We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Posa Posa has it all...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posa Posa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Posa Posa to your Saves list
Hotel Posa Posa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pasitea 165, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Posa Posa has it all...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

High up on the hill, but the bus up and walk down to the shops and beach is not a problem.
Not sure if hotel rooms are fairly rated as a four star. We paid extra for the corner suite for the balcony views, which are absolutely stunning, but balcony needed something??...plant pots. Flowers, perhaps??
The room and bathroom are large, spacious and clean.
However, the restaurant definitely deserves four stars or perhaps five, if you are looking for a fine dining or even a romantic experience. It is not overpriced, and has spectacular view.
The head waiter, Giuseppe, provided excellent service and menu knowledge and makes the best Gin & tonics!!
If you decide not to stay at this hotel, make sure you definitely make a reservation for dinner as you will not be disappointed.
Lucia does a wonderful job helping to match the wine with your meal and, is very informative and passionate about her home country.
The terrace pool area needs a bit of attention. I'm sure a good sweep and clean, would make it feel more inviting!



Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    87
    39
    25
    13
See reviews for
75
130
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I recently stayed at this ideally located hotel in Positano, Italy. The view was terrific but this the only good thing I could say about my stay there. Considering the price of the rooms you should have expected the service to be flawless. But it wasn't. No one to help with luggage, had to wait 15 minutes for someone to be at reception to get my key, and waited 30 minutes to get a glass of wine at the bar(not because of the number of people at the bar, just poor service). The worst experience was trying to meet someone from management to make a last minute change in my stay due to a change in my flight. I tried three days to talk to a manager but he mysteriously had more important things to do than to try to meet with me. I stayed in four different hotels in Italy and loved all of them except this one and this was more expensive than any of the others.
Take my advice and skip this hotel on your visit to Positano.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We reserved 4 nights at this hotel and on Tuesday after the literally harrowing 90 minutes ride from the airport in the car service provided by Posa Posa in "no-traffic" conditions decided that since our flight home was unexpectedly moved by the airline to 7:30 AM on Saturday that we should spend our last night, Friday, closer to the airport. We asked if we could reduce our stay to 3 nights and/or negotiate some cancellation penalty less that the full cost. Their cancellation policy is 16 days -- every other hotel we stayed at in our 12 day stay in Italy had a 2-3 day cancellation policy --- and not only is Posa Posa incredibly rigid on this, but repeated attempts to discuss some compromise cancellation penalty were met with silence. If there was any management presence at the hotel to focus on customer satisfaction they stayed out of sight.The staff at the hotel were not empowered to discuss this with us and would not or could not connect us with management. We continually heard the name Angelo but were never offered the opportunity to talk to him in person or on the phone. I understand that they acted consistently with their policy and that they may have decided not to compromise even after we had the opportunity to explain our situation but the fact that they refused to even have the discussion was a real turn-off to me.

We decided to book a hotel closer to the airport and pay for 2 hotels on Friday night since we were very concerned about the potential for missing our flight if we left on Saturday morning.The car service we used was arranged through the hotel so we moved our airport car request to Friday night and indeed our concerns about leaving Saturday proved to be legitimate. The car arrived to pick us up at 7:00 PM Friday night as scheduled but was too small to hold our luggage --- despite the fact that this same service picked us up at the airport on Tuesday. A replacement car did not arrive until 8:10 P.M. and if this had happened on Saturday morning we would have indeed missed out flight.

O.K.. so what about the hotel itself. To me Posa Posa had the appearance of a hotel on the verge of going out of business or at least focusing on cutting costs significantly. The staff was friendly and efficient but there were very few of them and they all seemed to have multiple unrelated responsibilities. e.g. the folks who served breakfast (this was one of the few positives, breakfast was excellent) were the same who were at the desk and charged with answering questions and providing concierge service. The were clearly not trained to provide this. For example, we asked one of them where the stairs to the beach were and he insisted that there were none despite the fact that we soon found that they were literally right across the street from the hotel. In addition we asked for reservations to be made at a restaurant which provided a shuttle service and this was never done.

As for the room it had a great view but the bathroom was small and the only shower available was a hand held unit attached to the wall in the tub. I really expected much more from a room costing $375 per night.

I would never return to this hotel and would certainly not recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are a shower person be sure to ask for a room with a stall shower -- not all of the rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Recently returned from a 7 night stay at Hotel Posa Posa:

The Good:
- 4-star service by Guiseppe
- view from hotel room and terrace was gorgeous
- great location, near several good restaurants

The Average:
- morning breakfast had good selection, decent cappuccino
- room was typical size for Italy
- clean overall
- short walk DOWN hundreds of stairs to beach

The Ugly:
- hotel pool area unkempt and misrepresented on website
- short walk UP from beach - that is, UP hundreds of stairs
- our room's shower needed a serious re-caulking and re-grouting - mold staining issues +++, don't expect this at $300 per night
- room next to elevator was extremely noisy - at times it sounded like there was a bowling alley over our heads, had to sleep with earplugs

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Almost everything exceeded my expectations about Posa Posa. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful--Daniela at the front desk was perfect. The setting was amazing and convenient (quiet little bus stop right out front, no schlepping of luggage). The room was absolutely lovely. Guiseppe and Lucia are gems--fun and warm. And the food and service in the restaurant was excellent; one of the best meals I've had in Italy for dinner. Posa Posa is terrific. I would go back and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stay here for a romantic feel and friendly staff.

Giuseppe was a wonderful host and provided the top hospitality for our entire stay. Always friendly and accomodating any request we had. Angelo provided a gret room with a wonderful balcony and view.

We will definately look forward to coming back to Posa Posa soon and to say that we were very satisfied is an understatement. Great location for transportation, the room was better than we could have imagined and wonderful food was a bonus. I would recommend Posa Posa to any of my family and friends.

Quick hint, Call or email Angelo for any special requests on room or views, etc. Awesome staff and facility with a great value too - "GRAZI Tanto !"

Room Tip: Call ahead or email for any special request to Angelo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

4 night stay here was one of the better hotels in our trip through Italy.

Had good service from staff in hotel and made to feel welcome, buffet breakfast was also to Italian standard and fresh.

Try and get rooms on 5 or 6 floor for amazing sea views. With the views however keep in mind this hotel is some 750metres from beach up hill. Either you like walking up stairs
or tip you can use the local bus.

Avoid rooms with rocks, ie room 601 as has a damp smell which is quiet unpleasant.

All in all would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posa Posa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posa Posa

Address: Via Pasitea 165, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Posa Posa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star historical Hotel Posa Posa has a splendid location in the center of Positano, set in the mountain-side descending to the sea. Dècor is romantic and original, with hand painted tiling and Mediterranean colours on white backgrounds throughout the hotel room's. All the rooms, anyone different from another, are elegantly furnished and have the best comforts such as: air conditioning (heating), satellite TV, direct dial telephone, minibar, en-suite bathrooms with shower or jacuzzi and hairdryer.At the 4th level, with a wonderful panoramic view, the Restaurant Mirage. The best dishes of the regional or internation cuisine are always available. The restaurant also has a wonderful terrace overlooking the bay of Positano. It can be used for a romantic marriage.By the Restaurant there is a Bar, where you can taste cocktails and wines listening relaxing music.On the 7th floor there is a wonderful solarium with plange pool eneficial suntan.Only 20 meters there is the parking place, watched over 24hrs, not included in the cost of the hotel.A few minutes walk downhill will take you to the beach, passing boutiques and panoramic pavement cafes along the way. A circular bus routes passes outside the hotel for those days when you might prefer not to walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Posa Posa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posa Posa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.