We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montemare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montemare to your Saves list
Hotel Montemare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pasitea 119, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Positano
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A wonderfully pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were booked at the Hotel Montemare by our cooking vacation organisers and fortunately, it turned out to be a great place. Ideally located, it has one of the best views from the sea facing balconies, restaurant and breakfast terrace. Service is good and the staff at the reception spoke English and were always very helpful. Rooms are clean and spacious. The only thing it lacked was a tea tray. When we asked for an electric kettle we got one. Breakfast was sumptuous. Wifi worked extremely well and fast. The restaurant food was excellent as was the service. Highly recommend this hotel...although you should ask for a sea facing room and if you can afford it, take one of the bigger ones.

Room Tip: The bigger room with a projecting balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    62
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
15
105
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hotel Motemare is in a great location with beautiful ocean front view everywhere. The hotel is decorated very nicely, and the hotel staff spoke good english and were always helpful to our requests. The hotel is located high in the hill on the west side of town. The view from the resturant is amazing. Likewise, the breakfast terrace provided wonderful views and was a lovely start to each day. The breakfast staff were all helpful and courteous. We found the hotel extremely clean. A true gem. Understand, however, that Positano is situated on the mountain, and it takes about 15 minutes to get down to the beach (several hundred stairs). It's unlikely you will forget something in your room a second time. Unfortunately, the internet went out the second day we were there, and it was not fixed when we checked out 2 days later.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We arrived in Positano by ferry and immediately were faced with the challenge of getting to the Montemare. Although you can see it from the sea front, I didn't appreciate how high the hotel was in this extremely steep town. Mistakenly, I thought we could walk to the hotel up a staircase that started behind the tourist information office. Ordinarily, this would be possible but we had two heavy suitcases and the sun was baking.

We arrived at the hotel just about ready to drop. It was just before 2pm an fortunately our room was available straight away.

The walk through the corridors was a little concerning as there appeared to be a damp problem with paint coming off the walls in parts. However, upon arriving in our room, we were pleasantly surprised. It wasn't the most modern, didn't have a balcony you could sit out on and the wardrobe top hadn't seen a duster in a while but that aside, was well laid out and had everything we wanted.

That evening, we ate in the restaurant Capitano attached to the hotel. It was Friday night and I think we were fortunate to get a table without making an advance reservation. We were so pleased they could accommodate us, the food, drink, service, views and atmosphere were absolutely amazing. It might not be the cheapest meal you'll have in Positano but was certainly worth every penny and definitely a recommendation if some romance is required during your stay!

The following morning, breakfast was served in a room with outside terraced seating. We were both very impressed with the selection of food. Hot and cold options were available, it was well laid out, the staff were friendly and was a very enjoyable part of our stay.

We had noticed our shower tray wasn't draining and the cubicle leaked water across the floor. This was reported to reception in ear shot of the owner but I didn't feel they took my concerns terribly seriously. In fairness, somebody did improve the drainage but the shower continued to leak water across the floor during our stay.

There are lots of bars, restaurants and shops within an easy walk of this hotel but if you can't face all the steps, it is a 15 minute or so walk into the main part of town. I would readily stay here again but feel the price is top end for a hotel that lacks a pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here just for one night while touring around Italy, everything from the staff the ambiance the wonderful views would make us return unfortunately one night was not enough, this is really somewhere you could unwind and relax. I hope one day we can return for longer.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed in the Montemare Hotel from 3rd may 2014 and both my husband and I loved every minute of it.
Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely family and hotel staff, from carrying bags to getting transport. Breakfast excellent food and view.
WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I spent the last week of October in this hotel while we toured the Isle of Capri, the Amalfi Coast, and the Pathway of the Gods (Sentiero degli Dei). The front desk staff patiently and courteously answered our every question about the city and region and advised us how to save money on bus fares. The hotel is kept immaculately clean, the free breakfasts were more than adequate and the view from our room spectacular.

We would return to this hotel should we pass that way again and would certainly recommend it to friends going to Positano.

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad room - they all look out on the Tyrrhenian Sea, and along the Amal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We drove the Amalfi coast in search of a perfect place to stay. There may be things to see or do in other towns, but Positano is the one to stay in.

This hotel offered a discounted rate because we arrived late and checked out the next day. It would have been nice if we could have stayed longer.

The hotel itself is clean and quiet with lovely views and a nice European breakfast. The best part is the parking on top of the building, we were able to park and walk down to our room, excellent after a long drive.

We'd stay here again.

Hint: the parkades are great if your stay is more than one night. Be sure to walk into the pedestrian area even if you're tired, it's worth it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#15 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#25 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#35 of 40 in Positano
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#17 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#24 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Talamo
Palazzo Talamo
#30 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montemare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montemare

Address: Via Pasitea 119, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montemare 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Montemare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemare Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montemare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.