We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great views, large suite! Room had damp smell!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posa Posa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Posa Posa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Posa Posa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pasitea 165, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great views, large suite! Room had damp smell!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

4 night stay here was one of the better hotels in our trip through Italy.

Had good service from staff in hotel and made to feel welcome, buffet breakfast was also to Italian standard and fresh.

Try and get rooms on 5 or 6 floor for amazing sea views. With the views however keep in mind this hotel is some 750metres from beach up hill. Either you like walking up stairs
or tip you can use the local bus.

Avoid rooms with rocks, ie room 601 as has a damp smell which is quiet unpleasant.

All in all would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    83
    36
    25
    12
See reviews for
75
125
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our visit to Positano was highlighted by our experience at the Posa Posa, a great locaion half way up the hillside of Positano with a great view of the mountains, small village and expansive Mediterranean Sea. We had dinner there twice at the restaurant on the upper floor with sunrise views at breakfast and sunset views in the evening, Giuseppe, the Maitre'd, was exceptional and our conversations with him and his attentiveness were highlights of our stay. Ask him to make you a perfect Manhattan. The staff made our stay and Daniela was on duty most of the time we were there. We also enjoyed Maria-Teresa as well, though we saw her less. Daniela is very friendly and like Giuseppi, speaks English very well. We think the location and service are outstanding. We recommend this property to anyone who appreciates attentive staff and a great location.

Room Tip: We loved our room and the view. It was a coolish time of year so we didn't use the pool but ate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The balcony has a great view of the bay. The hotel is built right next to the mountain - check out the bar which has the actual mountain for the back wall. It is only 550 vertical steps down to the beach, with all sorts of great restaurants shops along the way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Such a beautiful city, and what a gorgeous hotel with a magnificent view. The room was spacious, we were a family of 4, gorgeous antique furniture. The floor had gorgeous blue tiles that felt like the see. The concierge was warm and welcoming. The breakfast was top, everybody was happy to help. The views were exquisite.

The hotel is higher up in the hill, so it is a bit of a walk down and up. But because of this we got to experience the whole town and all the charming stores, hidden views and sweet smelling flowers.

Top tip: as you enter,each parking lot will have the names of the hotels, park at the one with your hotel name. Posa Posa's parking is just above it, easy access. They will keep your keys, and keep the car ready for you when you specify you want to leave.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Posa Posa and couldn't have been happier. While the balcony was small (in our room), the view was spectacular. The atmosphere and view at the hotel restaurant's patio was amazing, and it was a perfect place to sit and have a glass of wine and enjoy the view (especially as the sun set), to have breakfast (included and quite good), or to enjoy a great dinner . We ate at several high-end restaurants in Positano, but probably had our best meal at the hotel....food as good or better but staff and atmosphere exponentially better than Chez Black & other ocean side restaurants that made me feel like they were doing us a favor by letting us have the honor of spending large sums of money at their establishments. Lastly, the staff was so friendly and helpful. Guiseppie and Lucia in particular were great (and the only hotel staff in our 2 weeks in Italy we remember so fondly). Sure, there are some nicer/more posh hotels in Posa Posa, but for your money this place is an incredible value. And unless you are going to spend a lot of time in your room, why pay substantially more?

Room Tip: balcony sizes varied quite a bit. Ours was small but view still great. And we preferred to sit up on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent a lovely week at the Posa Posa, and were so impressed with the pride of the staff in their hotel. Gennaro probably had about six different roles while we were there from chief cook to bottle washer and everything in between. But no matter where we saw him, up at the pool, deadheading flowers, to delivering our room service, and carrying our bags, he was genuinely happy to see us and always stopped for a chat. We had a marvelous room with breathtaking views and a large balcony in which we spent practically all our time. Sometimes it is the staff that will tip the scales to make the stay that much greater and in this case Guiseppe, Patricia in housekeeping, Daniella at the desk, and the multi faceted Gennaro made it lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is clean, and all rooms have a great view. Although we only had a balcony we could stand on, we had a sea view from the bed. The restaurant was good. Guiseppe was sweet to talk to. The location was great as just steps from the private beach and also next to the bus stop and short walks to nice restaurants, and shops and Music on the Rocks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posa Posa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posa Posa

Address: Via Pasitea 165, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Posa Posa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star historical Hotel Posa Posa has a splendid location in the center of Positano, set in the mountain-side descending to the sea. Dècor is romantic and original, with hand painted tiling and Mediterranean colours on white backgrounds throughout the hotel room's. All the rooms, anyone different from another, are elegantly furnished and have the best comforts such as: air conditioning (heating), satellite TV, direct dial telephone, minibar, en-suite bathrooms with shower or jacuzzi and hairdryer.At the 4th level, with a wonderful panoramic view, the Restaurant Mirage. The best dishes of the regional or internation cuisine are always available. The restaurant also has a wonderful terrace overlooking the bay of Positano. It can be used for a romantic marriage.By the Restaurant there is a Bar, where you can taste cocktails and wines listening relaxing music.On the 7th floor there is a wonderful solarium with plange pool eneficial suntan.Only 20 meters there is the parking place, watched over 24hrs, not included in the cost of the hotel.A few minutes walk downhill will take you to the beach, passing boutiques and panoramic pavement cafes along the way. A circular bus routes passes outside the hotel for those days when you might prefer not to walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Posa Posa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posa Posa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.