We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pupetto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Pupetto to your Saves list
Hotel Pupetto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fornillo 37, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Positano
NewJersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Pros: on the rocky beach, lovely views, good restaurant, access to beautiful walk along the coast to the main beach, privately family owned (Gabriela lovely), clean,housekeeping staff excellent, interesting to get to (350) steps down. good exercise, quite location fairly priced. Cons: Hotel is dated, very small shower with shower curtain clinging to you as you shower, not good for tall people, rocky beach not easy on feet, must pay for lounging chairs and umbrella, breakfast needs major improvement, provide better information regarding tours in area, i.e.: getting to Ravello, Capri, Sorrento, Amalfi, Overall enjoyed stay and exploration. Need a good pair of flat walking shoes. Yes, we would recommend if you your not to fussy. Also, good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    85
    29
    4
    4
See reviews for
55
101
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Pupetto was wonderful. It's an ideal place to stay if you want easy access to the beach. The hotel itself is on the water with the main town being no more than a 5 minute scenic walk away. The rooms are simple. They have everything you need. My advice would be to book a room with a sea view. You won't regret it. And the staff is extremely helpful!

Also, the beach here was much less crowded and felt more private than the other. That's exactly what we were looking for.

My suggestion would be to bring your own hair dryer. Theirs are not very powerful!

Room Tip: Book a room on the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had a great stay here. Friendly staff, beach close by with relaxed beach restaurants, nice sea view, short walk into Positano, nice hotel restaurant, very good value for Money, nice way to stay away from the Positano Center crowds...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love Amalfi towns like Positano but hate feeling too close to the 24-7 mass tourism machine so Pupetto was perfect. Sleepy hotel, nice staff, great little beach, awesome room from our bed/balcony. Absolutely loved the restaurant and cafe, staff were all very charming. I think if they made the rooms a little nicer and improved the breakfast offering to match lunch/dinner quality, then Pupetto would be absolutely perfect. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

While looking for a five day, "get away" vacation, my wife and I both agreed on Hotel Pupetto in Positano. Having visted Spaggia Fornillo (where the hotel is situated) six years ago, we knew the location was ideal. It's an easy 10 minute walk from the main beach and crowds of Positano and it was the best 5 days we ever spent doing "nothing"!

Our room (sea view double) was lareger than most rooms we've experienced in Italy. The large French doors opened to a balcony where we shared our afternoon wine and our late nights, listening to the sound of waves, gently breaking on the pebbled beach.

The hotel staff were ALL extremely friendly and could not do enough to make our stay comfortable. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. .The large bathroom included a full size tub with shower head and hand held nozzle, a bidet, and toliet. The room was equipped with an air conditioner that I used only once during our five nights. The sea breeze and lack of insects meant that we could leave the doors open all night.

Unfortunately, we dined only once at the hotel's restaurant. We saved this for our last night but I would have eaten there more frequently had I known it was so good. It far exceeded our expectations and the sea view setting is one of the best in Positano.

I will definitely return to Hotel Pupetto!

Room Tip: Opt for the sea view room w/ balcony. Rooms closer to the hotel desk will be a bit more quiet. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Spent 4 nights in pupetto, this hotel is excellent, great location, very relaxing and great restaurant. The rooms are basic but spotless with great views, more than adequate and very comfortable. The staff were great and we had the best meal of our stay in hotel restaurant, beautiful! Was very glad I chose this hotel rather than one on the hill!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in hotel Pupetto in August, after a friend recommended it.
The location is perfect, right on top of the Fornillo beach in Positano, a lot better than the big beach.

The hotel is not fancy, just very clean and good size rooms with a great terrace overlooking the beach.

The staff was extremely friendly, they helped us booking trips and restaurants and were very handy after Naples airport lost our suitcases.

The rooms are not cheap, but nothing is cheap in the Amalfi coast. We will definitely recommended it and will stay here again once we return to Positano.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pupetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pupetto

Address: Via Fornillo 37, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#24 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pupetto 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pupetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pupetto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pupetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.