We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the pool area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Franca

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Franca to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Franca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Pasitea 318, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Positano
NYC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Loved the pool area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I will preface the review to say that we stayed here actually a few years ago - but to make sure that even I remember that we stayed here I wanted to jot some notes down.
1. Be prepared to hike up a LOT of steps. I know this goes without saying in most of Positano, but my husband, even though very fit, was having a fit walking about 200 steps back and forth to/from the beach.
2. Rooms are OK. We were not expecting very updated surroundings and extrememly clean spaces, so we were not surprised. Bed could have been more comfortable, but from the website pictures it looks like they were replaced.
3. Pool area was lovely - I really liked sitting at a table enjoying the scenery with a book and a drink.
4. The staff was very friendly - bartenders were great and we did not experience the negative attitude some people are writing about. However, this was a while ago so maybe things have changed.

One of the days we went down to the beach and rented one of the rubber boats - and took it to Capri for the day. Don't know if that is still allowed or recommended given the choppy water you need to cross (and I wouldn't do it with kids), but it was a blast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villafranca, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Alessia Orrico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    124
    47
    24
    22
See reviews for
62
303
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had an outstanding time at the Hotel Villa Franca. The views from our guest room, the restaurant, the breakfast room and the pool deck were panoramic and postcard perfect! The Hotel has a comfortable, boutique vibe supported by very friendly and personable service. The breakfast buffet is well-presented and offers a good variety of food but the best part about breakfast in our opinion was sitting near the open windows, feeling the fresh air and gazing out over the town as it cascaded below into the ocean. The dinner we had in Li Galli was well-prepared and again, the relaxed and open atmosphere of the room really added to the experience. Wi-fi in our guest room was mostly unavailable and we had to go to the lobby to get service. On balance, that was a very minor inconvenience and didn't mar an absolutely wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villafranca, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guests,

we highly appreciate that you took the time to write your personal experience at Villa Franca.
I will share your kind words with the whole team and we wish to have you back in a not too far future.

Kind Regards
Alessia Orrico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family stayed at the HVF for five nights this week. We were "annexed", which I was originally concerned about after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. However, our room (64) was spacious, clean and had the most amazing views of Positano AND the sea. There was not a single issue with being disconnected from the hotel lobby and facilities. When we wanted to go to the restaurant or pool it took only a few moments more.

Our biggest issue, which was very small and has been exhausted on Trip Advisor, was the wireless internet service. It was non-existent in our room and after discussing with hotel staff three times I gave up. It was OK though, as it really allowed my wired family to disconnect. Plus, when we did want/need internet we just ran to the lobby which felt fun and social.

What sets this hotel apart, IMO, is the amazing staff. You will see the same group of individuals tirelessly taking care of you day in and day out. They are extremely friendly, respectful, proactive, patient, helpful... the list goes on. We felt welcome, and that was important being far away from home. It's outstanding service, and the owner should be proud.

I never met the owner personally, but I saw him on-site regularly tending to every detail with his staff. He was clearly engaged and making sure his guests had the best possible experience. When my son stopped to play on the Wii in the lobby I saw the owner adjust the fan, turn down the lights... these little details stand out from my perspective.

Highly recommend. We already miss our friends at HVF, and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villafranca, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Franca in a near future and the owner will be more than pleased to offer you a nice drink on Li Galii terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at Villa Franca for 4 nights beginning July 5. Room 46...First, we entered the hotel lobby and the people that work there are rude. They act like they don't want to be bothered. We felt very uncomfortable. We got to our room, and the view was beautiful. The room itself was terrible. The paint was peeling on the walls to the right when you walk in. The shower ceiling was peeling around the edges and covered with mold, the toilet paper holder was broken. The bathroom door didn't close. We had to lift up the door to close it because it scraped on the floor. The breakfast was just OK. Nothing different than a Hampton Inn. The pool area was nice but the bartender never asked us if we wanted a drink, but he was serving the people across the pool from us. The only nice person that works there is an older gentleman that works in the restaurant. He always said hello and goodbye and actually smiled. We couldn't wait to leave the hotel each morning and when we returned at night, the person that was working didn't acknowledge us. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. As I read any positive comments about Villa Franca, I seriously don't think these people stayed at this hotel. There are so many beautiful
hotels in Positano. Trust me...Do not stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villafranca, Direttore at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guests,
we apologise if you felt not cared for.
Our staff is always striving to delivery the best service possible and they are there to help and assist all our guests.
You could have also approched them to request assistance or room change.
Instead you did not say anything during your stay nor either at check-out.
We feel that your review is not fare and not corresponding to the reality .
Kind Regards
Rosa Taddeo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We came to Positano to relax after touring Venice, Florence and Rome. Our trip was planned by Perillo and this hotel was the crown jewel of our stay. Staff was friendly and professional. Hotel was SPOTLESS! We arrived around lunchtime and ate at the restaurant on the pool level- delicious(and pricey). Set above the main road, we used the shuttle provided by the hotel a couple of times. We mostly walked back and forth which was a great cardio workout whether taking the 400+ stairs or walking up the road. The views from our rms( in the annex) were gorgeous. I must admit to not being too pleased being booked to the annex, but was pleasantly surprised. We had 2 rms- 66(double) and 67(triple). Great views n quiet. B'fast was excellent, even the scrambled eggs! Owners were onsite which explains a lot! Added bonus, they exchanged USD for euros which a couple of our hotels did not. Would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villafranca, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Alessia Orrico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Villa Franca is a real surprise - it is a beautiful luxury small hotel with a staff, views and class that we found to be "about as good as it can get". The service and was 100% professional and exceptionally gracious and not overbearing. The food and service lead by Franco Villa Franca's "head ambassador" at La Galli Restaurant is 5 star including a fabulous wine list! The view from the restaurant like this - overlooking the water, mountains towards Capri are unforgettable. The roof top pool and dining venue is also top shelf with tables offer incredible view of the "big beach" looking toward Amalfi. The private wine tasting was an additional unforgettable aspect of this fine Hotel. Hotel transfers from Naples train station and airport are easy and the trip just getting to Villa Franca is a nice drive.

Room Tip: Room 65 has views that Hitchcock would have loved for one of his movies! This looks over the center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villafranca, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay, the hotel and the location and found our staff helpful.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Alessia Orrico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

When we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. We only have another day or so before leaving for Sicily but we've been here a week and it's been bliss.

Whe. We first checked in and were told we would be in a separate building to the main hotel, I'll admit, we were a little disappointed.... BUT, being in the residence is brilliant. The rims are quiet, they're spacious and super clean. We can't fault our room or view. We look out over to the town and the sea. I'd recommend room 70.

I suppose if there was one thing that could be better it would be the comfort of the bed, it's a little hard. But I really am being super picky.

The pool on the roof, the bar, the staff, the front of house guys, the restaurant, the buffet breakfast is honestly all fantastic.

We ate in the restaurant the first night and since he. The front of house team have helped us book other local places.

Just lovely. And the best views over the town.

Room Tip: Room 70 for us, it's in the separate building, but it's lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villafranca, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Franca, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review. I was extremely pleased to see that you had a lovely stay and I have shared all your comments with all the team.
As regarding the comfortable of the bed, for safety reason the hotel must use only fireproof bed, and the Simons brand, is one of the most comfortable one.
We hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Floriana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Franca

Address: Viale Pasitea 318, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Positano
#15 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#16 Family Hotel in Positano
#19 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Franca 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franca Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Franca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.