We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Prisco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Prisco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Prisco Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pasitea 102, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 41 hotels in Positano
Sarasota, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent a week at Hotel Royal Prisco in mid-April and enjoyed it very much! We had a two bedroom, beautifully appointed suite with a huge bathroom. The balcony off the bedroom/sitting room had a breath-taking view of the town of Positano with the gorgeous dome in the very middle of the view. The continental breakfst was delicious with custom-made capuccino, expresso, fresh-baked croissants, fresh fruits and more. We could have our breakfast in the dining room or on our balcony. Our hosts, Maria and Michaelangelo were extremely courteous and made us feel very much at home. The hotel is located at the top of the hill and it's an easy walk down the lovely main street full of shops and restaurants to the
beautiful beach. If we are fortunate enough to return to Positano, we will definitely stay here again.

Sue & John
Sarasota, FL

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    38
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
151
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The location is ok, Positano is quite small. The view of the sea from the balcony is unbelievable, the staff is so friendly. They can help you in everything. The breakfast was good and fresh, we enjoyed it very much. The fact that the wi-fi signal was poor is the only negative thing I can say about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I travelled with a friend, stayed for a week, in July 2012.
All in all, the hotel is good (judging by price/quality and taking into account the huge demand for hotels in Positano in July – start of high season).
But before booking this hotel, it’s better for you to know
1.There is only one road passing through the high grounds of the town Positano – and this hotel stands right on this road. Taking into account that all Italians are VERY fond of bikes and all kinds of motorcycles – it’s a complete buzzing day and night, especially because the road is narrow and starts 5 cm off the wall of the hotel, and if the previous car stopped to let the passengers out or something – this buzzing element is just standing and making noise in front of your window.
2. The rooms are OVERLY decorated, which reveals bad taste of the owners. This is none of the so called classical Roman or Italian style as you might think of, this is complete and total waste of money for excess of décor, the tiles at the bed-head, something on the ceiling, the curtain between the main part of the room and the small adjoing room (we had the so called superior room with a side seaview - the windows really faced the direction of the sea, but a VERY tiny piece of the sea could be seen far ahead), artificial flowers in the bathroom – all this is senseless, tasteless and just irritates a lot.
3. There is only one big bed in the double room, meant seemingly for couples and honeymoon, so if you are 2 young men travelling together, or two girls travelling together – as was our case – be ready to start a more intimate relationship on this journey ;)!!! You will not be given 2 normal-sized traveller beds - who cares for your sexual preferences and that you are of the similar sex! You WILL sleep in one bed, just because you have no choice. The small sofa in the adjoinig room can not be seriously treated – it is dangerous for one’s spine even to lie down on such a uneven surface with evident holes and mounds.
4. Breakfast – it’s quite a miracle! You sit down in a small room at one of the five tables. In several minutes the hotel owner comes to you and asks what you prefer today). This question is already a joke, because the choice is absolutely the same every morning: tea/coffee, a plate with several breads, muesli with yogurt/milk and “fresh fruits”. Yes, the hotel is family run. Yes, it’s not buffet. But to be satisfied with 1 croissant, 1 piece of bread, tiny pieces of some canned “fresh fruits” on the bottom of a bowl and a plain yoghurt with half a small packet of muesli– excuse me, I am not a male, but that’s not nearly enough for a breakfast of a grown-up person. That’s not enough even for a child. And to spend so much time preparing this ready food and bringing it down to your table - it’s nonsense! I’ve seen many buffet breakfasts, many continental breakfasts, but never had such an intimate “family” experience – it feels as if they bring the food not from a hotel kitchen, but from their own kitchen at home, as if each time you have to beg to give you the food for which you paid in your room rate and which must be given to you in all the appropriate volume, not asking for every small portion. Personally I felt each time there at breakfast like Winnie the Pooh visiting the Rabbit and strongly wishing for “both the honey AND the condensed milk AND the bread’, but the greedy “Rabbit” would give only one option each morning!
Maybe this is subjective – but the review is meant to be subjective – and this is what I personally felt at the hotel.
5.Ah! Almost forgot it - don't leave ANY food in the room - on the table or anywhere. There are hundreds of ants there. They usually hide somewhere in the wardrobe, and you see none of them, but once my fiend left a plastic fork from her lunch - that smelled of food - on the table and we returned in 2 or 3 hours - there was just asn ARMY of ants who had made a road from their "home" to the tasty fork and moved in line))))))
6. The air conditioner is hardly enough for the room, esp. if it's the sunny side. But the problem with it is that whenever you turn it on - it smells of something sweety and nauseous. The same smell has the town laundry - it can be felt in the town centre - and so do all the sheets and towels. In case you are allergic or just have sensitive smelling.
General information. The town of Positano is divided by the ravine in two slopes, Royal Prisco is situated at the end of the ravine, at its highest point, right in the centre, not included into any of the slopes, so the eastern slope was on my left when I stood on the hotel balcony facing the sea, and the western slope is on the right. On the right is also the serpentine road coming from Sorrento. Right below the hotel, across the road, in the ravine is the parking place for cars, and near it I could see the lights of the restaurant situated in the ravine. At your back, high above all around Positano are very beautiful rocky mountains. The road to the beach took 15-20 minutes, it went through the centre of the town, through all the shops, boutiques, restaurants and the church. In case you are shy to go through the crowds in your swimwear you have to put some decent clothes on each time you go to the beach and back from the beach. There are not so many stairs and the decline is gradual and no more than by 10 degrees on each piece of the distance – so it’s not very difficult to go either up or down, as I previously expected, although I have a knee injury. There is no other way to the beach from Royal Prisco but through the central streets with all the touristic crowds and cars constantly passing just 2 cm from your feet.
Please, mind it - you should be careful – the pedestrian areas are very narrow, you have to walk practically on the same road where the cars go, unfortunately!
In Positano, cars are everywhere. In the upper town there are even restaurants situated right on the streets, like Café Positano, for instance, and the tables on the left side and on the right side of the restaurant are divided by the ROAD – so when a motorcyclist stops, he can just stretch his arm and take food from your plate).
Besides, the road TO Positano from Naples is the greatest serpantine I've ever seen - be sure to have a strong stomach!
The sea water in Positano is not crystal clear due to the many yachts that anchor near the beaches, Spiaggia Grande is overcrowded and there is much rubbish floating on the sea surface, thrown from the yachts. No one pays attention to it and just swims, but it’s filthy! Spiaggia Fornillo is more secluded, more beautiful and a little cleaner, maybe a little longer to walk to the side from the centre and the main pier, but it’s worthy, and the sunbeds are cheaper – 7,50 instead on 12 Euro for 1.
The prices in Positano are VERY high – even for simple drinking water. To pay 12 Euro each day for a sunbed at Spiaggia Grande)! And approximately 25 Euro per person for a light dinner – it really does not cost it, it’s just the touristic fuss about the place that makes prices rise. Before deciding on Italy, consider going to Greek islands, and there eat much tastier food, stay in more comfortable hotels, swim in crystal clear water, see historic sights and enjoy beautiful views and spend 50% less money for the same week of vacations – this is my sincere advice to all heading for the touristy and pompous Positano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel was just perfect! The hotel is 3 star, however the service, the location and the view is 5 star. Both the owners are very friendly n helpful. 5 euro for room service. internet is 5 euro for 3 hour. Recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The location is good, with a short walk into the pedestrian area and onto the beach.

For the price of the rest of Positano, then it could be considered reasonable value, and there isn't a minimum two night stay clause either. The staff were friendly and helpful and the loan umbrellas at the front door are needed in the downpours!!

However, the hotel lacks warmth and charm with sterile decor and clinical finishings; marble hard floors and cold tiles in the bedroom. The breakfast could do with improving, I was expecting something hot (other than toast).

I will most likely try somewhere else on my return here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I are staying here at this beautiful hotel right now, the views from our room/balcony are amazing, we are loving everything about this place, the staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast (which we chose to pay extra €5, was delivered to our room) is a lovely continental breaky, great location, close to beach but far enough up the hill to have a great view, we leave to tomorrow sadly but will definitely return !!

Room Tip: We had the second floor, room 3 ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, AUS
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I spent three nights here in October 2012. Clean room and wonderful service with delicious breakfast. My hosts were wonderful, friendly and interested in me as a person. I was even upgraded for part of my time. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a balcony. It adds to the occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Prisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Prisco Hotel

Address: Via Pasitea 102, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Positano
#17 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Prisco Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Royal Prisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Prisco Positano
Hotel Royal Prisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Prisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.