We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of our trip in Positano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Mamma Rosa Positano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Mamma Rosa Positano to your Saves list
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
Via Tagliata 79, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 47 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seoul
1 review
“The best part of our trip in Positano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at B&B Mamma Rosa for 3 nights in Sept. 2012 and have nothing but great compliments. At first I was worried that the location was a bit too far off from the town center- Mamma Rosa is located in Montepertuso, which is technically like a town next to Positano's main center. However upon arrival and seeing the magnificent view from our room I actually felt a bubble of affection for my boyfriend who made the reservations for this place :-) The 200 steps leading to Mamma Rosa was definitely worth it! (If you're travelling by car, I would advise bringing an overnight bag to carry the stuff you immediately need, and leave the rest in the car)

The host, Melania, was very kind,helpful, and also very good at English. She introduced us to a great restaurant nearby named Il Ritrovo, whose octopus appetizer was so good we went there twice in 3 days. The B&B is very cozy and makes one feel at home, rather than a hostel. The bathroom although not ensuite, is right across the hall from our room and was also very clean with plenty of hot water, which I find important. Melanie only takes two groups of guests at a time (there are 2 rooms & 2 bathrooms), so you can enjoy a quiet stay.

It was simply the best choice for seeing Positano and other nearby towns like Amalfi, Ravello, etc. The town center can be easily arrived by the town bus- for those who enjoy a quiet atmosphere I highly recommend Mamma Rosa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
146
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

When I arrived at the Montepertuso, Melania, Who are the owner of the B&B Mamma Rosa, greeted with warm heart. Say in one word, Mamma Rosa is not a commercial place, but a true italian place. Every facility in room and bathroom was arranged for the family member. In my point of view, when Melania decorates the house, she does not take into consideration for the tourist in terms of ROI(Return of Investment). She tried to let us know the beauty of italian sculpture, furniture and pottery. B&B Mamma Rosa has good view point to see the positano sea, and near the house there is great restarant , il ritrovo (?) which is famous for the fresh sea food with reasonable price. One thing you need to aware is that you need to climb the 230 steps to reach her house. So you'd better carry not too much of luggage. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Melania was so kind, helpful and sweet. The room was so nice, bright, clean and big. That unique view and balcony won´t let you wanna leave the room..you can feel the sea and its peace. The private bathroom was beautiful. The breakfast was delicious. Melania is in every detail so the whole place is amazing and with so much style! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Mamma Rosa's for 5 nights. The room is beautiful and the views we woke up to every morning were amazing. I really appreciated how clean and spaceous the accommodations were. It was a real treat after travelling through Italy for a month. Breakfast was lovely and you can really tell that Melania is proud of her business. On the down side, it is a difficult climb up to the B and B. There are over 200 steps. I was not bothered by this, but my Mother did find it challenging. Luckily, we got help carrying our luggage up and down. I would stay here again, but if you do have any problems with mobility, be forewarned that it could be an issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The room was light, bright and just right for Positano. The view was brilliant and we very much enjoyed sitting on the small balcony in the late afternoon sunshine and having a cold drink. The room came with its own private bathroom and a central kitchen and breakfast room in which Melania provided an excellent European breakfast each morning. We enjoyed sharing our travel adventures with her other guests (she has 2 rooms for rent) Located above the village of Montepurtuso it is a 20 minute ride by bus from central Positano up into the hills behind the town. To our surprise we found that Montepurtuso has some of the best restaurants that were filled each night with the tourists from Positano coming up the mountain.



The BNB is surrounded by tiered farming land where the land owners grow grapes, tomatoes, beans and zucchini.



Melania and Roberto were just fabulous hosts, Melania helped us with our luggage on arrival and when after some very nasty weather on our last day when our ferry was cancelled arranged for us to go with Roberto in his car to Sorrento which saved us from being thoroughly drenched - thanks Roberto!. She also recommended some great local restaurants in Montepurtuso where we ate some very memorable meals.



In short, great host, great location and highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at B&B Mamma Rosa for two nights, the last of our trip along the Amalfi Coast. We stayed here due to it's close location to Positano and we preferred it to the hustle and bustle of Positano! The views were spectacular, right from our room balcony. Melania, our host, was lovely and extremely helpful (even carrying a suitcase up the few hundred stairs to the B&B). The restaurants in Montepertuso, where the B&B is located, are rated very highly so it was very convenient at night for us to have a nice dinner with a view!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We wanted to sample the amalfi coast during our honeymoon in Italy and decided to stay in positano. We chose B&B Mamma Rosa because it was out of the busy area and the rooms looked like there was lots of attention to detail. It turned out to be everything we had hoped for to start our post wedding vacation. The area is quite, the rooms were immaculate, and the host, Melania, was an absolute sweetheart. Melania helped us with the directions via mobile, greeted us at the bottom of the stairs to help us with our bags, and recommended a great restaurant fir dinner, Il Ritrovo, which was fabulous...we ate there twice! We would recommend Mamma Rosa to anyone looking for a getaway on the amalfi coast!

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs but it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B Mamma Rosa Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Mamma Rosa Positano

Address: Via Tagliata 79, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Mamma Rosa B&B in Positano if you want to have a travel experience like locals! Trekking paths are nearby my property so you can enjoy walking on the Path of The Gods with amazing views overlooking the Amalfi Coast. Positano centre and the beach are only 10 minutes by bus that runs every hour from 7.30 Am until 11.20 Pm every day. We have 4 great restaurants near by so you can enjoy great Italian food with spectacular views overlooking the bay of Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and HostelWorld so you can book your B&B Mamma Rosa Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Mamma Rosa Positano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.