We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic hotel in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il San Pietro di Positano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Il San Pietro di Positano to your Saves list
Il San Pietro di Positano
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Laurito, 2, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Most romantic hotel in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been to this hotel twice and I have to say that this is the most romantic, beautiful hotel I have ever been to. It is on the Amalfi Coast of Italy. It's built on stone rising out of the sea. The elevator down to the water (there is no beach just a floating raft where you can lounge and jump off into the clear water, is made of stone. When you are in it it feels like you are in a mine. The hotel is full of flowers and the restaurant is second to none. The hotel faces Capri. This is a pricey hotel but if you are going on a honeymoon or just want to get away with your partner you couldn't ask for a more beautiful site in the world.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a bathtub/jacuzzi facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    29
    18
    10
    15
See reviews for
46
269
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as returning guests for the 2nd time
We brought our almost adult kids
Rooms we got were renovated..nice views of the sea
(Only Afew renovated rooms this year)
Bathroom had one sink
My kids room had a double sink
Our shower was a drop small
We love the facilities !!!
We played tennis almost every day ,we loved having breakfast on the terrace
We loved sitting on the breathtaking beach and jumping into the sea!
We enjoyed the complimentary boat ride for 2 hours with
sangria ,diving in the sea!
The concierge made pretty good recommendations for most nights and the staff was very accommodating
The hotel restaurant for dinner was ok ..they bend over backwards to make you happy though it was a bit pricey
The restaurant by the pool was delicious and so relaxing to sit by
The terrace is magical &mystical at sundown ....great photo op!
The hallways are clean and the housekeeping does a good job
I LOVE this hotel and I hope to be back !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for 1 week in this luxurious but unpretentious hotel in a Double deluxe. The overall Service is very Professional and friendly. They always try to accomodate your requests. The free extras such as the Shuttle service to Positano and the Daily 2h boattrips are additional +ives.
Having Dinner in its One starred Michelin restaurant Zass is Not only Worth for its breathtaking view to the sea but also for the quality and the presentation of the dishes. For us One of the Most romantic places we have ever seen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location is perfect: out of the hustle and bustle of Positano but easy to get there. The grounds are truely lovely with spectacular views and if you want to enjoy the beach, this is the only place to be. The common spaces inside the hotel are elegant, bright and inviting. Our room (26) was amazing with a walk-in closet and beautiful bathroom (one wall of the shower was a window over-looking the ocean). The food was very good and the service excellent. Breakfast included a delicious selection of items but these were the same each morning. The snacks served with drinks were also very good but the same each night. Our only suggestion for this amazing hotel is to add a little variety to the snacks and maybe change one of the breakfast items each morning. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel on the (rather scary - if you're driving) Amalfi Drive has it ALL ! The location overlooking Positano, the ambiance, the supreme service, etc. is ALL worth the expense (which is not cheap !). Let me put it this way - if you stay there, you will NEVER, EVER forget the experience.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the sea but I think all rooms MAY have a "sea view." GOOGLE it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just returned from a wonderfull getaway from Il san Pietro .After we visited some hotels on the Amalfi coast I can say is one of the best if not the best hotel in the area .Everything is exceptional here,lush and manicured gardens full of flowers and lemon trees,beautiful and clean rooms ,great restaurant and breathtaking views.
High quality of services is provided by a well managed team ,very discreet and highly professional employes.The beach is well appointed with chairs and umbrellas,beach boys always attentive to help you;also a nice touch is the complementary daily trip by hotel's boat along the coast with a stopover for a bath and a glass of sangria.
All of this contributed to a very special atmosphere ,were any couple could find the peace and romance if they need to!
Strongly recommend for couples all ages,leave the small kids at home !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was by far one of the most magical places I have ever been to. The gardens are spectacular and the service is impeccable.they only have 58 rooms and the hotel is built into the cliff. Everything was first class there and the views took your breath away. Room 43 was incredible and the staff said it was a favorite room that was recently renovated . If you can splurge to stay here, go,

Room Tip: Get a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il San Pietro di Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il San Pietro di Positano

Address: via Laurito, 2, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il San Pietro di Positano 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Il San Pietro di Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il San Pietro Di Positano Hotel Positano
Positano Il San Pietro Di
Hotel San Pietro Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il San Pietro di Positano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.