We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay in Positano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Maresca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Positano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Maresca
Save Saved
You added Casa Maresca to your Saves list
Via Lepanto N. 17/21, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Positano
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay in Positano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at Casa Maresca over the August Bank Holiday weekend, so Positano was a hub of activity. Casa Maresca, by contrast, was wonderfully calm. The apartment is situated in a great location, between the main beach and the smaller (and in my view, far prettier) beach.

If it's somewhere fancy you're after, then this is not the place for you, but with hospitality like this, who needs fancy?! Lucia and her husband Paul could not have been more helpful - from greeting us at 1am after a delayed flight, to arranging transfers to and from the airport - and everywhere in between, to recommending and booking a number of excellent and very good value local restaurants. I'd been told that the Amalfi Coast was very expensive, but it really doesn't need to be.

The highlight of Casa Maresca is undoubtedly the terrace with wonderful views of the water. Great for eating breakfast and for drinks in the evening.

I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Located half-way up/down the mountain - which is apt because (a) the SITA major bus stop into/out of Positano (and an ATM) is located at the very top of the hill. The beach (conversely) is at the very bottom, and a number of restaurants and shops between.

Casa Maresca allows you to a 30 minute walk to get to either, whilst giving you access to that amazing coastal view for which Positano is famous.

It's a modest dwelling, but has everything required: Mini Fridge, air con and clean towels. And up a set of steep stairs across the road, you'll find a laundromat, which is very handy. There is also a secret path that takes you from Casa Maresca, directly down to the smaller beach. But the winner, is really the balcony. Stretching across the three (or four?) apartments, stretches a nice, wide balcony with an uninhibited view of the big Positano blue.

Lucia and her husband Paul are very gracious and helpful hosts - my only criticisms would be no wifi and a bit of a lack of privacy (the doors to the apartment are large glass sliding doors, so you have to black out the room to get any privacy).

But all in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We visited Paul and his family last year and loved the place so arranged for this year.
We moved house this year and had no break for 6 months when we arrived this year and if you need relaxation, sun and a happy trouble free atmosphere come here.
Both myself and my husband were so tired and yet we had a week that rejuvenated us just by sitting on a lovely balcony watching the world go by and taking time out.
The best thing is being yourself
I wish I could write a horrible review and then I could keep the place to myself but I can't (and yes we have already booked for next year)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai,India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Lovely Lovely Lucia! Very helpful . I stayed there last month. I wish I had stayed for few more days. I plan to return again. You can sit on the terrace and not go anywhere! Rooms are simple,clean and comfortable. Lucia had lovely suggestions about the things which we could do and where we could eat. What a gem of a place and very central. Will return soon.Thank you Lucia

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Casa Maresca was the perfect location for our stay in Positano! Our family rented the large apartment complete with terrace overlooking the sea. We started and ended our day there! Gorgeous view and central location, as we walked everywhere. Paul and Lucia were there to greet us and we are so thankful for Paul's recommendations of restaurants! The walk down the steps to the beach was a great workout..especially after eating all the wonderful food. Very reasonable rates and great service!

Room Tip: Choose the apartment (2 bedrooms) at top with terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed with Paul & Lucia in early June this year (2012) for our second time. We had a great stay, and it was great to catch up and chat with Paul & Lucia. The location is great, only 5 mins to the he beach and only 5 mins into very center of Positano. The rooms are great value and really clean and comfortable. Both Jo and I look forward to returning to Positano and staying in Casa Maresca once again. Kind Regards, Dave.

Room Tip: The balcony is a must, plenty space and peace & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We loved Casa Maresca and we loved Lucia and Paul. Simple rooms overlooking the Meditterean. We could have just spent all day sitting on the terrace overlooking the sea in between short walks into Positano for a swim, coffee or gelato! Well worth it and we will be back to stay even longer!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Maresca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maresca

Address: Via Lepanto N. 17/21, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling above the Fornillo beach and immersed in green, Casa Maresca is a small family run Residence. It is ideal for a quite and tranquil stay in Positano and is just a few steps away from the main road where there are local shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Maresca Positano
Casa Maresca Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Maresca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.