive with Italian tile work & counter tops and the ceilings are beautiful. Then the patios are great with amazing views. But it need a little more decoration. Even simple things like pictures, or better patio furniture. Then they really need to either fix the elevator to the beach or put in a pool. It is too many steps to the beach & too hot. And they need to put wifi in the rooms, not just common area.

Also the common area and breakfast area was really nice. Open & airy. The breakfast was good with tasty capuccinos.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in a triple room that was very very spacious - that was a very nice surprise. The room had a balcony overlooking the amazing Tirreno sea, and also a very spacious bathroom, with a strong shower. The decoration is simple, but good. For us, the location of the hotel was also good. While it is a 15 min walk from the city center - through the cars, I may add - the walk is done overlooking amazing areas, making it all very pleasant. Beware for you not to miss the entrance to the hotel. It is a narrow side street near some parking areas that can be missed by some as it is not an obvious street. We were all three women and walking back to the hotel late at night was absolutely no problem. For those interested in accessing Fornillo beach (Spiaggia del Fornillo), the hotel is located some 250+ steps above it. It is perfect for swimming and also to avoid the more crowded areas. I thought this was a very strong asset. Just reminding everyone there is no wifi in the room but instead in the common areas. Breakfast is basic and simple. As I am not the breakfast person, thought it to be good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was very impressed by this hotel. We stayed in room 77 and it was a large room with a gigantic balcony overlooking the cliff town. The room was clean and spacious with a mini fridge and we even had a couch. One of the hostess's, Daniela was great for recommending restaurants and helping us book transportation off the island when we sadly had to leave. I would stay at this hotel every time I go back to Positano. The only thing I would have liked is a softer bed, but from my experience, all of Europe seems to sleep on stiff beds.
Once you go down the elevator to the bottom, the beach is about 220 steps down and it has a bar where you can charge drinks and the chairs to your room. This beach is nice and quieter from the larger beach in town but there were still kayak rentals and other things to do.
Breakfast in the morning was wonderful with pastries, meat, cheese, fruit, rolls, juice, cereal, and fabulous cappuccinos. The guy working the breakfast never seemed to stop working as we would see him downstairs at the bar during the day. The breakfast balcony was also gigantic and had a beautiful veiw of the water and the mountain. A great way to wake up!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel Vittoria made our trip to Positano everything we could have wished for. Our room was stunning, tranquil and comfortable with a breathtaking view of the sea from the spacious terrace. Daniela was outgoing and always friendly, providing directions and suggestions, and even towels for the beach. Breakfast was fresh and we were never without a warm cappuccino during the meal, thanks to the kind and attentive gentleman making it, whose name we unfortunately did not get.

The whole hotel had a friendly and peaceful ambiance- it felt small but very well-run, and for the great price, we consider it a total bargain. The steps to the quiet beach below were a feature we enjoyed, as Vittoria has its beautiful two-hundred step private pathway, which provides opportunity to stop and take in the view from many perspectives on treks to and from the beach.

We were only able to stay for two nights, but have been dreaming of our return to Positano ever since, and of our happy return to Hotel Vittoria.

Room Tip: Pay just a little bit more to get a room with a terrace with a sea view. It is magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here based on recommendations from friends who love it. We had the best room with an immense terrace overlooking the sea. The hostess, Daniela was more than helpful for everything. We had dinner at the affiliated hotel restaurant below on the private beach. It's one of the few restaurants that has an elevator down to the beach, though it was out of commission while we were there, so be prepared to walk the steps like everywhere else in Positano.
The rooms are darling. We loved the privacy of the location. And there's boat taxis from the beach to the central beach. (even a free one). Overall we thought this hotel was very charming!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vittoria

Address: Via Fornillo 19, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vittoria 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittoria Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vittoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.