We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and a charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posa Posa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posa Posa to your Saves list
Hotel Posa Posa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pasitea 165, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and a charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The view from our room was simply magical, overlooking the beautiful town of Positano. We had a quaint (tiny) balcony which we could enjoy afternoon drinks on which was so romantic and lovely. The room itself was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was adequate and the views from breakfast were simply amazing. The staff did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable and we certainly did have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    88
    40
    25
    13
See reviews for
75
131
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The best thing about Posa Posa- the people. Your first Italian friend will no doubt be Giuseppe- the most fun and friendly person we met on our three week trip. Most of the people at the hotel were very helpful, and we appreciated all of their suggestions. The room we had was quite nice. Keep in mind, this is Positano and it's supposed to be a small (yet touristy) town along the Amalfi Coast. This is not a big city with big luxury. We found our room to be of good value, but don't expect a suite like you might find at proper 5 or 4 star hotel in a big city. The rooms fit the style and feel of the town. It is worth mentioning that the "pool" is really a big lukewarm hot tub, but we actually enjoyed it for what it was. Yes, the hotel can be expensive in high times, but it's only open for part of the year and its not easy for these small hotels to make it. For what we paid and got, we were happy. Don't expect high-end 4 star amenities or rooms, but revel in the charm of the location, views, and some of the great people they have on staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The furniture, bathrooms, blankets are out dated. Our bath tub was leaking and the makeshift shower rod had a dollar store shower curtain. The front desk service was vanilla, nothing to brag about. Best part was views and size of rooms. With some major updating this hotel could live up to its rating.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed three nights at Posa Posa while visiting Positano. Like many others here, we booked at Posa Posa for the views of the town - they are pretty extraordinary. But we left feeling that this is a hotel that has become complacent; it relies on the beauty of Positano and its own vistas to draw guests, not things like, oh, service and cleanliness.

One of the marks of a fine hotel in this price bracket is that you shouldn't have to pay for little things like... an extra egg at breakfast. At Posa Posa, each guest is given one egg at breakfast. Want an extra boiled egg? That'll be 6 euros. Want to use the (incredibly slow and unreliable) internet? That's 10 euros.

The service is inconsistent at best. One evening, when we asked for two extra towels, the desk clerk in the lobby grumbled bitterly about having to do "the work of other employees" and, only after much prodding, finally went upstairs to get us towels. We were shocked. When you're paying this much for a room, and you ask for two towels, the only appropriate answer is "Yes, absolutely, let me get those for you."

Our room was a little worn-out and charmless. The balcony looked like it hadn't been swept in weeks. There was also minimal privacy; only a few plants separated us from our neighbor's balcony.

The free breakfast was lackluster. There was some bread, a few kinds of jam, some boiled eggs, cereal, and some ham (not prosciutto). Nothing was homemade, as far as we could tell. We asked for caffe americano and got something that has the unmistakable taste of Nescafe. We didn't bother going back for breakfast on the second or third day.

If we return to Positano, we will either splurge and pay for genuine luxury, or we will opt for a budget hotel with no pretensions to luxury. The problem with Posa Posa is that it's somewhere in between, and ultimately charges near-luxury rates for sub-par service and accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Beautiful views, excellent (if expensive) restaurant, and lovely well kept property. We were there July 2012 and had a great time. The pool was very small - dont expect to swim in it, it is just for sitting in to cool off. Be aware that this hotel is a way up from the beach - it is a 20 minute walk down, or some combination of a bus and walking. But that is the nature of Positano - built on a cliff there is a lot of walking up and down steep roads or stariways involved, We agree with most reviewers that Giuseppe was wonderful. My wife mentioned wanting to try cegale at dinner one night and Giuseppe went out of his way to have it for us for dinner the next night. Very accomodating and friendly staff. The only negative for me was the long walk down to the down and/or beach, but as I said that is the nature of Positano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

And the hotel Posa, Posa, where beautiful views, a warm staff and beautiful italian tiles line the walls and the bathroom. The suite and the balcony were superb. Would have liked a larger pool, but the intimacy of the place and Luchia, too, and her wonderful morning latte made this such a memorable place for us.

The Reiser Family

Room Tip: Choose the suite, if you can. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Hotel Posa Posa sits high up the cliff offering views of one half of Positano and the Mediterranean sea. We had a junior suite with a large balcony complete w table and chairs in June 2012. Room 505. Fabulous view very day. A little loud at night since the balcony was right above the restaurant where there was live music until 11:00 pm. It was a long walk down to the beach, the harbor and the main shopping area but we enjoyed the scenery along the way and found little cafes along the way to stop for a refreshing lemon cello.

Room Tip: If you are used to American size rooms-choose a junior suite upgrade. Also the bus that circles Pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posa Posa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posa Posa

Address: Via Pasitea 165, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Posa Posa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star historical Hotel Posa Posa has a splendid location in the center of Positano, set in the mountain-side descending to the sea. Dècor is romantic and original, with hand painted tiling and Mediterranean colours on white backgrounds throughout the hotel room's. All the rooms, anyone different from another, are elegantly furnished and have the best comforts such as: air conditioning (heating), satellite TV, direct dial telephone, minibar, en-suite bathrooms with shower or jacuzzi and hairdryer.At the 4th level, with a wonderful panoramic view, the Restaurant Mirage. The best dishes of the regional or internation cuisine are always available. The restaurant also has a wonderful terrace overlooking the bay of Positano. It can be used for a romantic marriage.By the Restaurant there is a Bar, where you can taste cocktails and wines listening relaxing music.On the 7th floor there is a wonderful solarium with plange pool eneficial suntan.Only 20 meters there is the parking place, watched over 24hrs, not included in the cost of the hotel.A few minutes walk downhill will take you to the beach, passing boutiques and panoramic pavement cafes along the way. A circular bus routes passes outside the hotel for those days when you might prefer not to walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Posa Posa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posa Posa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.