We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Punta Regina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Punta Regina to your Saves list
Albergo Punta Regina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pasitea 224, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Magical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here to attend a wedding and it could not have been more perfect. I have never received better service in a hotel with all of the staff possessing an almost sixth sense as to what the guests require. The food was excellent, the views breathtaking and everything else simply faultless. Would highly recommend to everybody.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    43
    12
    0
    3
See reviews for
46
270
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed at the Albergo Punta Regina for 4 nights in early July 2012 and was travelling alone.

From my frist email to the hotel (I booked direct) I was impressed - the replies were professional, friendly and prompt. They made it really easy and held the room for me whilst I booked the flights. They also arranged the transfer for me, which was great.

On arrival late in the evening, the greeting was warm and friendly. I was promptly shown to my room and what a delight it was. I had a room on the first floor and it was lovely with a little juliet balcony and an original tiled floor. It was massive too. It looked out on to the street so you could watch the world go by. The floors on level 2 and 3 have big balconies with stupendous views, but my room suited me fine as I was able to enjoy the views on the terrace (level 4). At night it was really peaceful, during the day you could hear the traffic passing, but then I wasn't really in the room during the day.

The terrace on level 4 for breakfast and evening drinks was the best! This is also where the pool is. The views are simply amazing and it is kept so perfectly clean and tidy. The pool is small but perfectly formed and is such an addition to the hotel (I gather it only opened this summer). The breakfast is lovely - a wonderful selection of food and sooooo relaxing looking out over Positano. Lovely and easy to go for a dip before breakfast too.

What really makes the hotel though is the staff. Francesca and Giuseppina on reception are really friendly and full of helpful advice for getting the most out of the local area. Gianluigi who runs the terrace is fab. He is very friendly and spent ages helping me draw up a route for the Hike of the Gods. He was full of useful information about the local area and even drew me a map. Without his help I would have struggled to find a suitable route. He even gave me his friends name to help me out when I reached Priano.

The hotel is ideally situated for getting around Positano and the Amalfi coast. I visited Capri, Amalfi, Ravello and walked the Hike of the Gods (a beautiful walk in the mountains way above Positano). It takes about 5/10 minutes to walk down the steps into the centre of Positano and a little longer to get back (I took the road route back cos it was easier than the steps). If you prefer you can catch the local bus back up the hill. They run every 15 mins and only cost about £1. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in the immediate vacinity of the hotel so you don't have to go into the centre in the evenings. I went to 3 of the restaurants nearby (2 mins walk) and they were all great - tasty food with fab views.

Don't hesitate, just book it and get out there.

Room Tip: If you can't one of the rooms with the balcony and views, book a room on the first floor and enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H.I. Ambacht
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Warm, charming, intimate. Only some qualifications we give to this lovely hotel where we stayed the first two weeks of june. This is still a real Italian hotel, run by a very kind Italian family and their perfect, service-minded staff. The rooms and terraces are spacious, the good breakfast on the roof terrace with the great view on the bay and rocks is a perfect start of the day and on the same roof you find the swimming pool to have a refreshing plounge at the end of a warm day! The hotel is very clean also and perfectly located (quiet but not too far from the centre, surrounded by some very nice restaurants). We could have stayed here all summer! What more can we say?
We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

From the jovial Francesca on reception to the sea view terrace breakfast served by friendly staff, via the jacuzzi on the sun drenched balcony adjacent to the biggest hotel room I have ever had the pleasure to stay in....this made for a unique and totally pleasurable honeymoon stay. Fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Couldn't fault this place. The service was outstanding, the view spectacular, the pool great after the trek up the stairs, breakfast amazing and generally nothing vaguely negative to report! Will be back one day!!

Room Tip: Level 2 has the biggest balcony with the most stunning view!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Punta Regina in May. The hotel is charming and in a great location. Far enough away from the town to be quiet and peaceful and close enough to comfortably walk up and down the steep hill into town. The staff are very accomodating and do everything possible to make your stay comfortable. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace is very nice. There is a nice assortment of breakfast foods some pre-made and some made to order. The front office staff was very helpful with making reservations for dinner as well as car arrangements for tours and transportation.
We took the train from Rome Termini to Naples and the staff arranged a car to pick us up in Naples and arranged the return. It is the easiest way to get from Rome to the Amalfi Coast. I originally planned to rent a car, but am glad that I didn't. Our driver, Raphaele was great. The Amalfi Coast highway is not a place to see for the first time while you are also driving. It is rather harrowing. Most of the cars parked along the road have been sideswiped due to the narrow passage. Positano is a wonderful town and the Punta Regina is the perfect hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have views of the Mediterranean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at Punta Regina for four nights during our honeymoon. Although the hotel is officially four star, everything is five star quality from the fantastic service, large rooms and great breakfast whilst the rooftop terrace and pool offer breath taking views of Positano.

We cannot recommend this hotel enough, it's romantic and great value.

A special mention and thanks to Francesca and my special friend Josephine who had lots of patience with my nightly barrage of questions, they both could not do enough to help. The guys up on the roof terrace are also extremely helpful and make great cocktails, especially Jon Luigi.

You will not be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Albergo Punta Regina, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you very much indeed for your kind feedback and either me and the staff all wished to thank you also for the beautiful pictures you have taken and shared with everybody. I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in a very next future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Punta Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Punta Regina

Address: Via Pasitea 224, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#11 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Punta Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Punta Regina is a charming and romantic hotel with 18 rooms in the heart of Positano.Originally a private villa it has been carefully restored, combining original characteristic charm with the best of contemporary features.The building lies on Via Pasitea, the main street in town, and is easily accessible.Built on four levels, the Hotel has a breath-taking view of the Mediterranean waters, that has made Positano famous.While relaxing from your terrace, not only will you enjoy the sight of "Li Galli" island and the tower "Clavel", but also the many boats sailing in the blue colored waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Punta Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Punta Regina Positano
Albergo Punta Regina Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Punta Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.