We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Tartana

Save Saved
You added Villa La Tartana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa La Tartana
Vicolo Vito Savino, 6/8, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 44 Positano B&B and Inns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Would stay here again if I ever revisited Positano. It's small, cute and the rooms are very spacious, comfortable and extremely clean. Location is fantastic as you are steps away from the beach - no need to walk up and down all day. Also every close to great food, the club Music on the Rocks and lots of little shops.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    42
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
94
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This small hotel was exactly what we were looking for. In the heart of Positano, Villa La Tartana is a very short walk through charming streets to the beach. It was clean and the customer service was fantastic. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a lovely boutique hotel!! From our check-in with sweet Camilla, to our seaside room, everything was perfect. Positano is a predominately pedestrian town. We parked our car once, and did not see it again for 3 days. The Villa La Tartana is a short walk from the closest garage, and your luggage is transported by porters in a small electric cart. When we entered our charming room, we faced the water, a magnificent old church, and one of the most amazing views that I have ever seen. Our room was well appointed, with lots of storage space, a flat screen TV, and plenty of light. There is wi-fi in the lobby if you are interested. The hotel is a half-block walk (downhill) to the beach, and the street, leading to the hotel, is lined with lovely stores and restaurants. The staff was so kind and helpful, and recommended some outstanding restaurants (Bucco de Bacco and Cafe de Positano). They also provide a nice continental breakfast in the morning. I HIGHLY recommend this charming hotel in the magical town of Positano!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We are just checking out of this lovely little villa in positano. It has been wonderful. We stayed in room 26. It has magical views of the beach and town and the best part is no steps from here to main square! The staff have been very accommodating. On our first night there was an error in our booking and they had no rooms, but the staff just found us a bed in the hotel next door! When we did finally get here the next day, they had arranged transfer of our luggage and when they opened the French doors to show us the view we thought we had died and gone to heaven. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in June 2012 and had a double seaview room number 26, which is just as you come up the stairs on first level.

As we walked in the room it was just incredible, the views are amazing and the room was spotless, everything looked perfect. There was a closet to hang you clothes and plenty of drawers to put things away. Bathroom was a bit on the small side but that seems to be common in Italy but we managed fine with the space we had.

Air conditioner worked fantastic and was on when we got in the room so it was nice and cool, the balcony was great had a small round table and 2 chairs and 2 lounge chairs to relax in.

Breakfast was good but mainly croissants and bread rolls, french toast and lots of spreads to go with it but we ended up buying some cereal and fruit just to change it up. Coffee was made to order and was great.

Check in and check out were quick and simple,Carmella was great and all staff were very friendly.
Positano is an amazing place and you would be hard pressed to find a more suitable accommodation, it is situated close to the beach and everything is easy to get to from the ferry dock to shops and restaurants, if we were to return I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd level has amazing views. Our friends had room 28 and their bathroom was slightly larger a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Villa la Tartana late June 2012 - what a beautiful surprise we had on arrival - easy to locate, lovely welcome by the staff with Lucca even carrying our very heavy suitcases up to our room on the second floor! ...... we opened our shutters onto the balcony and the view was to die for. We could not have been happier. It was the pick of all our accommodation in Italy and Croatia.

Thank you all the staff for your informative advice on Positano and surrounds - everyone was so very helpful including giving us ice for our G+T's - nothing was too much trouble.

The twin room we shared was spotless, the beds very comfortable, bathroom a good size, balcony delightful for a rest at the end of the day.

I would recommend this to anyone - you will not be disappointed
Di - Gold Coast

Room Tip: Book early - only 11 rooms in complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Villa La Tartana, we were welcome by a fruit juice when we arrived, which was a lovely touch. The hotel owners clearly invest a lot to make the hotel welcoming. The reception area, and breakfast room, is very clear, clean and airy, there are acquarelles of Positano all over the hotel. While we were there, a huge number of fresh pots of petunias were delivered. The hotel is beautifully situated, very close to the beach and the harbour, right next to the church (which we did not hear at all). Nights are quiet up until 5.30 am. This was the only down side, all 3 mornings we were woken up by the noise of glass collection. We spoke to the hotel reception (got different replies from different persons) but it seems that it is the municipality of Positano that collects glasses at dawn so it would affect all the hotels in the area. Clearly, it is something that the hotel owners should get together about and speak to the authorities about. Still, that should not keep you from staying in this gem of a hotel, as I am sure something will be done about this soon (we just got up and shut the window and slept on until 8.30 am).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa La Tartana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Tartana

Address: Vicolo Vito Savino, 6/8, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa La Tartana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Tartana Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Tartana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.