We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, large rooms, and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montemare

Save Saved
You added Hotel Montemare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Montemare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pasitea 119, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 41 hotels in Positano
Chicago
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great views, large rooms, and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is definitely not a 5 star...but was much nicer than most European 3 star hotels in my experience. Rooms are very large - and most have balconies w/ a spectacular view. Front desk was super helpful in providing info on the area (like where to catch the bus, copy of ferry schedule, etc). Even though I didn't love the breakfast (somewhat typical European fair of meats and cheeses, rolls, yogurt, and assorted pastries & fruit), it was nice to have it available. And the views overlooking the water from the terrace where breakfast was served were amazing! Cleaning service in the rooms each day was also excellent. Overall, I was thrilled w/ my stay...and would have given it a 5 rating had it not been so outrageously priced. TA price range listed was WAY lesss than the price per night that I paid.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    44
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
80
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have stayed here on two other occasions and love it. The view is fantastic and most of the rooms have a view, there is a fantastic balcony that overlooks the whole of positano with a restaurant and bar. Beautiful food. A family run hotel with staff very friendly. Breakfast is provided in the price and we could get a wide range of pastries, toast, fruit, yoghurt, cereal and cold meats. Tea, Coffee and Cappacucinos. Would definitely stay here again, the other good thing about this hotel is there is only a couple of steps from the hotel to the road. Rooms are extremely large and spacious with the most fantastic shutters on the windows as well. I think most of the rooms have balconies. On both occasions that we have stayed we have had a balcony. The website photos are extremely accurate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

My new wife and I stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon and were in awe of this place. The view from the room was absolutely magnificent, the room was a spacious size and was always immaculately cleaned. Infact, my wife sleeps with a teddy bear and the cleaners would put the bear in cute positions while we were gone (i.e. sat forward with its arms on its chin on a pillow, facing the door as we come in). That's just small example of that little extra they offer here. I've some of the other reviews here I don't understand how they complain about the staff, they were very polite and hospitable towards us, helping us with every request always with a smile on their face. The air conditioned room was very welcome in the mid-30 degree climate that was present on our visit. The food at the sister restaurant was, as we found everywhere in Positano, extremely well cooked and presented, again with inspiring views. We would, without hesitation return here, it was wonderful and made for a perfect honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011 via mobile

Stunning views as everyone else has said although it depends on your room. If you're in the 'cheaper' rooms downstairs, room 40 and under are ok otherwise your view is partially obscured by an old house in front. We had room 40 and it was huge, spotless and nicely decorated with a great jacuzzi (actually worth using unlike some). The staff wereostly lovely as opposed to some comments on here especially the woman at reception that was pleasant and helpful (but yes, what is with the señora that sits and watches over everyone eating breakfast?).

Nice surprises were a free bottle of limoncello, free beach towels and a good varied breakfast with more amazing views.

Only bad points were the patchy wifi that would sometimes work in our room and sometimes not (but is fine in the foyer - and what is up with this infuriating Italian username and password ticket system? You will find you are logged out so often you'll know the password by heart). Also, the hall noise permeates the rooms as do neighbors footfalls from above and beside you (very annoying) - worst if some selfish person walks around on the tiles in heels. So sleeping with earplugs is on the agenda if you're noise sensitive.

Would I recommend this hotel? Yes on almost all counts bar price - AU$900 for three nights? I know Positano is ridiculously expensive but I could stay in Sydney in 5 stars for that!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel was perfect for us! We spent 3 days of our honeymoon here. It is a great little hotel, perfectly located, with the best view and a great restaurant. Staff was friendly and helpful! We are already planning on returning next year =)

A stunning view that will not break the bank!!!! Absolutely stunning!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

When we arrived, we noticed that the hotel is not in the level of the street, so we needed to walk down 2 stairs to get into the reception. After this, we had to walk down another stair, follow a corridor, to finally go down the last stair. It was definitely not easy with our big bags, considering that there was neither a porter nor a lift.
The so commented view was nice from the balcony we had breakfast, for sure, but not from our standard room, that was 50% filled by the roof of the house below us. I asked for another room but there was nothing available, except the one that would cost 3 times more what we have paid, and in our opinion, would not worth it.
The room was large enough, but the window was not working properly, so we were always “enlightened”, at night with the outside lights, during the morning with the sun light, so, if you like darkness to sleep, forget it. Also, because of the little street below our window, there were always people walking and talking, when not also screaming just below us. Although apparently clean, the bathroom was stinky, specifically next to the place where the toilet bowl was located.
The parking lot is located before the hotel, 5 minutes walking, and costs 20 Euros / night. We found another place, also close to this, that charged us 16 euros per night.
We will not come back again, and we do not recommend! But we have to thank Gian Luca, the very friendly receptionist that did his best trying to help us, he was really concerned, and nice.

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms, and check the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

This hotel with it's great location - parking upon request on site - and very friendly staff was a highlight for us. Good value for money. The Il capitano restaurant has one of the greatest views, fantastic food and atmosphere.. The included breakfast was generous, fresh and again had wonderful views.. I wouldn't hesitate to reccomend Hotel Montemare or to stay there again.

Room Tip: request a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montemare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montemare

Address: Via Pasitea 119, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 hotels in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montemare 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Montemare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemare Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montemare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.