We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely time in Positano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Prisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Prisco Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Prisco Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pasitea 102, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Sydney, AUS
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A lovely time in Positano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I spent three nights here in October 2012. Clean room and wonderful service with delicious breakfast. My hosts were wonderful, friendly and interested in me as a person. I was even upgraded for part of my time. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a balcony. It adds to the occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    45
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
26
171
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in such a convenient location just up the hill (gentle slope) from the main town shops and bus stop. The whole hotel is pristine, so clean from the moment you step inside. We were in room 10 and appreciated the generous room size, the lovely bed and especially the views! The bathroom shower did lack a solid water flow, which the management said they'd look into as the shower was a bit on the 'dribble' end of the water flow spectrum. But that didn't stop us totally enjoying the hotel and the very friendly staff. The breakfasts were to die for. So much choice! Real coffee made to your liking. Great cereal, fresh fruit, pastries and jams, juices, etc. Honestly - don't look past this hotel. It is such a great place. The Internet connectivity is good although you do need to request a new code for every 3 hours Internet usage you use - which is acceptable. There is no charge of this so it's all good. Be sure to complement your stay with the discoverpositano.it walking cultural and food tour. For 25 euro it is great value and will give you a great perspective of the stunning little fishing village.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

A lovely hotel with comfortable rooms, a perfect location, and great views. The staff is especially helpful in finding places to eat and otherwise enjoy Positano. I would recommend this hotel very highly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A great place to stay and we couldn't recommend it enough. It is so well situated, not at the top but half way down and just a few metres from the pedestrian part and the shops, so you don't have the massive up hill walk back. There is a garage round the corner where you leave the car and the hotel has a reduced rate with them.
The staff were lovely and very helpful and informative. Nothing was too much to ask.
The room was beautiful, large with a great bathroom and jacuzzi and balcony. The balcony was huge and had great views down to the sea below and a perfect setting for breakfast for an additional €5, well worth it. The air conditioning was very good.
Breakfast in the bar area was a good selection of continental breads, croissants, fruit, jam, yoghurt and very good cappuccinos but have it on the balcony! There is an awning that provides shade but it is controlled by reception, so just ask and they will open it by remote.
The only small thing I would hesitate to mention but a small amount of work would achieve perfection is that there was some black mould around the bath seal, it looked unpleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late at night and within 10 minutes the night porter (Pascal?) found us a bottle of proseccco and some nibbles for our balcony. A brilliant start to a brilliant holiday. The hotel is well located being half way up and is run by a very friendly crew (ciao-ciao, Maria!). We were especially impressed with the standard of cleaning. They've also got a bathroom you can change in if your flight is a while after check out. If we went back, we'd go for a superior room as the balconies look huge :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights during our honeymoon and loved it! Our room and bathroom was spacious and clean. We also had a balcony that provided great views.

The breakfast was wonderful with many options - we never left hungry.

Everyone working at Royal Prisco was so friendly and helpful! In fact, we left before breakfast began one morning, and they insisted we take some breakfast items with us - just a nice gesture.

The location was good for getting down to the beach and around Positano. It was a little bit of a walk, but not bad at all. We were also able to travel easily to Capri and Amalfi.

Overall, I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Positano for 4 nights and did day trips out to Amalfi and Ravello. This hotel is centrally located, a short 5 minute walk to the center with shops along the way.

Owners were super helpful and personally served breakfast in the breakfast room every morning.

Lovely lobby with marble staircase, our room was rather small but we did book an economy room so no complaints there :) the washroom was actually pretty spacious for Europe standards.

I will miss our stay in Positano very much, it is such a comfortable place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Prisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Prisco Hotel

Address: Via Pasitea 102, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Positano
#17 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Prisco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Prisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Prisco Positano
Hotel Royal Prisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Prisco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.