We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Mamma Rosa Positano

Save Saved
You added B&B Mamma Rosa Positano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
Via Tagliata 79, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF DIRECT BOOKING
Ranked #1 of 44 Positano B&B and Inns
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Picturesque place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our stay at B&B Mamma Rosa was extremely relaxing and memorable. The room & common area were clean and spacious. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. Host Angelo was attentive, informative and friendly. As a note if you're unhealthy or have mobility issues, there are literally 200 steps up to the house.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
109
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

A charming, family-run B&B in Montepertuso, which is about a 10 minute bus ride from Postiano itself. It's definitely worth travelling that bit further up the mountain from the centre of Positano - it feels a world away, and far less touristy. It's in a perfect spot to start the Walk of the Gods. And there are a few great local restaurants on your door step.
The 2 rooms both have stunning, unbeatable views. The place is immaculate, Angelo and his family obviously take great pride in the place. The breakfasts are delicious (fresh croissant and cappuccino, as well as various cakes, toast, cheese and ham) and they also offer the option of a home-cooked dinner (for an extra 25 Euros a person). They use all fresh, home-grown ingredients (even the sausages are made from their pigs, and the wine is their own!) Delicious and well worth it.
Angelo and his sister are perfect hosts, friendly, knowledgeable about the local area, and very willing to help.
Unreservedly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Angelo and his family lifted this place from a good B&B to a superb B&B.
The service was superb and they could not be more helpful. Views from the place is just stupendous and as others have said well worth the climb of over 200 steps to get there.
Will definitely try and go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

If you have stayed with Mama Rosa, you will understand how hard to leave them. Like to make yourself wake up from a dream.

The view is great that you can never forget. Everything is so clean. Breakfast is what you can't finish all. Room and bathroom are both big. You get everything you need for a trip in your own area. Apart from that, you get more than you expected from the hosts. The family are so nice. They care about their guests. They know your needs before you voice out. They make you a real VIP.

Every day when I was back, I could find a bottle of cold water in the fridge. After climbing up the steps, this was exactly what you needed most!!! When they knew that I need to catch the 8:30 a.m. bus, they offered to pack me a "picnic breakfast" with cakes, fresh croissant and fresh fruits. In the morning, they fetched me a cup of tasty cappuccino at my little balcony. How sweet they are!

Don't miss the food prepared by Mama Rosa. It was a pity to me that I had problems with my stomach that I couldn't have too much during my trip.

You can feel how they care about you as their guest. The place itself if great and the hosts are excellent. Mama Rosa is really a highlight of my trip. Just miss everything there.

Room Tip: No worries, just two rooms in Mama Rosa, both are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

5 days of bliss @Mama Rossa in Positano.
5☆service from the Fusco family.
5☆panaromic view of Amalfie Coast with the sea in front and the mountains at the back.
Worth the climb of 228 steps up the stairway to "heaven".

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My 4 girlfriends and I spend 4 nights in Mamma Rosa and had a fantastic time being taken care by Angelo and his family. On the day before our arrival from Naples we had asked Angelo to prepare a lunch for us and what a fabulous food he had prepared for us especially the Antipasti, Bruschetta and home made wine. Most of the ingredients in making of these lunch came directly from his own garden and it was not only deliciously fresh but organic as well.
Though our accommodation is perched high up on the hill and it took some 230 steps to our beautiful lodging it was worth it because the view was so scenic, breathtaking and the rooms are all beautifully decorated.
Angelo was also very apt and quick in answering our questions and was helpfully with our requests and most of them were dealt with promptly.
Thanks Angelo and family for making our stayed there so memorable. We will never forget our time with Mamma Rosa and hope to return again back to your place someday soon! Your place is truly one of the best I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: All the 2 rooms have breathtaking views and the 2 bathrooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My stay in Mama Rosa has been very memorable. The hospitality by Angelo and his family has been fantastic. Mama Rosa cooking is very authentic Italian and the tiramisu is to die for. The 228 steps was worth the exercise to the beautiful breathtaking view. At the end of our 4 days stay we left with a heavy heart and would recommend the place to anyone who visit Positano.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B Mamma Rosa Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Mamma Rosa Positano

Address: Via Tagliata 79, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Mamma Rosa B&B if you want to have a travel experience like locals! Trekking paths are nearby my property so you can enjoy walking on mountain and have a wonderful view on all over the Amalfi Coast. If you prefer the beach of Positano it's only 5-7 minutes by bus where you can relax under the Italian sun ;-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and HostelWorld so you can book your B&B Mamma Rosa Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Mamma Rosa Positano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.