We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“laid back and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pupetto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pupetto to your Saves list
Hotel Pupetto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fornillo 37, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Positano
northampton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“laid back and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have been coming to this family run hotel for many years and it feels almost like a second home. We love it and so has every one we have brought here. There is no better place to wake up and step onto the verandah or terrace and gasp at the view; no better place to sit at your table in the restaurant and marvel at the sun on Priano or the moon reflecting on the bay; no better place for lunch or a drink than in the beach bar down the steps and no better place for people watching than the beach. The hotel was built in the 1950s and the original rooms on the first floor are still the nicest in my opinion. They are simple and well proportioned and you can lay in bed and see and hear the sea. The family and staff are kind and helpful, work very hard and care about service. If you are looking for high priced ostentatious luxury this is not for you, but if you want a laid back, relaxing holiday in a gorgeous spot right on the beach with real people you will love it. The beach is pebble so take shoes to go into the water for swimming. The loungers and parasols can be hired for 7 euros each and are laid out in ranks, which is not to everyones taste but nice for reading, sunbathing and people watching. The price includes showers and changing facilities but with your room a few seconds away you may not need these.
If you are not hiring a car (scary) get a taxi from the airport as public transport takes all day and is tiring. Travelling to Naples, to Pompeii or other sites is difficult or time consuming without a car, but can be done. You can enjoy boat trips to Amalfi, Salerno, Capri and Sorrento or take the local bus to Montepertuso and Nocelle for wonderful walks and restaurants. Positano itself is a gentle walk along the coast path, it is very touristy and expensive, but beautiful and unique.
To reach this hotel, which is only accessible on foot or by boat you will need to take advice from the hotel, and it is not suitable for people with limited mobility. As ever, people have varying expectations and it may not be for you, but, to us it is heaven.

Room Tip: Some rooms have larger terraces, some have small balconies for sitting out on. All have sea views. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    86
    29
    5
    4
See reviews for
54
111
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My fiancee booked this hotel once again with advice from TA.

I had a friend's wedding to go to in Italy and since there was only one flight a week from our nearest airport, we decided to stay a week.

We arranged a taxi pick up from Naples airport via the hotel. A friendly driver in a black Mercedes drove the 1.5 hrs to Positano from the airport. Agreed rate was 110 Euros- steep I know, but we arrived late and weren't keen to drive plus the Italians are crazy drivers!

We arrived at an alleyway above the hotel on a one way road and waited till a porter arrived to escort us to the hotel. This involved going downhill through multiple steps and paths and via a lift through another hotel because Hotel Pupetto is literally on the beach, or just above it.

We were lucky to arrive on the same day as the Annual Fish Festival and witnessed a spectacular fireworks display and they managed to serve us some food despite the kitchen officially being closed. Our room was in the heart of the action so we decided to do some sightseeing as we couldn't sleep- was nice to see the locals having fun.

Our room was basic but habitable. Unfortunately our A/C was on the blink because it was activated by the balcony door closing, but the door didn't close very well. The night staff man was so helpful and even offered us his fan as the weather was tres hot!

Positano central is a mere 10 minute walk from Pupetto on a coastal path which is well lit at night. It was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the centre. The hotel has it's own beach with it's own Cafe Pupetto with helpful and friendly staff. No problems finding a sunbed, though it does cost 5 Euros for the day, but you do get a towel. The sea wwas quite warm to swim in, BUT BE WARNED!- the beach is a pebble beach and getting in/out of the water can be painful for your feet- I recommend getting rock shoes. Other beaches seem to be sandy, but not golden- more brownish!

Breakfast was simple and tasty and staff to tend to remember what you like after a few days. Dinner was very good especially as they have their own pizza oven on-site. Seafood is their specialty locally!

Reception staff were also very helpful and friendly. We had a Pompeii/ Vesuvius trip arranged through them, although we failed to get enough info about the day, but maybe that was our fault.

One thing to remember- generally all taxi/ coach pick ups are in Positano Central near the Farmacia- so if you are intending to go for a trip, you need to factor in a 20 minute walk to the pick up point too!

Overall we have a great time here. The friendly and helpful staff made it for us. The wifi is a tad slow, but the sunsets each night from Pupetto hall (and our room balcony) were stunning!

Room Tip: The beach facing rooms having the stunning sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a great location, right on the smaller but more charming Fornillo beach. This beach has a small Getty for boats taking people from beach to beach and lots of places to park yourself and sun. The beach of course is pebbles and difficult o get in and out of the water due to the strength of the current, so bring some water shoes, it will be a lot easier than trying to step over the pebbles. I personally don't think it is a great beach for kids as it gets very deep in a very short distance and
D the stong current makes it hard for kids to wade in shallow water. The beach has many little cares for eating and drinking and there is even a couple of massage women who come by as you are sun baking. It is easy to walk along at almost water height into the main Fornillo beach for ferries, restaurants, day tours and it is a pleasant stroll, no mountain goats required. So enough about the location back to the hotel.......sadly it is tired, dead and doesn't look like anyone has cared about it or maintained it since 1970. It screams out "I get full very year and I am. Only interested in doing the bare basics, I am here to take the money nothing else". The rooms are very basic, with hard pillows, hard beds and the doubles are 2 singles pushed together with no care for a mattress pillow to prevent the gap. The bathrooms are tacky and dated with broken cheap plastic fittings and towel rails above the bidet so the towels keep falling in. YUK. The ocean views are great but again it comes at the price of service, which except for Veronica, who is an employee not an owner, the rest are basically rude, inhelpful and don't care at the front desk. There is broken and unused equipment and furniture all over the place. There is no nice lounge area to relax as there is with many of there competitors such as monte are, who have both dining and relaxing. The restaurant is OK, nothing great, the pizzas are good though. Breakfast is boarding on indelible, horrible cordial not orange juice, again, cheap. The croissants were stale, the fruit cheap and poor quality and Jo care to even present it well. The milk for cereal is warm as left out in the heat. The beach chairs will cost guest 7€ per day, so beware it is not free. The cafe staff wre lovely, very friendly. Shame about the poor quality set up and old dated furniture cluttering the entrance from the hotel. There are no bar fridges in the room to keep drinks cold and the towels were the worst I have ever seen in a hotel anywhere in the world. You could see through them they were so thin. Overall, it is a shame this hotel screams out give me your money now put up with it because we are on the beach. No care in appearances, quality, or attitude. It is a rip off

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

It was ok. We stayed here 2 nights and booked the room off booking.com after deciding to extend our time in Positano because we loved the town so much (having already spent 7 nights at a different hotel which was booked out for the last two nights we wanted to stay). We chose the hotel after reading the reviews on tripadviser and I have to say, the reviews were better than reality. The room was clean but very, very basic. The beds were uncomfortable and my husband and I were pretty tired each day due to poor quality sleep.

We also paid a lot more than what we thought it was worth - if it was perhaps half the price we would have been less disappointed. But at 4 or 5 star prices we expected a lot more.

However I don't want to be too negative about it as there were some definite perks. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful and I give them 10/10 for service. The location is great if you're looking for a bit of R&R, it's right on the beach with several beach cafes to sit and relax at, plenty of sun beds to choose from and the water is beautiful. It is out of the town a little bit - probably more of a ten minute walk to Positano beach, which isn't bad at all but after having stayed at Hotel Savoia which is right in the middle of town and a very short walk to the beach and a whole array of restaurants, we did feel a bit out of it.

"Sleepy" is probably a good word for this hotel.

We stayed in the middle of September so maybe in July/August it would feel a bit more lively.

Overall, it was clean and airy and we had a balcony that overlooked the stunning sea. If the beds had have been a bit more comfortable and we had had a decent night's sleep I probably would be a bit more complimentary of the hotel, however as it is, especially for the price (even in expensive Positano) I think you can do better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

me and my wife stayed in the puppetto august 2012.very helpfull staff,the restaruant is excellent and not too expensive ,..best of all located right on the beach, it is just 5 mins walk from the centre,and less to catch boats to sorrento,capri,naples etc.
because it is on the beach it is quite a walk down if you arrive by road,but the hotel will provide
a porter if req.the best way to arrive/leave is by ferry from naples.
we will be back asap.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My mother and I stayed at the Hotel Pupetto for three nights and truly enjoyed our experience there. The hotel appeared to be family run and I enjoyed watching the little kids of the staff play. The hotel is on the beach a few minutes walk from the main beach of Positano. If you have bad knees or mobility issues, this hotel may not be the one for you. If you arrive by bus from Sorrento, I would suggest taking a taxi from the top. Its 10 euros, but they can drop your luggage off at the hotel's garage and drop you off at the steps so you can walk down to the hotel. From the hotel, you can easily follow a beautiful stone path along the cliffs to the main beach in about 10 mins to where many shops and restuarants are but also where the boats dock or port. All rooms have a sea view and balcony, which we enjoyed as much as we could. They are comfortable and clean but again, beware if you have mobility issues as there could be many stairs depending on the floor your room is on. Breakfast is included and was a small but adequate buffet. The restuarant and eating area was beautiful and served a very nice meal and had a terrific view. Reserve a table for supper if you would prefer a table closest to the railing for a terrific sea view and breeze. The staff were very helpful and friendly as were the staff at the beach bar. The latter offered my mom Ammonia spray after she was stung by a jellyfish 10 second after we took a dip in the sea. Note of caution: Positano has been having jellyfish problems but if you swim during the day, you should be good. Jellyfish are more likely to come closer to shore and the surface when the sun is not shining on the water which was when we took our dip. I loved this hotel and the location and would stay again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: lower floor if you have bad knees or mobility issues. Higher up if you want the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Pupetto for two nights. The location of the hotel is second to none-it is right on the beach and yet is only a 5 minute romantic walk to the centre of Positano. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean and the staff could not be more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pupetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pupetto

Address: Via Fornillo 37, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#24 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pupetto 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pupetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pupetto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pupetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.