We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoia to your Saves list
Hotel Savoia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel was great value. It is centrally located in the heart of Positano, within easy walking distance of the beach, bars, shopping and restaurants. We had a comfortable standard room on the 3rd floor with a king size bed and large balcony - very clean. At first I was disappointed we were not ocean view, but came to love the view of the cliff-side homes - especially at night with all the lights on. Breakfast was ok - not the best hotel breakfast in Europe, but the coffee was good and you are able to order off the menu for a minimal charge. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Will definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: I'm sure you can't go wrong with any room, although the higher floors will have a nicer view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    126
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
90
197
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

To start with, Positano is one of the hot spots on the Amalfi coast, but the minute you pass through the door you leave much of the hub-bub behind. Our room was on the upper end with a high-ceiling, very large king-bed chamber, a small alcove with a twin, an enormous, well outfitted bathroom and our own balcony overlooking the town, beach and hills. Each member of the staff we encountered was unfailing helpful and friendly. Their Italian continental breakfast was one of the best we encountered. It was served in a beautiful large reception room with dining tables, sofas and a large outdoor balcony. The hotel's location was central and just steps to the walkway to the shopping and beach area.

Room Tip: Because the hotel has many different types of rooms, work with them to pick one that is most suitabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

What a special place to stay. The people went out of their way to be help. The views from our room were beautiful, and the beach was easily within walking distance. We didn't to wait for the little bus to take us up to our hotel, we would walk there. Yet, we were high enough to see beautiful views up to the mountain and down to the water. The hotel is simple and has the most beautiful tiled floors. It was a delight to stay there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This small hotel is located in center of town and great location for walking in any direction, especially to the beach. Helps you avoid a few hills and stairs!

Loved the staff, family owned and run. The breakfast was quite lovely, as is their intimate dining area and outdoor patio.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

hotel Savoia is just a great place to stay. some people just like to complaint about everything . EMILIA & the AIELLO family can be very proud . the service is great, the cleanliness is #1 ,the location is also great & the value is fair for POSITANO. we and our friends will always make HOTEL SAVOIA are #1 hotel in POSITANO.

Room Tip: rooms with terrazzo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We've been all over the world, and have stayed in some pretty special places. Albergo Savoia is, without a doubt, the most charming and most special. First impressions are what makes a place great, and Emelia of Albergo Savoia gave my husband the best first impression by answering his questions efficiently and quickly by both phone and email. The hotel itself is charming, scrupulously clean, and nicely appointed. The staff was eager to make our stay as happy as possible with friendly service from everyone. They welcomed us to their "home", and for a few days we felt part of a family in a very beautiful city. Views from this hotel are spectacular! Location is perfect.......close to the beach area and nestled in with the shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We checked in early hoping that our room was ready so we could put our things down and get outside to enjoy the town. The woman at the front desk informed us that yes, the room was ready - awesome! She then gave us a very speedy runthrough of the room and left us to take our bags upstairs by ourselves. We asked if the room faced the ocean - she said yes.

We go up to the top floor of the hotel and walk into our room that reminds me of a hostel I once stayed in... Boy does this place need a makeover. I can appreciate the charm of tile floors and "vintage" touches, but this was just rundown and not the romantic experience we were looking for. Since my fiance thought we were supposed to be staying in a slightly nicer room (the room we booked on Expedia was called a "Standard King Room" - this was very, very standard..), he went downstairs to make sure we were in the right room, and if so, could we possibly move to a nicer room since we're only staying one night? The woman actually told him that the room we were in was their "lower end room" and of course they have nicer suites. But of course, they are all booked, so we cannot move. Fiance comes back to room and says he's not really happy with her tone/attitude and already we're not having a great time.

The room had a tiny balcony that just barely looked out to the water (we had a nice view of the town..) It was in dire need of a paint job, there were years of scuffs on the walls. All of the furniture was covered with old fabric coverlets that looked like they hadn't been washed in years. Walls were paper thin - we could hear everything from the room next door and hallway. Bathroom was big, they could have provided a few more toiletries..

The pros:
- great location in Positano - high up enough to have great views of the city, but also close enough to the beach that the walk down/up isn't all that bad..
- breakfast on the 1st floor is delicious - try to get a seat on the terrace for optimum experience
- the woman at the front desk the next day was very nice, helped us check out beach towels for our morning dip in the Mediterranean and also let us keep our bags at the front desk after checking out so we could enjoy a few extra hours walking around town

We went out for drinks at Cafe Positano and dinner at Da Vincenzo (amazing meal - highly recommend it!!) and then out at Music on the Rocks and Fly, and ended up staying out until about 2AM, so barely spent that much time in the room (a good thing).

I stayed at the Residence La Tavolazza (B&B) right down the road a few years ago with a friend, and quite honestly the rooms were about half the price and were definitely nicer, even though would expect a hotel to have nicer accommodations.
I would recommend Hotel Savoia but I would definitely opt for a larger "higher end" room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Positano
#18 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Hotel Savoia è affacciato sul panorama incantevole di Positano e si trova in una posizione privilegiata al centro del paese sulla “Piazzetta dei Mulini”.Banche, negozi e ristoranti sono a breve distanza e in 5 minuti si raggiunge la Spiaggia Grande, dalla quale si possono fare gite in barca all’Isola Dei Galli, alle spiaggette sulla costa e con le barche di linea, raggiungere Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento e Ischia. La comoda posizione centrale e a livello stradale consente di raggiungere tutte le destinazioni in breve tempo.Saremo lieti di darvi indicazioni per visitare Pompei, Ercolano o Ravello oppure indicarvi le passeggiate sui sentieri di montagna che sono famosi in tutto il mondo come il “Sentiero degli Dei”.L’Albergo è a gestione familiare da 3 generazioni è completamente ristrutturato ma mantiene lo stile originario mediterraneo con volte a cupola e pavimenti in ceramica locale.I confort moderni si armonizzano con la discreta eleganza degli ambienti e il tutto vi offre un soggiorno piacevole e rilassante.La ricca colazione a Buffet viene servita nella nostra sala con aria condizionata oppure in camera sui terrazzini che si affacciano su Positano e sul mare della Costiera Amalfitana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.