We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When can I go back?! Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Savoia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 41 hotels in Positano
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“When can I go back?! Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I couldn't have found a nicer hotel or better location! A wonderful value! Friends had recommended that we visit Positano and I lucked into finding Hotel Savoia, centrally located in the heart of the village, convenient to everything, including the coastal bus. The staff was unfailingly nice and helpful from the beginning of our communication weeks in advance at the booking stage as well as during our stay. We weren't expecting it, but what a romantic location and hotel.

Having asked for a room with a view to town and the ocean, we got exactly that in room #402. Our spacious room was on the building's corner on its top floor and so had views to the town built into the cliffside as well as the ocean. The bathroom was spacious and beautiful as well. At night we loved sitting with the french balcony doors open with a glass of wine, watching the twinkling lights on the hillside. And don't worry about being on an upper floor because there is an elevator. In mid-October it was warm enough to sleep with the balcony door open so we got the breeze, the lulling ocean sound and diminished street noise from below.

Breakfast is served in their 2nd floor bar and balcony. We found the expected offerings of breads, fruit, yogurt, cheese, and meat. All were fresh and very tasty. Generally an excellent spread.

When can I return!? This was the best hotel of my Italian adventure!

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms on front on upper floors so you can get the better views, breezes and less str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    109
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
82
171
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is well located and easily found on the main street. We faced the street and the sea, and had a great view of the town. It was not noisy. Breakfast was quite good, and the staff is warm and courteous. Our room was very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel Savoia has a very nice location on the main drag in Positano. The rooms are very comfortable, with some having terraces. The bar/breakfast area is also terraced. The service was excellent and local transportation was easily available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had a wonderful time staying in this hotel.
It is in very good location in Positano, a few steps from the main commercial center and the beach.
Easily to reach if you are coming from Amalfi by bus (get off in the first stop of Positano).
The staff is friendly and helpful.
The balcony of the bar/restaurant is very pleasant to stay and look at the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were in Positano for 3 nights and enjoyed everything about the Hotel Savoia. Everyone at the front desk was extremely helpful, the breakfast was good and it was in a very convenient location. They even arranged for a masseuse to come to our room for massages. Overall we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Unfortunately we got into Positano much later than we had wanted, so it was dark when we arrived to Hotel Savoia. We were only there for one night.

But.. from our short stay, we can tell you that this is a really nice hotel! Rooms were big and bright, clean and modern - the bathroom was the biggest one we had throughout our trip in Italy. And the breakfast was spot on!

The owners/staff were really nice and went out of their way to help us. We left something in the room and they tracked us down at our next hotel to find us. Super sweet!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel was perfectly located for easy access to shopping, restaurants, the beach and taxi,bus, boat and car service modes of transportation. The room was large and clean with a balcony and beautiful view. The morning breakfast was well done and the service was very accomodating. The maids put the room in a prestine state everyday and the lobby staff was always very responsive and helpful and all spoke english. I also had excellent service from Dream Limousine, Positano, Antonio Buonocore the owner/driver who speaks english.I was picked up at the Naples train station for transport to Hotel Savoia and then picked up at the hotel for transport back to the Naples train station for 95 euros each way in a new Mercedes sedan. Bus transportation to Sorennto and jet boat service to Capri were also excellent

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Positano
#18 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Hotel Savoia è affacciato sul panorama incantevole di Positano e si trova in una posizione privilegiata al centro del paese sulla “Piazzetta dei Mulini”.Banche, negozi e ristoranti sono a breve distanza e in 5 minuti si raggiunge la Spiaggia Grande, dalla quale si possono fare gite in barca all’Isola Dei Galli, alle spiaggette sulla costa e con le barche di linea, raggiungere Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento e Ischia. La comoda posizione centrale e a livello stradale consente di raggiungere tutte le destinazioni in breve tempo.Saremo lieti di darvi indicazioni per visitare Pompei, Ercolano o Ravello oppure indicarvi le passeggiate sui sentieri di montagna che sono famosi in tutto il mondo come il “Sentiero degli Dei”.L’Albergo è a gestione familiare da 3 generazioni è completamente ristrutturato ma mantiene lo stile originario mediterraneo con volte a cupola e pavimenti in ceramica locale.I confort moderni si armonizzano con la discreta eleganza degli ambienti e il tutto vi offre un soggiorno piacevole e rilassante.La ricca colazione a Buffet viene servita nella nostra sala con aria condizionata oppure in camera sui terrazzini che si affacciano su Positano e sul mare della Costiera Amalfitana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.