We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk in heavy rain and fog” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sentiero degli Dei Lemon Point

Sentiero degli Dei Lemon Point
Via Nocelle | Piazza S.croce, 84017 Positano, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 attractions in Positano
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Walk in heavy rain and fog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Did the walk with my wife on 28 Nov 12. Started the walk after lunch. Took the bus from Amalfi to Bomerano . Storm clouds were gathering when we left Amalfi. By the time we reached Bomerano, the town was covered in fog and the street + church square were deserted.

We started the walk in intermittent drizzle. Other than meeting a man with his mule near Grotta Biscotto, we didnt meet anyone else throughout the walk. After Grotta Biscotto, heavy fog came in from the sea. Half way through, the sky opened up. There were distant thunder and lightning. Though we were pelted with heavy rain, we can still see the (red/yellowry white) route markers. The scenery was surreal.

We missed our planned exit at Nocelle and continued to Montepertuso.
All in, the walk was not difficult. The rocky part of the path was not slippery, even in the rain.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    46
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I hiked up from Positano, through Montepertuso and Nocelle along the path, and then descended back down to the coast road at Praiano where we caught a local bus back to Positano. We were there in mid-October, a week after the region had suffered a great deal of rain, but the weather couldn't have been more perfect for our visit. We love to hike, and this was one of our all-time favorite, relatively short day hikes. The only drawback of the hike was the stress on our knees and ankles from the descent down so many stone steps to Praiano.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Zia Lucy The Best Guide for your Amalfi Coast Hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Amalfi Coast offers a myriad of scenic hikes. The Footpath of the Gods is only one of these hikes. The views are spectacular and the hikes are on old goat paths and donkey paths used by the mountain people, before roads were installed--only 20 years ago--to give easier access to the popular coastal areas.

My guide for my 6-week stay in Positano was Lucia, owner of Zia Lucy. Lucia (Lucy) will personalize any hike to your abiilty/preference/time constraints. She is a TRUE LOCAL, born and raised in Positano and speaks excellent English, has a degree in Literature and is working on an Art History degree, as well as teaches English & Spanish classes in Positano. Not only do you get an articulate, Positanese historian as a guide, but she can show you off-the-beaten-path places and share stories that give you a true local-flavor that you will not get in any guidebook.

Her knowledge--fauna, flora and lore--of the mountains along the Amalfi Coast is unsurpassed and you will feel safe and secure at all times with her. We toured the cemetary, the town (she also offers some wonderful in town tours), various villages within Positano, Footpath of the Gods, The Valley of the Mills (near Scala/Amalfi), The Torre dello Ziro and other hiking in nearby towns/villages.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hike of a life. Guided by Francesco Carpegna who we highly reccomend,( Positano Walking Adventures ) the Amalfi walking trails ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

While planning our stay in Amalfi Coast
area we felt unsure about the best way to plan our hiking. In Positano we were so fortunate to meet Francesco Carpegna the owner of Positano Walking Adventures.A perfectly bilingual history buff with 15 yrs guiding and interpreting experience he brought this amazing area to life for us.
The hikes are moderately challenging (we are reasonably fit middle age) 1/2 day to day 3/4 day hikes that offer panoramic sea views from the mountain paths. They can be a bit crisscrossed in some areas so we do reccomend use of a guide. Delicious village cuisine was a bonus surprise on those days.Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Vertiginous beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Easy to follow once you are on the path. Hiking with a photo camera takes longer time (consider the daylight limits in low season, it gets dark by 5 pm). I was hiking there late December and it was very comfortable (I assume it would be too hot to make this hike in summer). Suitable boots are neccessary (stone-paved track can be slippery in some places). The views are magnificent and there are occasional tables and benches on top of mountains (looks perfect for romantic dates:).

I walked from Positano to Nocelle (or you can take a local bus for this part if it is too much for you), joined the path there and made it up to Agerola, where took a bus to Amalfi, then changed back to Positano (if you start in the morning you can cover several towns on the coast). It feels very safe up there and you meet other hikers or locals on the road. It was definitely the highlight of my 2-day stay in Positano. Unforgettable beauty of Amalfi coast.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sentiero degli Dei Lemon Point also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Sentiero degli Dei Lemon Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentiero degli Dei Lemon Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sentiero degli Dei Lemon Point to your Saves list