We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving Positano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Positano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Save
You added Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast to your Saves list
Via Fornillo 42, Positano 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Greensboro
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loving Positano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We really want to go back to Positano.We loved it,what a great little Italian town and this hotel was perfect for my wife and I.The owner,Carlo is such a nice man,he greets all his guests as if they were old friends.He makes you feel welcome and will help you in any way he can.The hotel has some age on it,but I felt like I was at home,and Carlo a family member.It was clean and had everything we needed.Get the ocean view room with terrace,you will be glad you did.We will stay here again.I love Italy,and I love Pensione Maria Luisa in breathtakingly beautiful Positano.Ciao Carlo! Gracie,Gracie!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    66
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
93
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is my second stay at Pensione Maria Luisa and it was just as good as the first - we even had the same room! (room 5 with a terrace and THOSE views!).
Carlo is a warm and wonderful host. He even offered laundry facilities and after three weeks of travel, it was such a luxury to have some clean clothes. He has washing lines and pegs on the terrace (unobtrusive) for guests which was a lovely touch. We expected to pay for this laundry at the end of our stay - but no - it was free!
The room is basic - there is no TV which didn't matter to us - but it does have free wifi and a little refrigerator. The bathroom is good, beds are comfortable and it's close to some great restaurants. Also, if you're up for the challenge, Fornillo Beach is a couple of hundred stairs down but well worth it.
For 85 euros per night it is unbeatable value in a town notoriously expensive. I would not stay anywhere else. Love this place!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying @ Pensione Maria Luisa for 4 nights in October. The room is VERY basic, but the views from the balcony were spectacular!!!!!!! We had a private terrace room (Room 6), so I would strongly suggesting those types of rooms!

The owner, Carlo was one of the sweetest men I have ever met! His English was good, and he helped us with maneuvering around Positano!

My suggestion....if you are looking for just a basic room with a good rate in Positano, then this place is for you. But if you are looking for luxury, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Beach, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We drove in one long day from Ferrara to Positano, arriving just before sunset. We had no idea what the Amalfi coast would be like or what a town like Positano would be like either. Wow! Carlo was very accomodating, room was quite large and nice. For a last-minute booking, I was very happy. And the price was more than fair, 65 Euro per night. The only problem was I did not know that you had to order breakfast in advance, so the next morning after getting our car out of the garage we stopped at the local store and got some sandwiches and coffee to go. At 8 Euros for both of us it was the cheapest meal of the whole week. We could not have enjoyed Positano more.

Only negative was that WiFi coverage in our room (#9) was very spotty, and dropped frequently. As I moved around the room, different wifi hotspots would appear and disappear, very strange. Best reception was obtained when standing in the shower, but this is hard on equipment.

By the way I decided to come to Positano based totally on a recommendation on a Tripadvisor forum. Thank you whoever made it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Booked this hotel based on reviews and sooo glad we did. Arrived in Positano by bus from Amalfi (make sure you get off at second Sita bus stop in Positano (from Amalfi) called 'Chiesa Nuova'. A downward stroll with luggage to the hotel (which all the locals we asked knew well) took about 15 minutes. Very glad we didn't arrive by boat as Positano is very steep and the hotel is situated up high. Met Carlo who was such a lovely host and so warm and welcoming. Our room no.4 was smallish but had everything we needed and was clean, basic and rustic in a charming and relaxing way. The real wow of this room was the view - just open the doors onto your private terrace and take in that amazing view of Positano! Definitely go for a room with a private terrace. Sitting in that sun having breakfast and relaxing there during the day was just the best. Absolutely the place to stay on a budget and for unforgettable views. Location was great and a stroll down to the nearby beach was easy but returning up those steps needed a bit more time! Lots of stylish restaurants nearby and a few little supermarkets as well. Would very happily return here! Thanks Carlo!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews, it’s affordability and availability. I travelled to Positano with my family and booked 3 rooms. We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation. The location is good and it is located high up in Positano. It is rustic but that’s what we liked about it and one of our rooms had a magnificent terrace looking out to sea. Carlo who is the own/manager was adorable and so friendly and helpful. He was always available to help us. We needed to print our boarding cards and asked him about a printing service in town. He offered to let us use his own printer, but it wasn’t working at the time so he rang his sister who owns another hotel down the road. He arranged for us to use her printer. He didn’t have to but he did so with a smile. Another night we asked him if he sold water at the Pensione and he just gave us free bottle he had in his office. We asked about a Laundromat and Carlo said we could use the in-house washing machine. Carlo always went above and beyond his call of duty, which was touching. Can’t wait to come back to explore more of the Amalfi Coast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Here is the low-down: the rooms are basic and some are small, but you can't beat the location, price, or the views. The true gem of this place however, is darling Carlo, who will attend to your every need. He is so genuine and charming, a far cry from the glitterati and pretentiousness we found in every corner of Positano. It makes you feel like this is what the true Amalfi Coast is about. Views, nice people, and a rustic feel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast

Address: Via Fornillo 42, Positano 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.