We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful break...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posa Posa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posa Posa to your Saves list
Hotel Posa Posa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pasitea 165, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Welwyn
1 review
“A wonderful break...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife have just had a lovely week (last of September) in Positano, staying at the Posa Posa Hotel. It is a lovely hotel, pleasant and very comfortable, clean, tidy and nicely decorated. The view from up the 'mountain' is fantastic. The staff were delightful and fun and the restaurent excellent.
In summary, a lovely memory.

Hamish and Sally

Room Tip: We had a nice room with a small balcony on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    88
    40
    25
    13
See reviews for
75
131
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A lovely Hotel, quite a way from the beach - bus stop right outside hotel door but be warned, the roads are tight and the buses crammed full of people. The room was comfortable and clean but its the restaurant and the staff that make the hotel special. It was a pleasure to eat there and talk to Giuseppe and the other staff who looked after thoroughly and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely people and I would recommend eating in the Hotel - its as good as anywhere else in Positano with great views and a big smile and chat from Giuseppe "mama mia".

Room Tip: The Head waiter and head waitress here are the most lovely people and made our stay. We felt like fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our family trip to Italy was going great until we came here. Like previous customers we had similar bad experience. Booked and paid for 1 room with view and recieved 2 rooms - one room for kids with big ugle rock in room, smoke smelling pillow, dirty room with a view if you stretch your neck. Then they game my husband and i a room with no windows. I complained and they said they had no other rooms but the following night they would change us. We indeed were given the room we booked for the 2nd night but the damage was done. They took our money and put us were they liked, not were we booked. The bathroom smelt of piss and staff we not friendly at all. The owners were there and it seemed tense. Thanks for making us pay premium price and not delivering. Recommend you dont stay here. There pool was grimy and i accidently let the kids swim there - yuck.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our friends were staying in Positano. We decided to join. We could not find a room. Our travel agent found this hotel. We were treated very nicely. Everyone was helpful. The location was great. The walk down to center of the city, the bus stop in front, the restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Positano can be expensive, but a great experience

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a room with a huge balcony with a commanding view of the coast. Everything is very good, the staff, the food and the quality of the rooms but there is no information in the rooms about the hotel. With such a beautiful balcony it would have been perfect to be able to have dinner on our balcony instead of the (very good also with fine views) restaurant.
The staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful and the food is very good.
Our room was large and well appointed. Pity no bath robes though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Posa Posa hotel for 3nights on Aug 29th. Upon check in we were upgraded to a larger room with the most incredible view and large balcony. (I miss it) The staff were so friendly and eager to make our stay comfortable. The room was very clean and most importantly our bed was comfortable. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk down to the main beach and Porte. I would recommend not taking the stairs as this is harder and not as fun as walking down from the streets. It was fun walking into all the shops. We walked back one time up all the stairs ( a good work out) but opted for the bus on other days. this stops right at the hotel. I would not hesitate to stay here again but would request my room with the large balcony and fantastic view of Positano.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the top floor with large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have been at the Posa Posa for 3 nights. though staff was very friendy our room had the 'feature' of being built in the rock----> damp smell all over. plus just above the shower there as like some sort of cave making it humid and cold. maybe if we got another room.... pro: huge terrace. prices for the bar were expensive for what you get really, 9,50€ por a spritz is way too much. anyway, have to say staff was very friendly, place was clean,

Room Tip: try not to get the rocky rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posa Posa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posa Posa

Address: Via Pasitea 165, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Posa Posa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star historical Hotel Posa Posa has a splendid location in the center of Positano, set in the mountain-side descending to the sea. Dècor is romantic and original, with hand painted tiling and Mediterranean colours on white backgrounds throughout the hotel room's. All the rooms, anyone different from another, are elegantly furnished and have the best comforts such as: air conditioning (heating), satellite TV, direct dial telephone, minibar, en-suite bathrooms with shower or jacuzzi and hairdryer.At the 4th level, with a wonderful panoramic view, the Restaurant Mirage. The best dishes of the regional or internation cuisine are always available. The restaurant also has a wonderful terrace overlooking the bay of Positano. It can be used for a romantic marriage.By the Restaurant there is a Bar, where you can taste cocktails and wines listening relaxing music.On the 7th floor there is a wonderful solarium with plange pool eneficial suntan.Only 20 meters there is the parking place, watched over 24hrs, not included in the cost of the hotel.A few minutes walk downhill will take you to the beach, passing boutiques and panoramic pavement cafes along the way. A circular bus routes passes outside the hotel for those days when you might prefer not to walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Posa Posa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posa Posa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.