We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, great balcony view for your money.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Maresca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Positano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Maresca
Save
You added Casa Maresca to your Saves list
Via Lepanto N. 17/21, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well located, great balcony view for your money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Located half-way up/down the mountain - which is apt because (a) the SITA major bus stop into/out of Positano (and an ATM) is located at the very top of the hill. The beach (conversely) is at the very bottom, and a number of restaurants and shops between.

Casa Maresca allows you to a 30 minute walk to get to either, whilst giving you access to that amazing coastal view for which Positano is famous.

It's a modest dwelling, but has everything required: Mini Fridge, air con and clean towels. And up a set of steep stairs across the road, you'll find a laundromat, which is very handy. There is also a secret path that takes you from Casa Maresca, directly down to the smaller beach. But the winner, is really the balcony. Stretching across the three (or four?) apartments, stretches a nice, wide balcony with an uninhibited view of the big Positano blue.

Lucia and her husband Paul are very gracious and helpful hosts - my only criticisms would be no wifi and a bit of a lack of privacy (the doors to the apartment are large glass sliding doors, so you have to black out the room to get any privacy).

But all in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We visited Paul and his family last year and loved the place so arranged for this year.
We moved house this year and had no break for 6 months when we arrived this year and if you need relaxation, sun and a happy trouble free atmosphere come here.
Both myself and my husband were so tired and yet we had a week that rejuvenated us just by sitting on a lovely balcony watching the world go by and taking time out.
The best thing is being yourself
I wish I could write a horrible review and then I could keep the place to myself but I can't (and yes we have already booked for next year)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai,India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Lovely Lovely Lucia! Very helpful . I stayed there last month. I wish I had stayed for few more days. I plan to return again. You can sit on the terrace and not go anywhere! Rooms are simple,clean and comfortable. Lucia had lovely suggestions about the things which we could do and where we could eat. What a gem of a place and very central. Will return soon.Thank you Lucia

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Casa Maresca was the perfect location for our stay in Positano! Our family rented the large apartment complete with terrace overlooking the sea. We started and ended our day there! Gorgeous view and central location, as we walked everywhere. Paul and Lucia were there to greet us and we are so thankful for Paul's recommendations of restaurants! The walk down the steps to the beach was a great workout..especially after eating all the wonderful food. Very reasonable rates and great service!

Room Tip: Choose the apartment (2 bedrooms) at top with terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed with Paul & Lucia in early June this year (2012) for our second time. We had a great stay, and it was great to catch up and chat with Paul & Lucia. The location is great, only 5 mins to the he beach and only 5 mins into very center of Positano. The rooms are great value and really clean and comfortable. Both Jo and I look forward to returning to Positano and staying in Casa Maresca once again. Kind Regards, Dave.

Room Tip: The balcony is a must, plenty space and peace & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We loved Casa Maresca and we loved Lucia and Paul. Simple rooms overlooking the Meditterean. We could have just spent all day sitting on the terrace overlooking the sea in between short walks into Positano for a swim, coffee or gelato! Well worth it and we will be back to stay even longer!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Paul and Lucia were the most amazing hosts. We will stay here any time we return to Positano.

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa Maresca for four nights (we had originally planned three but could not leave!). The view from our room (from the bed even!) was looking out over the Mediterranean. The room was simple and perfect, just like the city of Positano itself. The walk to the beach was about 5 minutes, and the residence was located right near some of the best restaurants in Positano (run by the real Italians, not the touristy places that are on the beach and way over priced).

Paul and Lucia cleaned our room every day and even called to make us a reservation at La Tagliata, a nearby restaurant which is AMAZING. They came down and picked us up. When we left, they even found the right bus schedule for us and told us where/when to go!

We really could not have asked for a better place to stay in Positano, we enjoyed the simple, beautiful relaxation that this city allows, with our home base at Casa Maresca.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#24 of 41 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#12 of 41 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 41 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#34 of 41 in Positano
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#2 of 41 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ostello Brikette
Ostello Brikette
#37 of 41 in Positano
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maresca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maresca

Address: Via Lepanto N. 17/21, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling above the Fornillo beach and immersed in green, Casa Maresca is a small family run Residence. It is ideal for a quite and tranquil stay in Positano and is just a few steps away from the main road where there are local shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Maresca Positano
Casa Maresca Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Maresca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.