We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vittoria

Save Saved
You added Vittoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vittoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fornillo 19, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 41 hotels in Positano
Port Charlotte FL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A wonderful and beautiful place to stay. Upon arriving by ferry from Sorrento, we walked up a few stairs to fing an information booth. Asked where the Hotel Vittoria was, they said to go up past the chirch to the main square and find taxis waiting. We grabbed the first one and they dropped us off at the top of the hill. We had to walk down 76 steps to the hotel. Once inside we overlooked the bay, what a sight! Daniela greeted us and we immediately felt welcomed. We went to our rooms and found a balcony overlooking the city and partial view of the water. We had rooms 77 and 85, would recommend them. We stayed 2 nights (not long enough). After dropping offmour suitcases we went back down to the main square to do a little sightseeing. Walked back up the stairs, couldn't count, there was way too many, and asked Daniela if we could order a pizza. She was so acccomodating, calling the pizza restaurant and ordering the pizzas for us. We ordered 2 bottles of wine from her and she placed them on our table. She was such a sweetie! The next night we ordered pizza again, we LOVED it. Wonderful place to stay, breakfast is wonderful and the view is unbelievable!

Room Tip: Ask for a porter upon arrival at marina to take your bags up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    36
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A room with a balcony is reasonable, cozy and clean. You won't notice that it’s small. Even a view of the hillside villas is remarkable. It’s a short walk from the street to reception; so you may want to ask for help to carry in luggage. The hotel offers a complimentary continental breakfast with excellent cappuccino on their ocean view veranda. For fine dining, there are plenty of expensive Positano restaurants to experience with the money you save on the room.

Vittoria is in a great location if you don’t mind walking to town and if you plan to visit other famous sites. It’s also one of the few hotels with an elevator to the beach. The main tiny elevator will take you down to a second one that leads to a convenient beach for sunbathing. Or, from there you can take the spectacular long downhill walk to the primary beach and town, Spiaggia Grande, where you arrive to colorful umbrellas, restaurants, shops and ferries to Amalfi, Capri and Sorrento. At the end of the walk, booths selling ferry tickets are on the west side facing the sea. They also sell tickets for a direct boat to Naples, where you can take fast trains to Rome, Milan and other cities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A group of six of us was luckily enough to secure the three top floor balcony rooms with massive balconies, very large rooms and bathrooms and great views of the ocean, the town of Positano and the hills. And everyday we pinched ourselves.

The staff at the hotel Vittoria were the most amazing of people we met in Italy. Words like friendly, courteous, informative, receptive come to mind. From the front desk staff to the breakfast personnel to the room cleaners, we could not fault any. Nor had we cause to look for faults.

The Hotel Vittoria is located at the western side of Positano half way between the beach and the winding road down to the centre of town. Breakfast was clouding in our excellent priced rom rate and was always enjoyable. The hotel does not provide any other meals, but does serve coffee and tea on request. Below the hotel at beach level, there are a number of restaurants associated with the Vittoria. Also within 100m there is a large range of wonderful eating places, within 200m a lot more and of course further into the town centre on the beach quite a large selection to chose from.

Walking to the town centre can be done by a 1/2km walk down the main road or via the beautiful stairway descent to the beach and 300m walk along the beach path.

Highly recommended. For us the icing on the cake for our stay in the beautiful part of the world. The group of us stayed for 10 nights and enjoyed every one.

Room Tip: Being off season the room rate was open to negotiation. To the benefit of all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a great hotel - the location is great only a short bus ride to the city centre or a short walk, the views are stunning, even with the partial sea view room. The staff is more than excellent and were more than happy to help out.There is a lovely restaurant in front of the beach just down the steps and you get a discount!! We are so pleased with our stay and are coming back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked a room with a balcony and view. Parking is 200m up the road but a porter will bring and take your bags. You need to give 1 hr notice to retrieve your car. Helpful staff,good breakfast and very clean.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for a room with a view and balcony - it's worth it to sit out at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife, 4yr old daughter and I recently stayed at Vittoria.We stayed there on a recommendation from my wife who stayed there 8 years ago. Our room was right on the corner with a massive balcony overlooking the ocean on one side and the hillside on the other. The room was a good size with a large bathroom. Rooms were always kept very clean. Breakfast every morning was very good with a fantastic view. You have to walk up or down a fiew step to get to the street or beach, but thats the nature of Positano.
We will defiantly stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Arriving at Vittoria our driver called reception to ask them to send a porter to assist with our bags (as the hotel is not directly accessible from the road). Our driver was unhappy with the response from reception; they would 'see what they could do'. In the end we carried our own bags down the stairs.

The room is very sparsely furnished and the bathrooms are very old. No maintenance had been done on the rusting external door next to our bedroom. Nevertheless, the sea view in the partial sea view rooms is quite good. However, there is no privacy on the balcony and when looking towards the sea everyone's balcony is visible. Breakfast is from 8-10, even on weekends. I'm not sure why breakfast does not go later when the breakfast room is not used for any other purpose later in the day and all travellers are leisure travellers. The breakfast is continental but very limited. Putting aside pastries there are 2 cuts of meat and 1 of cheese.

Housekeeping began at 9am on the dot and there is no way to sleep through it. The staff rattle their trolleys along the tiled floors and slam the doors. Unfortunately the housekeeping still managed to miss things such as new soap and extra toilet paper. When we asked reception if some more toilet paper could be placed in our room we were handed a roll at the reception desk. At €135/night this is unacceptable.

When staying here previously there was a lift to the beach. This is now switched off. Asking around the town we were informed that this is the result of a family feud between the Vittorias and the Pupettos (who own a hotel on the beach at the bottom of the lift). It's a pity this cannot be resolved for the benefit of the guests.

After 6 nights in Positano I am adamant there is better value and more smiles available elsewhere in Positano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vittoria

Address: Via Fornillo 19, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 hotels in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vittoria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittoria Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vittoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.