We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Marincanto

Al Marincanto
Cristoforo Colombo, 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
0039089875130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 73 Restaurants in Positano
Price range: $40 - $79
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Al Marincanto is situated in the most beautiful part of Positano; its terrace offer an unforgettable view over the bay for an exclusive and romantic dinnerIl Ristorante al Marincanto è situato nell'angolo più bello di Positano. La sua terrazza offre una vista indimenticabile sulla baia per una cena romantica ed esclusiva
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Marincanto and had dinner at the restaurant on our last night in Positano. What a treat. Gorgeous romantic setting, fantastic service with a smile and incredible food. Being gluten intolerant the waiter made sure that everything was prepared accordingly. I received warm gluten free bread rolls (even they were good!) and we enjoyed a bottle of wine and an amuse bouche while we waited for our main course. There was so much to choose from. The red tuna with pistachio (prepared gluten free) is out of this world. Perfectly cooked and a great flavor combination. For dessert I opted for the gluten free chocolate mousse which was just as spectacular. Three different kinds of chocolate layered on top of each other - dark, milk and white. Would eat here again for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff! Amazing view!! Food is delicious..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Good English speaking and friendly staff.. Good vines with affordable price.. Menu is great! Prices are less than a regular restaurant at seaside.. At least try once.. We love it..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Most romantic spot in Positano.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is secluded and peaceful. The terrace is beautiful and has a fabulous view of Positano and the sea, framed by bougainvillea draped columns. Staff were attentive and sweet, giving us a prosecco on the house. Our meal used all the fresh local ingredients well, with some interesting twists: chilli calamari with pea purée was delicioso.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had dinner on the outdoor patio nestled under a little tree with ridiculously good views.

All positives.
* Service was exceptional (kind of rare in Italy)
* Food was inventive and delicious. The caprese was very cleverly done.
* Views were A++.

Overall, one of the best meals we had in all of Italy. Recommend as one of the must-eat places in Positano.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Evening of culture and culinary excellence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We happened to be walking back past Al Marincanto on our way back from a day of sea-kayaking and they had a menu advertising great food and a piano and violin evening.

This sounded very good and significantly more cultured than some of Positano's other offerings.

The food and wine here were excellent and the music was such a good idea in the lovely setting. If you get chance to visit here for one of these nights, you must go. It will be one of your best experiences of eating out in Positano.

The food here was first class, showing imagination and style that was a little lost in many other places in Positano.

The only negative was the lack of staff at key points during the meal. Whilst all of the staff were helpful and polite, they did keep vanishing for long periods of time. One minute there would be 2-3 people serving and then 40 minutes would pass with no-one in sight.

This did not ruin a special evening but it did significantly extend our meal as we arrived at 8.30 and were still trying to pay the bill after 11!

Overall, well worth a visit, especially on a music night. Try and pick a table as close to the edge of the balcony as possible as the view over the bay in the evening is probably the best in the area.

The main thing here is that the experience is worth the price and the hotel is creating an experience that justifies a good price. Well done and keep up the good work!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Marincanto also viewed

 

Been to Al Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.