We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reginella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Reginella to your Saves list
Hotel Reginella
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Pasitea 154, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, wonderful property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here in July2014. I can confirm the previous wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor.
The hotel is really amazing and immaculate, with very clean and comfortable rooms with wonderful bright tiled floors and bathrooms. Relaxing atmosphere with an excellent breakfast with fresh and delicious home made pastries and croissants.
Views are breathtaking and the beach area can be easily reached in 10 minutes.
Good value compared to other hotels. Thankyou Tony!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    51
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
109
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is presented well and family run which is why I love it. There are no phones or coffee machines in the room. Your shampoo is in a plastic rip open bag. The sheets are clean but 70's era.

The views are beautiful and if you have the right room they are not obstructed by the building in front.

It's difficult to get to and quite a bit of a walk to the beach.

Regardless, you have family friendly service, cleanliness, views, great breakfast and in the middle of it all.

I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great professional and friendly staff. Clean hotel and rooms. They are big but old. Tiny TV. The openings are great to isolate the noisy street, but since there's no air conditioning, we had to leave the windows open during the night to get some fresh air. That made it almost impossible to sleep. Noisy cars, buses, scooters and people throughout the night.
Some hotels offer car parking. This doesn't, so you would have to consider an extra 25 Euro per day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Proprietario at Hotel Reginella, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
thankyou to have found time to write a review about our property.
We are very surprised to read that "there's no air conditioning" as all our rooms are air conditioned and it is difficoult to believe that you did not notice it. Should have been any problems with that we would have been happy to assist you if you only had notifed it to us.
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hotel Reginella is wonderful. We had a large, quad room for our family of four overlooking the sea. The balcony was a fantastic place to finish our morning coffee or enjoy a bottle of wine in the evening.

Reginella has an ideal location on the street, so you do not need to hike luggage up many steps. However, there are 400 plus steps down to the beach, but the elevation is what provides the breathtaking views.

Kind staff and always willing to assist with reservations or recommendations. Five star property at a two star price!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This place was exceptional! The staff was friendly, the rooms were immaculate and the view was breathtaking. The hotel is on top of the mountain. The stroll to the beach through the town gives you a chance to visit the shops. Across from the hotel are stairs to the beach which was a great way to exercise if you're up for it. We would love to make it back some day!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hotel Reginella was perfect! Right from check in, they make you feel like family, they even arranged a car to pick us up from the airport in Naples! 110 Euros

The room was spotless, big and Oh my, what a view! We could have stayed on our balcony forever! All the staff went out of their way to be helpful and ask about you plans for the day and give suggestions.

Each morning they have a wonderful breakfast included in the price, that consists of fresh fruit, juices, coffee or teas, fresh baked croissants, other baked goods, fresh sliced bread, cheese and a selection of meats! Wonderful in the true Italian tradition!

This is a small family owned hotel at its best! Do book if going there. We have no complaints! And again, the View was amazing!!! Best in Positano!!!!

Be sure to check out Sweet Positano 2 doors down from hotel, owned by their son Enzo, we purchased a beautiful hand painted table from him that will be an amazing piece to have at home and to remember our trip!

Room Tip: There are many stairs to get down to the beach, although a nice walk if your up for it. But you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel was fantastic from the moment that we arrived. Having rented a car, as soon as we arrived outside the hotel a member of staff came outside to make space for the car to park. We took advantage of the vallet parking which was fabulous. The car was soon collected and was returned very quickly when we requested it on our last day. We had a superior sea view room which was immaculate. The view from the balcony was amazing of Positano and the sea. The breakfast was delicious and the staff were very helpful throughout our stay. The location of the hotel was ideal a nice stroll along the road to the shops. Or there are some (a lot of!) steps opposite the hotel that head straight down to the beach. Close to the hotel are lovely restaurants with an amazing view these were recommended by the staff and did not disappoint. We would definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: The superior sea view rooms are worth the extra money for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Reginella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reginella

Address: Viale Pasitea 154, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reginella 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Reginella is a typical Mediterranean building situated in the heart of Positano. The hotel is surrounded by the most spectacular landscape of the Amalfi Coast, with the characteristic houses perched along the mountainside. La Reginella, whilst boasting stunning views, is also very convenient for the unique local shops. The beach can be reached easily on foot by a walk along the small road which passes the hotel. If you prefer, you could take the steps, the famous "Scalinatella longa, longa, longa..." of the world-famous Neapolitan song, which bring you to Positano’s beach and squares within five minutes. The large rooms, double, triple, and quadruple, are all complete with private bathrooms, air conditioning, central heating, TV, and balconies, and have a fantastic view. The balconies of all rooms overlook Positano's "Spiaggia delle Sirene," the sea, and the wonderful landscape of the Amalfi Coast. Most rooms have a bathroom decorated with the colourful tiles from Vietri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Reginella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reginella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.