We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence La Dolce Vita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence La Dolce Vita to your Saves list
Residence La Dolce Vita
Via Fornillo 31, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Combines perfect mix of quiet seclusion overlooking private beach, yet just minutes from main centre by lovely cliff side walk. A small hotel of only 4 rooms I think, I had it to myself for most of the week. The owners live there, and were most hospitable and friendly, even giving me an apartment with larger balcony due to a cancellation. Spotlessly clean, with well-appointed bathrooms and very comfortable beds in both rooms I stayed in. Internet access was a little problematic at times, and I sometimes had to move about and rejoin the network etc, but it was always possible to go to the breakfast room down the hall, where coverage was always 100%.
The view from all of the rooms is gorgeous, looking out over the beach into a small cove framed by the cliffs jutting out into the sea on either side, with the excellent restaurant (see tips) directly below. A section of the cliff path to the town centre and main beach can be seen from the balcony, as well as the lovely sight of massive lemons growing in the owners garden, overhanging one of the apartments.
The apartments are just a small number of steps - maybe 30-40 - above the beach.
The price you pay for seclusion in such a location is that if you want to get to your car park - yes, I hired a car and drove from Naples - you have a stiff walk up steep steps, which takes about 10-12 minutes, but is not for the infirm. To be fair though, any accommodation in Positano suffers the same balance: the closer to sea level you are, the further you are from roads with access for cars/buses etc, as the roads loop away some height above the beach. Help was provided with luggage, both on arrival and departure, but if you've got young kids or older or immobile members of your party, getting around from here might be an issue.
Also, breakfast is rather limited, but as this was my first time in Italy (ashamed to say) I cannot reliably compare it, but its a much lighter breakfast than I would be used to at home or in say Spain, but more like the French. Speaking of food, there is no 'in-house' restaurant, but directly below, on the steps to the beach, is a really good and reasonably priced seafood restaurant.
Overall highly recommended. I could, and may well return next year.

Restaurant Pupetto, directly below hotel on way to beach, was the best restaurant I ate in. It was also the best value! It was three days in, after walking through this restaurant on my way to eat in the town, that I finally decided to stop on my way through. What a good move! I cannot comment on meat dishes, as i didn't have any, but the seafood was excellent, and I ended up eating here on three occasions, and I only had seven days, so that says something.
Grilled sea bream in a beachfront restaurant you expect to be great, but their seafood linguine, salt-baked red snapper, and absolute revelation, their mixed seafood soup (more of a casserole with squid, whole prawns, clams, mussels, sardine and salmon cutlets, with a drizzle of tomato-based sauce with croutons) was spectacular. House white best (and again cheapest) house wine I came across.
I did eat in Da Vincense, most highly rated on lots of review sites, and it was fine, but Pupetto for me blew all opposition away, on all main categories: food quality, value, service (very helpful, welcoming waiters), and location on beach nice too.
Can also recommend Wine Dark House in town centre beside church, for daytime lunch etc. Also, for excellent value good quality snacks (delicious pizza slices, cakes, drinks etc) overlooking main beach, Paradise is informal self-service bar style cafe.

Souvenir shopping: make sure item youre given matches item displayed !!!
La Saracena, a shop on the seafront, might have been given the benefit of the doubt for overlooking inclusion of the cork stopper (included with display model) in the olive oil dispenser I bought, but they'd have trouble offering that defence for omitting the printed "Positano" motif (again on display model) from the bag that I bought for my daughter!

Transport: driving was a bit of a hassle, to be honest. If you want to get about, there is a pretty good local Sita bus service, connecting local towns, including the likes of Amalfi, a little further away, but check bus service while you're there before you commit to a trip: I got ferry to Amalfi, planning to bus back to Bomerano and do the 'walk of the gods' from there back to Nocelle, then bus back to Positano. Had great day on ferry and in Amalfi (well worth the trip, check out cathedral), only to find notorious busmen on strike!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    11
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is an excellent place to stay on the Amalfi cost. Run by a very nice, friendly couple, each room has a balcony with an amazing view. The rooms are clean and tidy and each room a little different. Right next to the beach and approx. 10 mins to the main part of town. We would recommend this to everybody!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently took a girl trip to Italy with two of my friends and my stay here was the best part of my trip. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable for three people and the views were spectacular. We arrived by ferry and the B&B was just a short walk from the beach. Unfortunately, we took the long way to get there and were tired from hauling our luggage all the way up to the road and down again. When we made it to La Dolce, Vincento opened a bottle of wine for us and took our bags up the steps to our room. Both Vincento and Marissa were so nice and enjoyed visiting with them. I will definitely be staying there again on my next trip to Positano. Our stay was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My fiance and I had a wonderful time staying at the La Dolce Vita for 4 nights in September. The views are spectacular and the B&B is a short walk from the beach. The hotel is situated in a bay just next to the main village of Positano but the walk between the two is a lovely coastal path with stunning views. The rooms are nicely decorated and very up-to-date. The owners are very hospitable and made our breakfast each morning. We highly recommend the B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

La Dolce Vita was one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed. With absolutely spectacular views over the water, a very short walk down to the beach, a short walk up to the main road, and incredible, spacious, luxurious apartment-style rooms, I would recommend this place to anyone, 100%, you will not regret it. Marie was such a character, she always brightened the day, and made breakfast interesting and a crack-up. I will be back, ASAP!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at La Dolce Vita in Positano and we absolutely loved it. Our room was very spacious with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. It was very clean and well stocked with a safe and fridge. Maryse and her husband were very hospitable and we were rewarded after our trek with our luggage down the steps from the car park with a cold beer from Maryse! The hotel is situated in a bay just next to the main village of Positano but the walk between the two is a lovely coastal path with stunning views. We had a wonderful stay and want to thank Maryse and her husband!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 7 nights in September. We were attempting to do Positano on a limited budget, seemingly not an easy thing to do but we both agreed that we had made a good choice when booking La Dolce Vita.

We had a spacious and beautiful room with a huge balcony and a really comfy bed. We found that the location was perfect once we had carried our suitcases down the 300 steps or so from the road, as it it only 100 steps up from the beach, and not in the bustle of the town centre. Maryse even gave us cold drinks as we arrived so we could recover from the climb down. The main town is only a few minutes away along a really picturesque cliff walk and there are restaurants and beach bars nearby. We recommend Lo Guarrancino along the path to town for a great view and good value food.

Maryse was very friendly at breakfast and helpful with travel advice about Pompeii and Capri. Our room was cleaned thoroughly every day. I would not hesitate to stay here again, thank you for having us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Dolce Vita

Address: Via Fornillo 31, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The scenery is amazing, the beach of Fornillo is set between steep mountains green hills and the beach. The house used to be a simple fisherman's house,once the only one on the beach. Now, the house offers 6 comfortable bedrooms on two levels,facing the sea, full south, with balcony or terrace or garden, bathroom with shower, fridge, air conditioning and daily breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.