We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiesa di Santa Maria Assunta e Cripta Medievale

Chiesa di Santa Maria Assunta e Cripta Medievale
Rampa Teglia | Above Spaggia Grande Beach, Positano, Italy
089-875480
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 42 things to do in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Medieval Crypt is located just below the altar of the Parish Church of Santa Maria Assunta. It was built in the 12th century. a. C. with parts of a Roman Villa that was in Positano in the 1st Century A. C..
London
Level Contributor
241 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

All churches in that area is beautiful . Specially the flowers at this time of the year as there are several weddings.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    72
    26
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Well worth a look inside - beautiful, many weddings take place here for a reason! Great location almost on the beach ensures lots of photo opportunities.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cripta Medievale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The cripta happened to be open one evening as I passed by. It is located on the lower level of the church. The cripta is not large, but had some interesting artifacts.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our Wedding :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I decided to elope to Positano and had our wedding here. It was absolutely perfect! The church itself is gorgeous, and the location is amazing. It's worth a visit, an definitely perfect for a wedding!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our wedding day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The church is a beautiful European Church however it still feels intimate. We had our wedding there and it was just the right size with 70 guests. Very special!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiesa di Santa Maria Assunta e Cripta Medievale also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Chiesa di Santa Maria Assunta e Cripta Medievale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiesa di Santa Maria Assunta e Cripta Medievale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.