We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Great Stay @ Hotel Poseidon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Poseidon to your Saves list
Hotel Poseidon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pasitea, 148, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Great Stay @ Hotel Poseidon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a few friends recommend the Hotel Poseidon and we weren't disappointed. The service at the hotel was fantastic and the rooms were very clean. We recommend getting a seaside view as you will spend hours on your terrace drinking wine, eating cheese and enjoying the spectacular views of Positano.

All I can say that,we will be going back to Positano & The Hotel Poseidon...

PS: The food is OFF THE HOOK!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest! Greetings from Positano!
Thank you very much for your messagge!
It's really important for us!
I’m Sonia Ferrera, the Guest Relations Manager.
Our philosophy is "A discreet and elegant hospitality,
helps to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing
our guests to feel at home".
We hope to have you again with us very soon!.
We remain at your disposal for any request. You can contact me at:
prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it
Best regards from all the members of our team ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    96
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
58
321
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel is situated half way up the hill overlooking Positano and the bay. One of the only hotels with pool. The pool deck and restaurant/ bar located side by side was so relaxing. I highly recommend this hotel versus staying on the beach. You get to enjoy the view of Positano everyday.

The rooms were big and bright. We had a huge terrace facing the city and ocean. This was a perfect place to get engaged!

We met up with 3 other couples traveling, all were staying at different hotels. Every night we all met at the Hotel Poseidon because no one wanted to hang out at their hotel.

The staff was very friendly, we got to know everyone at the hotel. Can't wait for the chance to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest! Greetings from Positano!
Thank you very much for your messagge!
It's really important for us!
I’m Sonia Ferrera, the Guest Relations Manager.
Our philosophy is "A discreet and elegant hospitality,
helps to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing
our guests to feel at home".
We hope to have you again with us very soon!.
We remain at your disposal for any request. You can contact me at:
prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it
Best regards from all the members of our team ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have been to Venice, Florence, Rome and now Positano on our tour of Italy. We stayed at very nice 5 star hotels in all 3 of the previous cities prior to staying here at the 4 star hotel in Positano. Needless to say, this was by far our favorite hotel of the 4 hands down!

First off, the hotel is older, but has a charm to it that can't really be described. The location is great, the restaurant is awesome, the staff is super friendly, and last but not least the view is to die for. We have been here 3 days now, and this balcony view does not get old. We are from California, and live in Newport Beach, but this view from our balcony takes my breath away everytime. The pool area is awesome too, and you can even get messages here at the hotel.
This should be a 5 star hotel, and I would recommend it to anybody who is visiting Positano..Oh and the breakfasts are delicious with plenty of choices.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 33 on the 4th floor. Such an amazing view, quiet , clean , older interior of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest! Greetings from Positano!
Thank you very much for your messagge!
It's really important for us!
I’m Sonia Ferrera, the Guest Relations Manager.
Our philosophy is "A discreet and elegant hospitality,
helps to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing
our guests to feel at home".
We hope to have you again with us very soon!.
We remain at your disposal for any request. You can contact me at:
prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it
Best regards from all the members of our team ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

What else could you want? Really, it was a pleasure to stay there. From the quick response to our e-mails 2 months before to the phone call from the Rome train station, they have a great staff, always friendly. "Samer" made car and driver and side trip arrangements to/from Pompeii, Naples, Rome, etc.He was like our personal travel consultant. Great views, clean rooms, nice breakfast buffet. Loved the local fish grill night on Friday night. A special "good job" to Beba, Fabio, Veronica and Antonio and Marco. Everyone made our 6 days in Positano an excellent trip. Don't care about the Wi-Fi like in some revues;I came to see the Mediterranean. We have been lucky enough to stay at world-class venues and resorts in Europe and the US, and this experience was as good as (or better) than any one of those. Any one of the staff we got to know could just show up at my door at Thanksgiving morning, and I would set an extra place at the table for any and all of them.

Room Tip: Stayed in the "funny room": top floor. Huge terrace; but all the rooms I saw had terraces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Google Translation
Carissimi ospiti! Buona Sera da Positano, Sono Sonia Ferrera, la nuova Guest Relations Manager. Vi ringraziamo tanto per la vostra recensione!
Questo anno abbiamo fatto dei lavori per migliorare il servizio Wi-Fi.
Vi aspettiamo presto! Un abbraccio forte dal team del Hotel Poseidon!
Rimango a vostra disposizione per qualunque richiesta. Il mio indirizzo è ; prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it. A presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

If wifi is essential to you, think twice. Everything else is excellent with the hotel though. We stayed for 4 nights - breakfast is very nice and rooms are very clean although deco can do with some modernisation. Staff is v friendly and the view is fab from the balcony of the room and from the terrace. Location is perfect because it is walkable to a few nice restaurants on the same road and also within 10 min walk to the beach. However wifi is almost nonexistent in the rooms even though the hotel website says free wifi everywhere. Even in public areas the connection is not guaranteed. We had to use 3G roaming in the end after much frustration.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest!
Greetings from Positano!
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments.
I will pass all to the team. My name is Sonia Ferrera, Guest Relations Manager,
here at Poseidon. Great to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us.
During the last winter we were taking care to improve the wi-fi signal.
We hope to welcome you soon again. If you have any request or question, please contact me at: prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it You can follow us on fb "Hotel Poseidon".
We have a lot of news for this year. Our opening will be the next 16th of April.

Best Regards from all the Poseidon Team!

A presto!

Sonia Ferrera

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a very expensive place to stay, but probably in line with other 4 stars around positano. Nice lounge area indoor and around the pool. Excellent view. However, internet connection is extremely poor in rooms. 3g roaming is faster than wifi

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest!

Greetings from Positano!

I'm Sonia Ferrera, Guest Relations Manager, here at the Poseidon.
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments. Becouse
honest criticism give us the motivation to improve and also to solve problems that
might creep into the daily work routine.
Regarding the internet signal, we were taking care, during the last winter, to improve the wi-fi around all the areas of the hotel,

We hope to welcome you again and do our best to make you happy and totally satisfied.
We are at your disposal for any request or question, you can contact me at:
prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it You can follow us, as well on fb "Hotel Poseidon"
We have a lot of news and surprises ready to the new opening, 16th of April.

Best Regards from all the Poseidon Team ;)

Sincerely,

Sonia Ferrera

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our 4th stay at The Poseidon and we have loved it every time. "Charming" and "delightful" are adjectives that come to mind. It suits our taste for holiday relaxation perfectly. The friendly hospitality of the owners, managers and staff is combined with high professional standards. This is a holiday hotel with character and the feel of staying in a private villa. It is a very welcome contrast to international business hotels which function correctly but lack personality. To sit and dine al fresco watching the sea and the lights across Positano is a great image to come away with.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Poseidon, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest! Greetings from Positano!
Thank you very much for your messagge!
It's really important for us!
I’m Sonia Ferrera, the Guest Relations Manager.
Our philosophy is "A discreet and elegant hospitality,
helps to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing
our guests to feel at home".
We hope to have you again with us very soon!.
We remain at your disposal for any request. You can contact me at:
prmanager@hotelposeidonpositano.it
Best regards from all the members of our team ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Address: Via Pasitea, 148, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Positano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poseidon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Poseidon, once a beautiful Mediterranean villa in the heart of Positano, is today a historical hotel in a green area overlooking the “vertical village“ and the Amalfi Coast, in a privileged position.Poseidon has offered for 50 years, thanks to the Aonzo family daily commitment, a discreet and elegant hospitality and the personnel politeness help to create a warm and familiar atmosphere allowing their guests to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon Positano
Poseidon Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Poseidon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.