We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with great balcony views on the Amalfi Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoia to your Saves list
Hotel Savoia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value with great balcony views on the Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was pretty satisfied with our choice of booking this hotel as it was close to cafes and restaurants and the fact that its higher up on the cliffs gives you lovely views of the coast and the rest of the colorful town. The rooms were ok, not really modern but clean and a decent size, specially considering how little time we spent in it. I would have loved to have a front facing ocean view balcony but they were all booked. However, we still had a side slice view of the coast and great cliff and town views so I was happy with that. The staff was nice and helpful and made it a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    126
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
90
197
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel looks a lot like it's pictures, but it is not 500 metres from the beach (unless it is measured straight up) it is a winding walk, uphill, about 10 mnutes. don't freak out when guys on little motorbikes with a little luggage cart on back take your luggage. (make sure cart says it's from the city of positano) they are NOT from your hotel, but they ARE from the city, they don't even give you a receipt, then they disappear under a tunnel with your stuff. they are legit, but it is scary, keep your computer bag and purse, and really, it's not such a bag walk up to the Savoia, so if you are wary, and you have wheels on your suitcases, keep your stuff. p.s. it is not free, like 4 euro per bag.
thye are friendly here and helpful, and the breakfast room is beautiful, and so is the breakfast. i would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the hill and ocean there was a loose plate in the road under my room, and they ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon trip to Italy. We absolutely loved Positano and were made up with Hotel Savoia. From the moment we checked in we were made to feel extremely welcome and the ladies at the Reception desk gave us plenty of advice on where to eat and day trips etc. When we arrived at our room we were surprised with a knock on the door and a bottle of bubbly as a little gift from the Hotel as it was our honeymoon. The views from the balcony were stunning and the room was spacious and very clean. The location of the Hotel is ideal and you can easily access the town and the beach as well as boats to take day trips to Capri, Sorrento or to a small bay in the rocks. Perfect!! Breakfast was great and there was plenty. We even enjoyed breakfast brought to our balcony one morning which was fantastic. We were sad to leave Positano and Hotel Savoia but we know that we will most definitely be returning soon. An all round wonderful Hotel, we would thoroughly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in Positano for 4 nights as part of our 25th Wedding Anniversary trip to Italy and we would say by far this was our favourite spot. The hotel was incredibly clean and the view was second to none. Emila, at the front desk was absolutely wonderful! She helped to arrange a trip to Capri for us and every day would give us recommendations on where to eat dinner - all of the restaurants she suggested were fantastic. She certainly added to our wonderful Positano experience. This hotel is located on the main street within walking distance to the beach and lots of shopping. Breakfast was very tasty and offered lots of variety. Thank you Hotel Savoia and Emilia for ensuring that we will definitely be back to stay at your hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is in an Ideal location, not too far up from the beach. Staff very friendly. Rooms spacious and very clean. Our room had a huge balcony and the bathroom with bathtub was a bonus! Great value for money!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, ON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here for 6 days. Hotel was very Clean and Safe. The staff was helpful. the hotel was conveniently located near the main town and beach. Positano is a beautiful and intimate town filled with very friendly people

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I couldn't have found a nicer hotel or better location! A wonderful value! Friends had recommended that we visit Positano and I lucked into finding Hotel Savoia, centrally located in the heart of the village, convenient to everything, including the coastal bus. The staff was unfailingly nice and helpful from the beginning of our communication weeks in advance at the booking stage as well as during our stay. We weren't expecting it, but what a romantic location and hotel.

Having asked for a room with a view to town and the ocean, we got exactly that in room #402. Our spacious room was on the building's corner on its top floor and so had views to the town built into the cliffside as well as the ocean. The bathroom was spacious and beautiful as well. At night we loved sitting with the french balcony doors open with a glass of wine, watching the twinkling lights on the hillside. And don't worry about being on an upper floor because there is an elevator. In mid-October it was warm enough to sleep with the balcony door open so we got the breeze, the lulling ocean sound and diminished street noise from below.

Breakfast is served in their 2nd floor bar and balcony. We found the expected offerings of breads, fruit, yogurt, cheese, and meat. All were fresh and very tasty. Generally an excellent spread.

When can I return!? This was the best hotel of my Italian adventure!

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms on front on upper floors so you can get the better views, breezes and less str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Positano
#18 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Hotel Savoia è affacciato sul panorama incantevole di Positano e si trova in una posizione privilegiata al centro del paese sulla “Piazzetta dei Mulini”.Banche, negozi e ristoranti sono a breve distanza e in 5 minuti si raggiunge la Spiaggia Grande, dalla quale si possono fare gite in barca all’Isola Dei Galli, alle spiaggette sulla costa e con le barche di linea, raggiungere Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento e Ischia. La comoda posizione centrale e a livello stradale consente di raggiungere tutte le destinazioni in breve tempo.Saremo lieti di darvi indicazioni per visitare Pompei, Ercolano o Ravello oppure indicarvi le passeggiate sui sentieri di montagna che sono famosi in tutto il mondo come il “Sentiero degli Dei”.L’Albergo è a gestione familiare da 3 generazioni è completamente ristrutturato ma mantiene lo stile originario mediterraneo con volte a cupola e pavimenti in ceramica locale.I confort moderni si armonizzano con la discreta eleganza degli ambienti e il tutto vi offre un soggiorno piacevole e rilassante.La ricca colazione a Buffet viene servita nella nostra sala con aria condizionata oppure in camera sui terrazzini che si affacciano su Positano e sul mare della Costiera Amalfitana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.