We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Balcony, Clean, view... just what we were looking for in Positano!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoia to your Saves list
Hotel Savoia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Positano
asheville, nc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Location, Balcony, Clean, view... just what we were looking for in Positano!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

I was a little hesitant because of some of the reviews that I had read before booking. However, with limited avaibility throughout Positano this is where we ended up and we were plesantly surprised. The rooms (including bathrooms) were very spacious, they were very clean and the a/c worked very well. Our party had rooms 202 and 205. 202 had an excellent balcony with a nice sitting area. 205 did not have a very nice balcony so be sure to confirm that with your reservation as the view in Positano is one of the best parts of it. Also try to get on floor three or higher because there was a tree blocking the view on the second level. Our balcony still had a great view of the city at night though. The location of the hotel was perfect. It is just above the beach access and on the main shopping street there. This was a must in Positano becase you will do a lot of walking if not in a great location. I am not sure that I would want to spend a week long honeymoon here, but it was absolutely above average and more than fine for 2-3 nights in Positano. Also, not sure what problems anyone could have with the staff. They were all more than accomodating. I am a 30 and was traveling with my wife and we would both stay here again.... and if looking for a reasonable place to stay in Positano would certainly reccommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    126
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
90
197
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

We were staying on Capri and wanted to go to Positano so looked on lastminute.com at our Capri hotel, the Sovoia was wrongly billed as 4 star and we paid £220 for one night for a double, The hotel was very disappointing, from extremely unfriendly reception staff to very old fashioned rooms and an unsightly shower curtain with added mould. We stayed only the one night and then looked for alternatives, pleased to say that we found great alternatives that were 4 star and were half the price of the Sovoia. There are such fabulous places to stay in Positano, avoid this hotel though

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

I have been to Positano every year for the past 5 years and each time I have stayed at Hotel Savoia. The location is fantastic and just a few minutes walk to the beach/major attractions/restaurants. The service has always been superb and travelling for the first time this year with a baby, the staff could not do enough to help us. The only one small niggle that I have with the hotel is the fabric shower curtains - hopefully they will replace these with doors one day...

Getting to the hotel is easy, either by taxi or train/bus from Naples. The one stop that the bus makes in Positano is actually at the top of the road, so just a 5 minute walk to the hotel.

Hotel Sirenuse is just 5 minutes walk from Hotel Savoia and is a fantastic place for cocktails/taking in the views of Positano/night cap.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

The hotel room was nothing like the pictures they showed on the website. We paid extra to have a family suite and there was no jacuzzi, no tub whatsoever and the shower was small with just a ratty, green shower curtain. There was definitely no fancy shower fixtures.
There was no view of the water from our room as they represented in the pictures. The room had old worn furniture and the small safe was attached to the rolling mini bar. Not very safe, since a thief could just roll the mini bar out of the room with ease.
On top of that, during the check-out processs, the older woman who was part of the family-run hotel, tried to run our credit card for 20 Euros more than the bill they showed us, thinking we were in a rush and wouldn't notice it. When we pointed out the error, she tried to say it couldn't be fixed. Luckily, the young guy who also ran the hotel fixed the issue by returning our 20 Euros in cash.
BIG DISAPPOINTMENT:-(

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

I have travled to over 60 countries and know what makes an excellent family hotel. We have a 5-yr old girl and look for good value, close to where we'll spend most of our time (the beach area), and close to transportation. The Savoia is an 8-minute walk from the Sponda bus stop on a smooth sloping sidewalk with NO stairs. Savoia is located at the start of the most interesting walk past many shops and places to eat on a 6-minute walk down to the main beach (Spiaggia Grande). We were given a Special rate for staying seven days, and from our balcony we had an angle view of the ocean (about 60 degree angle) and 120 degree view of Positano. Service was quite friendly, and rate included breakfast with a range of choices including fresh pastries. Our room #304 was spotlessly clean, and insulated from most of the street noise.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

This hotel wasn't my first choice, but decided to stay based on recommendations from Trip Advisor. Everything that was written is true. The hotel is not fancy, but is spacious, clean and has a great location and staff! We had a balcony room, with a great view that we enjoyed with lemoncello at night. The breakfast was fine-with meats, fruits, pastries and cappuccino. The staff had good recommendations and was very helpful in making reservations for us! Would definitely stay here again next time we are in Positano.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Ontario, CANADA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

We spent two nights at the end of our italian holiday in Positano. The Hotel Savoia was an excellent choice for us. It is located right in the heart of the square of Positano with easy access to shops, restaurants, the beach, and the local bus stop. The staff were courteous, kind, friendly and helpful. Our continental breakfast served in the morning was excellent. A variety of lots to choose from. Our room was large, clean, comfortable bed and air conditioned. When we return to Positano, we will cerainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Positano
#18 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Hotel Savoia è affacciato sul panorama incantevole di Positano e si trova in una posizione privilegiata al centro del paese sulla “Piazzetta dei Mulini”.Banche, negozi e ristoranti sono a breve distanza e in 5 minuti si raggiunge la Spiaggia Grande, dalla quale si possono fare gite in barca all’Isola Dei Galli, alle spiaggette sulla costa e con le barche di linea, raggiungere Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento e Ischia. La comoda posizione centrale e a livello stradale consente di raggiungere tutte le destinazioni in breve tempo.Saremo lieti di darvi indicazioni per visitare Pompei, Ercolano o Ravello oppure indicarvi le passeggiate sui sentieri di montagna che sono famosi in tutto il mondo come il “Sentiero degli Dei”.L’Albergo è a gestione familiare da 3 generazioni è completamente ristrutturato ma mantiene lo stile originario mediterraneo con volte a cupola e pavimenti in ceramica locale.I confort moderni si armonizzano con la discreta eleganza degli ambienti e il tutto vi offre un soggiorno piacevole e rilassante.La ricca colazione a Buffet viene servita nella nostra sala con aria condizionata oppure in camera sui terrazzini che si affacciano su Positano e sul mare della Costiera Amalfitana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.