We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Positano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montemare

Save Saved
You added Hotel Montemare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Montemare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pasitea 119, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 41 hotels in Positano
san luis obispo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Positano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here with my sister and we were both delighted with this hotel. Our room was beautiful and charming and had incredible views! The restaurant was very good also. We loved staying high up on the hill overlooking Positano and enjoyed walking to and from town. One bit of advice is to get a porter to carry your luggage in Positano as it is a steep town with lots of steps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
79
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

VIEWS, VIEWS, VIEWS!!!!! Beautiful Hotel high up the hill with stunning views of the Mediterranean. Bright and fresh rooms....Love this hotel! Great restaurant with beautiful views of the Mediterranean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, the room was large and clean though pretty basic. It's main attraction beside the beautiful view for us was the fact it had parking, as we hired a car in Naples and drove down the coast. However only the first 2 days of parking were free. One of the days we hired a scooter from Pipi's about 200m down the street towards the main beach and parking overnight for the scooter was free too. Wifi was fairly slow, but we found that everywhere we went in Italy. Service was only fair, yes we did have to carry on our luggage, but when we did have a question staff did try to help. The other big plus was the jacuzzi, which we filled every afternoon after walking back up the hill and used it to cool off. We dined at the restaurant one night because of it's beautiful view, however we had much nicer meals and service at other roadside restaurants around Positano.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with 2 friends for a long weekend in Positano.
The location is good, a short walk down to the heart of Positano's main square and shops.

The room was a good size, but very basic. The beds weren't very comfortable and the furnishings are a bit dated. The doors and locks were creaky and in need of replacement.

The low points was the service. The lady at reception greeted us with "Passports please" and didn't even advise us on breakfast, WiFi or anything about the hotel. There was no one to help us with our bags even though we were two levels below the reception level. We were told off by the same lady when we returned from our afternoon swim saying that we had to leave the keys in reception if we going to leave the premises. If she was helpful enough to tell us that upon check in, we would have!

Breakfast was basic and not very appetizing and the WiFi was barely available as it keep on dropping in and out and when connected was extremely slow.

We asked for extra towels only to be asked why? Don't you have any in your room?

Our friends were staying at a different hotel in Positano (Hotel Miramare) who had the sweetest, friendliest lady on reception who was more than happy to help us, even though we weren't staying at her hotel!!! It just made us think that we really lucked out with Hotel Montemare.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Warrington, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel - the review is regarding their restaurant. This restaurant takes advantage of its position in that it suckers you in to asking for a table they then proceed to deliver the poorest food and service in the whole of Campania! We had to ask for our main course, given no explanation and no apology. After asking the first time it still didn't arrive and the waiters seemed to do their best to avoid eye contact..... Positano has so many wonderful restaurants and most with great views so give this one a wide berth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have visited this hotel on many occasions and it has never disappointed. My husband and I made a point of visiting on our honeymoon. The rooms are wonderfully decorated in colourful tile. The location is just perfect as it is above the craziness of the tourist streets just below, and we didn't mind walking as we were able to take in the full length of the street shops. The hotel has a restaurant associated with it and the food is fantastic. The view at night time overlooking the water with all the boats lite up is quite the sight. Even if you decide on a different hotel - the restaurant is a great one to try out one night.
The family runs the restaurant and are very accommodating. Breakfast is held in this beautiful blue veranda overlooking the water - breathtaking.
We have recommended this time and time again to family and friends and they have never been disappointed.
Also, the price, can't be beat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is definitely not a 5 star...but was much nicer than most European 3 star hotels in my experience. Rooms are very large - and most have balconies w/ a spectacular view. Front desk was super helpful in providing info on the area (like where to catch the bus, copy of ferry schedule, etc). Even though I didn't love the breakfast (somewhat typical European fair of meats and cheeses, rolls, yogurt, and assorted pastries & fruit), it was nice to have it available. And the views overlooking the water from the terrace where breakfast was served were amazing! Cleaning service in the rooms each day was also excellent. Overall, I was thrilled w/ my stay...and would have given it a 5 rating had it not been so outrageously priced. TA price range listed was WAY lesss than the price per night that I paid.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Montemare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montemare

Address: Via Pasitea 119, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 hotels in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montemare 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Montemare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemare Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montemare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.