We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place and Wonderful Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Rosa to your Saves list
Villa Rosa
Via Cristoforo Colombo, 121, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Norther California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Place and Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The VIlla Rosa is basically a wonderful Bed and Breakfast. The room we had had a private balcony with table and chairs to sun, eat breakfast, relax etc.. And most importantly take in the amazing views of the town and coast. The Service was extremely good and things like breakfast brought to the room was VERY prompt! I would go back again and again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    119
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
65
253
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great hotel located directly across from Le Sireuse. Our room was large with a medium sized terrace and an ocean view partially blocked by Le Sireuse. The rooms nearby had an ocean view with a large terrace and a smaller bedroom. A difficult choice. The hotel was nicely furnished and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and we had a nice size shower. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Beautiful, immaculate, stunning views of the sea. Everything about this hotel was just perfect.
From the kind front desk staff, particularly Maria, to the porter who easily carried suitcases and bags up the 75 or so stairs to our room-the service was fabulous. Free breakfast delivered to our room daily and served on our balcony overlooking the sea. The room was spacious and so very clean, and the bed was so comfortable. The location is perfect and the views unmatched and we were easily able to walk most of the Amalfi coast roadway in the few surrounding miles. There is a free shuttle to most area restaurants which was very convenient. Highly recommend Villa Rosa and hope to return for a longer stay one day.

Room Tip: Room 32! The best room with the best views, I had requested this room after reviewing the photos on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a great find! This hotel was superb in so many ways. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous, the rooms very clean and well maintained (though small), and the views were STUNNING. We had a third floor room with a view so amazing it looked unreal at times. Positano is truly a "pinch-me" place, and we've been to many beautiful places in the world - this is definitely at the top.

Villa Rosa was in a great location - yes you have to climb many stairs but where do you not in this town? It was good exercise after all the food and wine. We loved the breakfast (included in the room rate) every morning that we had on our balcony. Though a bit repetitive it was nice to not have to go looking for breakfast and head out with our tummies full. One morning we needed a change and found out the eggs must have gold in them or something because it's 9 euros for any type of egg...!! Kind of funny actually.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Third floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Villa Rosa for our honeymoon. We choose the Villa Rosa against our travel agency's advice, because it had a really good TripAdvisor rating and from photos, it appeared to have the breathtaking views that we were looking for. The Villa Rosa did not disappoint! It's a small establishment in a perfect location, within walking distance to everything in Positano and right on the main street. The staff was excellent, always courteous and helpful in my emails to them prior to our trip. And during the trip, they were always very welcoming and served us custom breakfasts every morning. The rooms are amazing, white and cultural, and the views were better than we could have asked for. We had our own veranda overlooking the entire town and the lights of Positano's hillsides. Just breathtaking. We can't wait until we can go back, and when we do, we will definitely stay at the Villa Rosa again!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to stay on the 2nd, 3rd or 4th floor so that you have a better view of the sea and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Rain, Rain, Rain. Hotel was nice and had great patio/balcony but the room was small and didn't have much room to accommodate the clothing of 2 women. The bathroom was large, but not very well designed and the lighting was poor. Had the weather been better, we probably wouldn't have cared as much about the room, but as we ended up spending more time in it that we planned, we couldn't help but notice things.
The staff was very nice and helpful in making various arrangements for us. The breakfast was wonderful, delivered to our room and partaken of on our lovely terrace. The hotel itself is well-situated not too far up the hill so it was very manageable to get up and down into the main square and the beach. Price was also reasonable.

Room Tip: Being on the main road, it can tend to be noisy from traffic but it is worth it for the beautiful oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in Villa Rosa in early June (3rd-8th) and thought it was a great place to stay.

Hotel and service:
The hotel staff were very professional and polite and spoke English well. We booked through Booking.com several months beforehand and there was no problem with our reservation. They were always willing to help with advice on bus times, boat trips etc.

View:
People come to this hotel for the view and it is stunningly beautiful, overlooking the sea with the town of Positano towering impressively up the hillside. Although some other reviews of this hotel state that it's necessary to get an upper floor room for the best views, we had a room on the first floor and were really pleased with it. To be precise, we had room 21 which specified 'partial sea view'. We thought the view was pretty good. Definitely half the view was 'sea'. The other half was the top floor of the hotel opposite but this wasn't high enough to block out the view of the town and the hillside beyond. Also, the terraces on the lower floor have larger trellises covered in vines and roses, really pretty and very handy for keeping out the noonday sun (but there was room to sit and sunbathe as well).

Breakfast:
Breakfast was great, something to really look forward to getting up to in the morning. Just don't forget to fill out the special breakfast form the day before and give it back to reception (or hang on your door before 3am). On the form you specify what you want for breakfast and the time you want it and they bring it up to your room on the dot so you can enjoy it outside on your terrace whilst looking out at the beautiful view. Included in the room rate is an ample breakfast of coffee (various types to choose from and really good) or tea or hot chocolate, croissants, rolls with jam / nutella / honey / cheese, cereal, yoghurt, orange juice. If that isn't enough then you can also upgrade to fruit salad and various egg-based dishes for a fairly pricey 9 euros and upwards.

Room:
Whitewashed with a typically Mediterranean tiled floor, the room was fairly simple but perfectly pleasant. There's a safe, a TV and a fridge, with air-con if you want it. The bed was two singles pushed together but pretty comfortable. Bathroom had a nice shower and was generally fine. Only drawback is that the walls seem very thin and you can sometimes hear more than you want to from the room next door!

Location:
It's a well-located hotel, both in terms of getting around the town and getting to other nearby towns. It's a leisurely ten to fifteen minute walk down to the beachfront, where many of the restaurants are and where the boat stops are, and it's within five minutes of the nearest ATM. The road that it's on, Via Cristoforo Colombo, has a nice restaurant and bar further up the hill (turn left when you walk out of the hotel), both with incredible views over the sea and town. The SITA bus stop is just a 5-minute walk up the road to your left when you exit the hotel - from here you can catch the fairly frequent buses towards Amalfi, Praiano and Sorrento. You can buy tickets in the gas station on the way to the bus stop.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again and recommend Villa Rosa as a really nice place to stay and good value for money in a place as pricey as Positano.

Room Tip: 'Partial sea view' offered us a better view than we were expecting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo, 121, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Positano
#12 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Hotel Positano
Rosa Hotel Positano
Villa Rosa Italy
Villa Rosa Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.